We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Boothbay Harbor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We have stayed at SPI several times over the past few years. Always a great place and now there appears to be a new energy there. We are always impressed by how helpful and friendly the summer help is and how much they enjoy their work! The views across the bay are magnificent. The owners are always interested in suggestions and new ideas. The onsite restaurant Bogie's is terrific - don't miss the fish 'n chips. There were plans for a dockside boat to take you into town rather than drive and search/pay for parking.
Dog Friendly ! Some of the rooms are set aside for you to bring them along.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starlight1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (942)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

894 - 900 of 942 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2011

I'll make this short, but we were promised a room like the one pictured in a particular photo with two queen beds, a kitchenette with microwave and small fridge, a small table with two chairs and a small seating area with sofa, chair and coffee table. When we drove all the way there with three kids in tow, the room we got had two queen beds, one small chair-- no table, no sofa, no seating area, nothing but two beds and one small chair. When I called to tell them this was not what I had booked, I was told that the only thing they could do was to put us in a townhouse at the back of the property with no view whatsoever. I was also told by an owner that he would help me find other lodging at a different hotel-- crazy! It was like they just wanted to get rid of us. He made no attempt to offer us a free dinner, a discount on the room, a breakfast or any such a thing. So, keep that in mind when you book here. Also keep in mind the ridiculous cancellation policy. Also, hope you have a strong back, as we were not offered a bellman or any help whatsoever with our luggage.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
4  Thank Eastcoastfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPIInnkeeper, Owner at Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

Dear Trip Advisor Guests -

It was not the wrong room. The room has all of the fixtures and furnishings that she expected, even though she said in her post that it did not. The notes on this reservation indicate this guest was told upon booking the room that it was too small for a family of FIVE. This was the issue in light of the fact that the guest was told at the time of booking that the Inn was sold out.

I did not appreciate the ready threats to “post a negative review” on Trip Advisor, especially in the face of all of my efforts to accommodate this guest.

Angelo DiGiulian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Brought family on long family road trip and rented small cottage. Service was excellent (Amanda and Sean are rock stars).
The property is superior and has been recently updated - and done well. Keurig coffee makers everywhere is genuis and small touches like great sitting areas overlooking the water well thought through.
We appreciated that this very fine place isn't over the top (ie Sea Island going from fun family gathering place to targeting only insanely high-end market).
Highly recommend for all ages and regions of the country.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhosJohnGalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I booked this hotel for a three night stay at the end of a week long family vacation with the hopes of injecting some romance into our family week. The website and print materials indicate a peaceful, first class true resort and spa. I will admit to being disappointed upon arrival as there were TWO family reunions, NINE children in the hot tub seaside and our accommodations, though stellar by Boothbay standards, were a bit more rustic than I expected. The room was spacious, clean and somewhat updated (Keurig pod coffee maker, large 40" flat screen TV, free wifi) Checking in was problematic with one woman attempting to do the job of front desk check-in, concierge and activities director. She even assisted with spa reservations and dining suggestions whilst I waited in line. Our childcare reservations, made by phone the week prior, were missing and required a bit of time and energy to rectify. Housekeeping was absent the first day of our stay. Children running to and fro in the room above us served as our alarm clock each day. Service vacillated from abysmal to outstanding. And yet we would go back.
Once you figure out the lay-of-the-land with this resort and accept that it is a family place, things will go swimmingly. In order to use the many complimentary amenities, one must first fill out a liability form at the front desk. After that, one must request for a bellman to assist with whatever equipment is needed. (kayaks, tennis rackets, bikes, etc.) Once you know the routine, it's fine, after all-how many other hotels offer free use of bikes and kayaks and clay tennis courts? But learning the routine is cumbersome at best. The addition of an activities director or even a few part timers to assist with guest relations would help the front desk situation immensely.
Oceanside couples massages were accompanied by screaming children in the adjacent pool the first half hour. Surely a sign indicating a massage is in session would alert parents to rein in the noise. Housekeeping was spotty at first, but a woman named Tanya came to our rescue. Dana in childcare was AMAZING in assisting with our little ones for our one night out. (the children, aged 11 and 12, LOVED her activities!) Nick, the launch captain (how many hotels offer complimentary boat taxi service to town and back?!) was fabulous at guest relations with restaurant suggestions, a quick lobster education and general suggestions for the area. The massage therapists seaside were excellent with deep tissue massage (sorry, did not get their names).
Despite the glitches in our stay, we would recommend this hotel to families visiting the area, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abcdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Loved the place and the only reason I gave it 4 stars and not 5 is because it is very pricey at over $350(with all the taxes) for a pretty basic room. Grounds and setting are gorgeous and we loved all the activities for kids(bikes, kayaks, pools, game room, smores by the firepit). Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachmama1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed during the weekend of July 23/24 for a wedding. The location was beautiful and the setting could not be more perfect for the celebration - the service left much to be desired.

We were originally were booked in a regular building for a great online price of 199.00/night however got to stay in a Ocean view Superior room instead as a treat from the wedding party (that room was 359.00/night) The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. As I'm use to staying in hotel properties in the Caribbean, I was surprised that there was no safe or lockable drawer for a high-end resort; but we never had any issues with personal belongings being left in the room.

The parts where I was disappointed was the check-in and the main restaurant. Upon checking in, desk staff did their job but seemed unenthusiastic and not helpful. They were slow even though it was quiet with no line-up and didn't readily offer directions to the rooms unless asked.

We had breakfast in the main restaurant for a table of 8. Once seated, it took 15 minutes for a server to come by and take orders. Beverages for 3 diners arrived but the rest were not served at all. I had to get up and pick up a coffee pot and serve myself (this was not self-serve and no one stopped me or cared to take over) After ordering, it took over 45 minutes for food to be delivered and only half the meals came out and others had to wait for their meal. Second meals arrived 20 minutes later. When the food arrived, it was very good and the portions were generous. One person decided to try the breakfast buffet and was highly disappointed as their food was cold.

The day of the wedding was great. The site staff that set up for the wedding which took place on the deck by the gazebo were on time and did the set-up well. Servers for the private cocktails and actual reception seemed prompt and much better than the restaurant staff.

Overall, a good visit however I would not select the same resort to return to. Instead I plan to try a smaller style bed & breakfast that is within walking distance to the downtown area that has quaint shops and tasty treats like saltwater taffy and ice cream.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eat_live_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Spruce Point Inn last week after the recommendation of the local Chamber of Commerce. We had asked for an upscale property with nice rooms, an attentive staff, good food and great views. The Spruce Point Inn turned out to be that and a whole lot more. Joe, the Innkeeper We greatly gave us recommendations for restaurants in town, places to see and things to do. Not only was he very nice, he clearly get's it. His job is to make Guests welcome and he accomplished that task magnificently!

The Spruce Point Inn is a truly first class property with great amenities, a warm homey feel and is family-oriented.. The staff was outstanding, friendly and helpful and the property and views as mentioned above were outstanding. We also throughly enjoyed our Spa treatments. My wife had a facial and said it was among the best she has experienced. I had a hot-stone massage and came out of the treatment feeling relaxed and highly energized.

My wife and I have traveled to many places and stayed at many Inns, B&B's and upscale hotels. The Spruce Point Inn ranks among the best we've experienced!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickPNorthPotomac_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
1.4 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
470 reviews
2.2 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
548 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
385 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
376 reviews
1.4 mi away
Boothbay Harbor Oceanside Golf Resort
Boothbay Harbor Oceanside Golf R...
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa

Address: 88 Grandview Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2247
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#1 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: $193 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MAINE'S CLASSIC OCEANSIDE RESORT A Condé Nast 'Top 20 Northeast Resort' and Downeast Magazine 'Best Hotel/Resort in Maine', Spruce Point Inn is exactly what most guests picture when they think of an oceanside resort in Maine. For more than 125 years, the Inn has attracted travelers from across the United States and provided a refreshing backdrop for families and friends to create 'treasured oceanside memories made in Maine'. On a private 100 acre peninsula on the ocean overlooking the entrance to Boothbay Harbor and Burnt Island Lighthouse, the Spruce Point Inn is an ideal venue for memorable reunions, seaside weddings, romantic getaways and business retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Point Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Spruce Point Resort
Spruce Point Inn Resort And Spa Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing