We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we go every summer”

Cabbage Island Clambakes
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“we go every summer”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is an annual event for us.. we go once each summer when we visit Maine. Beautiful boat ride and nice lobster clambake once you get to island. Yes, things are a tad overcoooked ( corn, potatoes, the egg) as other reviewers have stated but still tasty! Friendly family run business. Make reservation as sometimes there is no room for walk ups.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank angelajoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    12
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best part of my New England trip.”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Great boat ride, great food. Friendly staff. Totally unique experince.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kmiller206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Generally very good, but some issues”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This really is a special Maine treat - but not perfect. Just set your expectations. We've been there about a dozen times over the years, taking friends and family, and will be going again.

The corn on the cob is definitely over cooked, soft and mushy. In fact, everything is slightly over steamed. They need to add the corn to the cook pile half way through to come out better. Many "clambake" specialists use the corn being done just right (on top of the pile) to indicate when the entire meal is ready to serve.

If you make reservations for 10 or more, be prepared to pay an up front deposit, where they add a 15% gratuity onto the total cost of the meal, the boat trip, and the 7% food tax. I can see adding it on to the meal portion only, but not the entire cost including tax. Those who go in smaller groups will tip as they desire. This feels like they are penalizing people who bring larger groups. In the future, we will book multiple smaller groups to get around this nonsense.

Like I said, set your expectations.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Don T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Maine
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Annual outing”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We go each year in July with a group of friends. The ride over is pleasent and fun. The food is outstanding ! Capable, professional staff. Very clean and scenic indoor and outdoor seating. And did I say the whole thing was terrific? Must go for visitors and locals alike.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank MidwestGirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
183 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This was an incredible experience. Researched a bit and found this wonderful place. You get on a boat and ride out to the island (about 45 min ride) and then you find yourself on this island with picnic tables scattered around and views and lovely people! I felt like I was back in camp! The food is cooked right there on the beach in a natural setting. You grab a picnic table, sit down, and are served drinks and chowder by wonderful people. Its all family and they are so proud of this island, as they should be. Then you get your lobsters and clams and corn, etc. It was tasty and fun and a wonderful treat. They serve you cake for dessert and you have a little time to walk around the island and explore, go to the gift shop, or just relax. I would highly recommend this trip. We would love to go back and experience this again. Many of the people we met were "repeat" visitors! ENJOY THIS!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank profjan06nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabbage Island Clambakes also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Cabbage Island Clambakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing