We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spruce Point Inn Needs Sprucing Up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2011

As part of an 11-day, 25th anniversary trip to Maine, we stayed 5 nights at the Spruce Point Inn Resort & Spa. Overall, this is the most disappointing vacation spot that we have experienced during our 25 years.

The term ‘Resort & Spa’ connotes certain expectations in term of facilities, service and amenities. While the location and layout were nicely situated at the waterfront, unfortunately the accommodations, customer service and amenities fell short of expectations.

Our room was an Ocean View Superior King. While it appeared there had been some recent remodeling to the room, the touch-up paint used on the white ceiling did not match the original paint color resulting in a noticeably splotchy appearance throughout. The décor was dark and uninviting. Additionally, upon arrival we noted there was a significant mold problem with the shower grout. We called housekeeping to address the issue and they did respond in a timely manner, but it was apparent that the mold is an on-going issue – but at least we knew it was clean. Given the condition of the guest room and shower we never unpacked until the 2nd day to consider our options, even leaving.

The term Ocean View is used loosely at this destination. First, technically it is the ocean that you see, but the ‘resort’ is located on more of an inlet, so your view is land on the other side of the water. Our Ocean View (from our 1st floor balcony in the Evergreen building) was comprised of approximately 50% the rear of other buildings, 35% landscape and 15% water. Overall it did not fit with past experiences with properties on the Ocean -- even Joe (Manager / Owner?) admitted the view was less than stellar from that location.

On 2 occasions we approached management about our concerns with the condition and location of the room. After initially seeing our room, we visited the front desk in an attempt to get a better room location – nothing available or changeable. We attempted a call to Reservations, as suggested by the front desk, but it went unanswered (see below).

On the 3rd day, we met directly with Joe to see if they could adjust our room rate ($300+/night) given the condition and mis-categorization of our ‘view’ room. We even suggested that he see our room for himself. Joe said he would look into it and would be in touch with us, not to worry. Needless to say, we never heard back from Joe. We paid our whopping bill as we checked out. No follow-up. Not even after we responded to their online customer satisfaction survey about our disappointing stay.

Generally, service at Spruce Point was lacking with the exception of housekeeping which did a very nice job. Service at the bar was slow and there was little to no servicing of the coffee area in the lobby or the patio area in front of the Inn.

The lack of service also extended to their reservations department. When making our reservations initially, no person answered the phone on the 2 occasions we called; return calls from the reservations department were 1-2 days later.

Spruce Point Inn is primarily a place for young families or those with dogs to spend time together. For couples or anyone who might be looking for some quiet R&R or a true Resort & Spa, this may not be it. Amenities that adults might be looking for are underdeveloped at Spruce Point. The Fitness Room is a collection of oversized weight equipment, non-functioning cardio equipment and grungy floor mats – we only went there once given the condition of the space which also lacked water or towels.

The emphasis on family and young children also influences the Spa experience. They run fans in the treatment rooms instead of music, not for ventilation but, as one therapist stated, it’s to muffle the noise from kids playing in the adjacent pool.

While this is an extensive list of issues with Spruce Point Inn, and yes there were more, it does not reflect the emotional letdown of spending a significant life event, 25 years of marriage, in such a disappointing environment.

Overall, we hope management gets the message. And more importantly, we hope that other travelers will realize what the priorities are for this establishment.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank william e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPIInnkeeper, Owner at Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

Dear Guest,

We regret that you were disappointed with our service response during your
visit for a special family occasion. We would have been pleased to
change your room but unfortunately the Inn was sold out at the time of
your visit. It is our policy to promptly accommodate guest requests
and make adjustments when appropriate. We were frustrated that we
were not able to make the changes you requested.

We are disappointed that your visit was not perfect. The Inn has been
host to over 20,000 guests in 2011 ... with our guest satisfaction
score exceeding 93% and our Trip Advisor review average is 4.5 out of
5 stars. The feedback from our guests has been very complimentary and
we continue to work hard to exceed these expectations.

Since you did not fill out a customer survey, I will attempt to contact you directly to discuss this situation.

Angelo DiGiulian, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (922)
There are newer reviews for Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

849 - 855 of 922 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2011

My family visited the Spruce Point Inn for a long weekend this past Labor Day. The property is right along the coast and beautiful. There is a main inn and several cottages. We thought there was a lot to do yet relaxing at the same time.

Amenities / activities: Many of their activities are included in their resort fee: kayaking, bicycling, camp-fire with smore-making at night, boat service to town, hiking, game room, etc. All of this made it great, but there wasn't so much going on that it was chaotic. You could also just sit in one of the many Adirondack chairs sprinkled around the property and read a book. There are 2 pools, one of which is heated, as well as tennis courts and a great game room with things for little and big kids. They also had several outdoor games (shuffleboard, lawn checkers, etc.). We sent our kids to the camp for 2 days -- it is incredibly well run and my kids had a blast! There is a spa there but we didn't visit it. There are also muffins in the lobby in the morning and coffee, hot chocolate and tea available all day long; these little touches are great. There are 2 restaurants at the hotel (one casual and one upscale). There is no meal or drink service at the pools though, which would be nice.

Rooms: Our cottage (Seabreeze) was large and had a sitting area and an excellent view. It had several great amenities (Keurig coffee makers with creamers, a good TV and good beds / linens). It could, however, benefit from a little updating (carpets, curtains, some fixtures, etc.). I'm very glad we spent the money on the ocean front room, as the view was breathtaking.

Location: SPI is very close to town so it was easy to hop into town for a meal then go back to the resort for a swim; the town is charming with lots of shops and restaurants. We enjoyed the SPI boat launch to get to town, which is a great amenity of the resort and a great way to see the harbor.

Pets: I'm not a dog owner and was hesitant about going to a pet friendly hotel but chose the SPI because of the kids club and the activities plus the location, so, they gave me a pet free room. I don't mind dogs (well behaved ones!) but I would've liked to have seen a couple of areas that had some limitations (i.e., quiet areas) because not all dogs are well behaved...I was trying to relax at the pool one day and there was a family with their dog who was there barking like crazy for an extended period and it was really disruptive.

All in all: Great hotel with lots to do. They could update a couple of things but we will definitely go back as overall it was a nice, relaxing family getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dinanicj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

This hotel has a fairly nice property and good restaurants, but the service does not live up to what it charges for its rooms.

One example - we ended up waiting 50 (!) minutes for the hotel boat back from the town. Having contacted the front desk 10 minutes after the scheduled pickup, we were told (2 phonecalls and 20 minutes later) that the boat would be there in 10 minutes (thus being 30 minutes late in total). Well, after a total wait of 45 minutes, we left (apparently the boat did show up 5 minutes later, but with a baby, a toddler, and a dog, the wait was becoming unbearable).

Then, when we finally got to back to the hotel to hit the pool (more than an hour later than planned), there were no towels there, and the hotel staff was extremely uneager in rectifying the situation.

Another example - the balcony in our room had a broken bar, so the baby could have fallen through it. When we pointed this out to the person at the front desk, their response was a very relaxed "Oh, I'll tell the manager."

To pay these rates for this kind of service is simply ridiculous. We will never be back.

P.S. There was a foghorn on throughout our stay, so if these kinds of things bother you, best to avoid the whole town as there is probably no property where the sound can be avoided.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Erki V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPIInnkeeper, Owner at Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience with Spruce Point Inn. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this visit. Please contact me directly so that I may resolve this issue. angelodigiulian@sprucepointinn.com

It is unfortunate that you had such a bad experience with the launch service .. we made a mistake in communicating the schedule change to guests that afternoon. We do have a dedicated cell phone for the launch captain to avoid mixups and we simply made a mistake.

We have added an additional towel storage unit at the pool and increased our towel inventory available at the pools. The pool area has been exceptionally busy this Fall season and we appreciate your suggestion to increase our services in this area.

Angelo DiGiulian
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Beautiful upscale resort with wonderful scenic views. Wonderful restaurants at this resort. Short drive to downtown shopping and activities. Stay here everytime we visit Boothbay! Best hotel in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennyyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

My husband and I went up to Spruce point Inn for a few days of relaxation and fun and we were not disappointed! The grounds and buildings were all beautifully maintained. Staff were very friendly and helpful if needed. Plenty of areas on the water to sit and relax and take in the view! Pool area by the waterfront had many comfortable lounge chairs and umbrellas for relaxing and plenty of fresh towels to use too! The two restaurants were fabulous. We had dinner at Bogies the first night. Delicious food and great service. Price seemed average for the quality of the food. We also had breakfast buffet at Bogies one morning and the choices were endless. Everything was fresh and plentiful and the price included juice and coffee so it made for a very good choice! All and all we will definitely be back again and again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnie50_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We arrived at Boothbay Harbor in high season without reservations anywhere and ended up at The Spruce Point Inn. We were given a room in the Sunset cottage. We were not warned that there was no air-conditioning in the room and it was about 85 degrees in the room. We also did not have internet service in that room. The main facility is very expensive and has lots of amenities. We paid only $100 a night and got a hot cabin with uneven floors and dirty carpets. We did however get what the cottage promised which was a fabulous sunset. I would have felt much better about the place if we had been warned about the air-conditioning since mosquitoes there prohibited opening the windows.

Room Tip: The sunset cabin needs to be remodeled but it does has lovely views.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globetrotter2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPCCapital, Owner at Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2011

Thank you for posting your suggestions. The cottage rooms are in some cases over 70 years old and accordingly have creaky and uneven-floors. The oceanfront cottages usually have a cooling breeze – I regret that was not the case during your stay. We do have fans and window AC units available if requested. Most of the windows in Sunset Cottage do have window screens – you may have not noticed.

Please consider another visit to Spruce Point and if you happen to stay in one of the cottages we will have an AC unit installed for you. As an aside, our maintenance crew has started the scheduled re-shoring of Sunset Cottage this fall – I expect that the floors will be more level this next season.

We appreciate your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Arrived at noon on a sunday after a 400 mile drive with 2 kids and a dog in the car, receptionist looked at us like we were from another planet. They informed us that checkin was after 3pm, my wife asked if they could get us settled into room any earlier would be greatly appreciated. They got us into the room at 2:45, so we had to wonder the property with 2 cranky kids and a dog for 2+hrs.

The actual stay was very nice, we had the tanager cottage. It had 3+ bedrooms and 2.5 baths. It could have easily slept 8 people but dining room and kitchen are very small. Only issue with room was that we found a few bugs but we were in a cabin in the woods in Maine

Boothbay harbor was great visit, 6hr drive from north jersey. My son loved the footbridge and looking at the boats. Def recommend lobster dock inc for food, how can you beat a whole lobster dinner for $14.95

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pv22clif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
1.4 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
460 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
507 reviews
2.2 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
378 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
369 reviews
12.7 mi away
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Sebasco Harbor Resort
#1 of 1 in Sebasco Estates
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa

Address: 88 Grandview Ave, PO Box 237, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2247
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#1 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: $183 - $759 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MAINE'S CLASSIC OCEANSIDE RESORT A Condé Nast 'Top 20 Northeast Resort' and Downeast Magazine 'Best Hotel/Resort in Maine', Spruce Point Inn is exactly what most guests picture when they think of an oceanside resort in Maine. For more than 125 years, the Inn has attracted travelers from across the United States and provided a refreshing backdrop for families and friends to create 'treasured oceanside memories made in Maine'. On a private 100 acre peninsula on the ocean overlooking the entrance to Boothbay Harbor and Burnt Island Lighthouse, the Spruce Point Inn is an ideal venue for memorable reunions, seaside weddings, romantic getaways and business retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Point Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Spruce Point Resort
Spruce Point Inn Resort And Spa Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing