We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can’t wait to go back…”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
York, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Can’t wait to go back…”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

My husband and I just spent the weekend at Spruce Point Inn in Boothbay Harbor. It was our first time visiting Boothbay, and we kind of expected to sleep at the inn and use it as our home base for exploring the area. Once we got there though, we never wanted to leave!

The resort has a very comfortable, relaxed feel. It’s the kind of place where you can be extremely active if you want to, or just laze around and do nothing for a week. We chose the former (we are really not good at relaxing on vacation, despite our best efforts).

We arrived Friday evening and checked into our room. It was very nice and quite large with a comfortable bed. Very clean. Nothing super fancy, but hey, this is a historic property on the coast of Maine…it’s not supposed to be super fancy. We enjoyed a late dinner at Bogie’s Hideaway, where there was a band playing and a lively atmosphere. The food was very good. Our server could have been a little more knowledgeable about the beer selections — we learned the next day they have some good microbrew selections available that he didn’t tell us about (Dogfish Head IPAs, Sam Adams Octoberfest, etc.). The place emptied out early — we were the last ones in the restaurant and it wasn’t even 10 pm.

What a nice surprise to look out the window on Saturday morning to find the most perfect view and weather imaginable. Quintessential Maine right outside our door. After a lovely breakfast the first morning (really good eggs benedict & French toast w/ local maple syrup), we checked out kayaks at the front desk and paddled around the tip of Spruce Point. A word to the wise: ask which way the tide is going before you get out there – it was really tough to get back! After that we tried the saltwater pool situated right on the harbor. A little too cold for my taste, but my husband found it to be quite refreshing. I opted for a hammock instead. We enjoyed a quick, casual lunch at Bogie’s and headed into town via the complimentary shuttle. Our driver was very friendly and gave us some tips on what to see in town. Boothbay Harbor wasn’t really our scene — lots of art galleries and touristy shops (i.e. lighthouse and lobster-themed everything). However, we were pleased to stumble upon an amazing time warp in town: Romar Bowling Lanes (a tiny candlepin bowling alley and old fashioned soda counter). The Inn has a complimentary boat launch, so we traveled back by boat and our captain told us all about the area, surrounding islands and even pointed out a harbor seal poking its head out of the water just a few yards away from us!

We got back and wandered the grounds, tried out the freshwater pool, played shuffleboard and even found a pinball machine in the kids area. We also relaxed and read for a bit in Adirondack chairs on the front porch — what a view! On Saturday night, we left the inn to drive to Rockland for a long-anticipated dinner at Primo (I’ll save that for another review). Long story short, we wish we had stayed at Spruce Point and dined at 88 instead.

Sunday morning was another active one. The Keurig coffee maker in the room was a nice amenity, but we are total coffee snobs so we got up early, checked out bikes and rode into town to Moosehead Coffee Shop. We pedaled back and I had an appointment for a hot stone massage at the spa. Jenn was my masseuse and did an awesome job!! I left there feeling totally relaxed and refreshed and then spent some time in the zen garden – had the place all to myself! After that, sadly it was time to check out. We can’t wait to make our reservations for next summer. I’m telling you, this place is full of things to do. I could stay there for a week and never get bored. We didn’t even have a chance to check out the nature trails, try the restaurant 88 or eat s’mores by the fire pit. Next year!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    159
    54
    16
    7
See reviews for
311
373
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

Friendly check in, nice room and grounds. Beautiful location. loved the homemade muffins!

Room Tip: Beds were comfortable, rooms clean and pet friendly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

We went from 9/6 to 9/11. Overall, this was a wonderful experience with a few drawbacks.

DRAWBACK - POOL TEMPERATURE: The heated freshwater pool at the spa has a sign that says that the temperature is kept at 82*F. Not true! On the multiple days that we were there, the pool water temperature was in the high 60s. Still better than the unheated saltwater pool by the dock, but who wants to swim in a pool this cold? When I approached a manager about it, I was told that they would "look into it" but nothing was done.

DRAWBACK - "ISLAND TIME". There are multiple instances of items not starting on time. The boat captain who shuttles guests to and from town is chronically late. Also, other events don't necessarily start on time such as a 7:30 pm smores campfire starting around 8 pm.

DRAWBACK - MATTRESSES BEING TOO SOFT. While I prefer laying on a very soft mattress (thinking of laying on a cloud), I can imagine that a lot of people's backs may hurt from laying on something this soft.

POSITIVES- TRULY FAMILY FRIENDLY. For us, a family wouldn't be complete without a dog. The resort is truly pet friendly. While we didn't bring any children, I can tell that the kids program would be outstanding. All of the resort staff that we encountered have personalities that would be perfect with children.

POSITIVES - BEAUTIFUL GROUNDS, LANDSCAPING, AND SURROUNDINGS. This contributed to the ultimate in relaxation. We never wanted to leave! I could live here in this peaceful, tranquil, beautiful environment. It was incredibly romantic!

POSITIVES - SO MANY ACTIVITIES. I don't know of another resort that offers more to do at a similar price. We loved kayaking into town, riding our bikes, going hiking, swimming, lounging, enjoying tea while looking at the sunset, reading books, playing pool at the lighthouse, watching movies, etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marthasunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPIInnkeeper, Owner at Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I greatly appreciate your comments about your experience with Spruce Point inn and the wonderful review you gave. As a follow up:

I have just finished a review of our boat launch arrival and departure procedures to determine why we seem to be having trouble of late with our schedule. Our boat captain has indicated that he will redouble his efforts to keep to a timely schedule. I will follow up with him...

Our fresh water pool heater is kept on thermostat set at 82 degrees. It will run continuously if necessary. I recognize that the conditions on that particular day (perhaps it had rained quite a bit) could have affected the temperature of the pool. I have asked our maintenance engineer to install a thermometer in the pool and to track the temperature each day to be watchful for inconsistencies. Also - to turn the heater up in advance of periods of heavy rain.

We have just upgraded all of our beds to plush tops. I have received great comments so far and, thank you, because this is another one. I will review a support option to our beds for next season.

We greatly enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to your return. Please contact me at any time.

Angelo DiGiulian, Innkeeper
angelodigiulian@sprucepointinn.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

As part of an 11-day, 25th anniversary trip to Maine, we stayed 5 nights at the Spruce Point Inn Resort & Spa. Overall, this is the most disappointing vacation spot that we have experienced during our 25 years.

The term ‘Resort & Spa’ connotes certain expectations in term of facilities, service and amenities. While the location and layout were nicely situated at the waterfront, unfortunately the accommodations, customer service and amenities fell short of expectations.

Our room was an Ocean View Superior King. While it appeared there had been some recent remodeling to the room, the touch-up paint used on the white ceiling did not match the original paint color resulting in a noticeably splotchy appearance throughout. The décor was dark and uninviting. Additionally, upon arrival we noted there was a significant mold problem with the shower grout. We called housekeeping to address the issue and they did respond in a timely manner, but it was apparent that the mold is an on-going issue – but at least we knew it was clean. Given the condition of the guest room and shower we never unpacked until the 2nd day to consider our options, even leaving.

The term Ocean View is used loosely at this destination. First, technically it is the ocean that you see, but the ‘resort’ is located on more of an inlet, so your view is land on the other side of the water. Our Ocean View (from our 1st floor balcony in the Evergreen building) was comprised of approximately 50% the rear of other buildings, 35% landscape and 15% water. Overall it did not fit with past experiences with properties on the Ocean -- even Joe (Manager / Owner?) admitted the view was less than stellar from that location.

On 2 occasions we approached management about our concerns with the condition and location of the room. After initially seeing our room, we visited the front desk in an attempt to get a better room location – nothing available or changeable. We attempted a call to Reservations, as suggested by the front desk, but it went unanswered (see below).

On the 3rd day, we met directly with Joe to see if they could adjust our room rate ($300+/night) given the condition and mis-categorization of our ‘view’ room. We even suggested that he see our room for himself. Joe said he would look into it and would be in touch with us, not to worry. Needless to say, we never heard back from Joe. We paid our whopping bill as we checked out. No follow-up. Not even after we responded to their online customer satisfaction survey about our disappointing stay.

Generally, service at Spruce Point was lacking with the exception of housekeeping which did a very nice job. Service at the bar was slow and there was little to no servicing of the coffee area in the lobby or the patio area in front of the Inn.

The lack of service also extended to their reservations department. When making our reservations initially, no person answered the phone on the 2 occasions we called; return calls from the reservations department were 1-2 days later.

Spruce Point Inn is primarily a place for young families or those with dogs to spend time together. For couples or anyone who might be looking for some quiet R&R or a true Resort & Spa, this may not be it. Amenities that adults might be looking for are underdeveloped at Spruce Point. The Fitness Room is a collection of oversized weight equipment, non-functioning cardio equipment and grungy floor mats – we only went there once given the condition of the space which also lacked water or towels.

The emphasis on family and young children also influences the Spa experience. They run fans in the treatment rooms instead of music, not for ventilation but, as one therapist stated, it’s to muffle the noise from kids playing in the adjacent pool.

While this is an extensive list of issues with Spruce Point Inn, and yes there were more, it does not reflect the emotional letdown of spending a significant life event, 25 years of marriage, in such a disappointing environment.

Overall, we hope management gets the message. And more importantly, we hope that other travelers will realize what the priorities are for this establishment.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank william e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPIInnkeeper, Owner at Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

We regret that you were disappointed with our service response during your
visit for a special family occasion. We would have been pleased to
change your room but unfortunately the Inn was sold out at the time of
your visit. It is our policy to promptly accommodate guest requests
and make adjustments when appropriate. We were frustrated that we
were not able to make the changes you requested.

We are disappointed that your visit was not perfect. The Inn has been
host to over 20,000 guests in 2011 ... with our guest satisfaction
score exceeding 93% and our Trip Advisor review average is 4.5 out of
5 stars. The feedback from our guests has been very complimentary and
we continue to work hard to exceed these expectations.

Since you did not fill out a customer survey, I will attempt to contact you directly to discuss this situation.

Angelo DiGiulian, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

My family visited the Spruce Point Inn for a long weekend this past Labor Day. The property is right along the coast and beautiful. There is a main inn and several cottages. We thought there was a lot to do yet relaxing at the same time.

Amenities / activities: Many of their activities are included in their resort fee: kayaking, bicycling, camp-fire with smore-making at night, boat service to town, hiking, game room, etc. All of this made it great, but there wasn't so much going on that it was chaotic. You could also just sit in one of the many Adirondack chairs sprinkled around the property and read a book. There are 2 pools, one of which is heated, as well as tennis courts and a great game room with things for little and big kids. They also had several outdoor games (shuffleboard, lawn checkers, etc.). We sent our kids to the camp for 2 days -- it is incredibly well run and my kids had a blast! There is a spa there but we didn't visit it. There are also muffins in the lobby in the morning and coffee, hot chocolate and tea available all day long; these little touches are great. There are 2 restaurants at the hotel (one casual and one upscale). There is no meal or drink service at the pools though, which would be nice.

Rooms: Our cottage (Seabreeze) was large and had a sitting area and an excellent view. It had several great amenities (Keurig coffee makers with creamers, a good TV and good beds / linens). It could, however, benefit from a little updating (carpets, curtains, some fixtures, etc.). I'm very glad we spent the money on the ocean front room, as the view was breathtaking.

Location: SPI is very close to town so it was easy to hop into town for a meal then go back to the resort for a swim; the town is charming with lots of shops and restaurants. We enjoyed the SPI boat launch to get to town, which is a great amenity of the resort and a great way to see the harbor.

Pets: I'm not a dog owner and was hesitant about going to a pet friendly hotel but chose the SPI because of the kids club and the activities plus the location, so, they gave me a pet free room. I don't mind dogs (well behaved ones!) but I would've liked to have seen a couple of areas that had some limitations (i.e., quiet areas) because not all dogs are well behaved...I was trying to relax at the pool one day and there was a family with their dog who was there barking like crazy for an extended period and it was really disruptive.

All in all: Great hotel with lots to do. They could update a couple of things but we will definitely go back as overall it was a nice, relaxing family getaway.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dinanicj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

This hotel has a fairly nice property and good restaurants, but the service does not live up to what it charges for its rooms.

One example - we ended up waiting 50 (!) minutes for the hotel boat back from the town. Having contacted the front desk 10 minutes after the scheduled pickup, we were told (2 phonecalls and 20 minutes later) that the boat would be there in 10 minutes (thus being 30 minutes late in total). Well, after a total wait of 45 minutes, we left (apparently the boat did show up 5 minutes later, but with a baby, a toddler, and a dog, the wait was becoming unbearable).

Then, when we finally got to back to the hotel to hit the pool (more than an hour later than planned), there were no towels there, and the hotel staff was extremely uneager in rectifying the situation.

Another example - the balcony in our room had a broken bar, so the baby could have fallen through it. When we pointed this out to the person at the front desk, their response was a very relaxed "Oh, I'll tell the manager."

To pay these rates for this kind of service is simply ridiculous. We will never be back.

P.S. There was a foghorn on throughout our stay, so if these kinds of things bother you, best to avoid the whole town as there is probably no property where the sound can be avoided.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erki V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPIInnkeeper, Owner at Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience with Spruce Point Inn. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this visit. Please contact me directly so that I may resolve this issue. angelodigiulian@sprucepointinn.com

It is unfortunate that you had such a bad experience with the launch service .. we made a mistake in communicating the schedule change to guests that afternoon. We do have a dedicated cell phone for the launch captain to avoid mixups and we simply made a mistake.

We have added an additional towel storage unit at the pool and increased our towel inventory available at the pools. The pool area has been exceptionally busy this Fall season and we appreciate your suggestion to increase our services in this area.

Angelo DiGiulian
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

Beautiful upscale resort with wonderful scenic views. Wonderful restaurants at this resort. Short drive to downtown shopping and activities. Stay here everytime we visit Boothbay! Best hotel in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
1.9 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
2.2 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
12.7 mi away
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Sebasco Harbor Resort
#1 of 1 in Sebasco Estates
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa

Property: Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Address: 88 Grandview Ave, PO Box 237, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2247
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MAINE'S CLASSIC OCEANSIDE RESORT A Conde Nast 2016 'Top 20 Northeast Resort' and Downeast Magazine 2016 'Best Hotel/Resort in Maine', Spruce Point Inn is exactly what most guests picture when they think of an oceanside resort in Maine. For more than 125 years, the Inn has attracted travelers from across the United States and provided a refreshing backdrop for families and friends to create 'treasured oceanside memories made in Maine'. On a private 100 acre peninsula on the ocean overlooking the entrance to Boothbay Harbor and Burnt Island Lighthouse, the Spruce Point Inn is an ideal venue for memorable reunions, seaside weddings, romantic getaways and business retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Point Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Spruce Point Resort
Spruce Point Inn Resort And Spa Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing