We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small aquarium”

Maine State Aquarium
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular aquarium for families, with an unusual attraction: a shark-petting tank.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
274 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Nice small aquarium”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Great for younger kids. Lots of touch tanks. Small and easy to do in a short amount of time.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank oyyveyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    132
    60
    23
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, NH
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun but very small”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

This aquarium was very small - it really wouldn't take you more than 20 minutes to look at everything. So it was kind of expensive for the time you were there. The plus side - There was a great touch tank with a giant lobster I got to hold. And the outside area was beautiful, right on the ocean, with picnic tables.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank KarenandTag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great family fun!”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

The children enjoyed visiting here. It was smaller than expected, but still lots of fun. Would recommend for little ones.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not worth it.”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We visited the aquarium and left in about ten minutes. It is very small and it is only one room. Don't waste your money.

Helpful?
1 Thank ecav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very small; moderately interesting”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

This aquarium is very small, which I knew going in. I just didn't know quite how small (one room). It is a good kid activity for a rainy day, but otherwise, if your kids are over 6 or 7, I wouldn't bother. The touch tanks are the best part. However, when we were there, the little shark would not come out from under the rocks. It was very crowded when we visited, which made it difficult to see the wall tank exhibits in any detail. The information about each tank was well done, but with the number of people visiting, there wasn't enough time to read it all before feeling compelled to move on.

Helpful?
1 Thank SallyStateCollegePA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maine State Aquarium also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Maine State Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing