We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but rooms are tiny”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Nicely situated on a small body of water. There were a few picnic tables and a brick grill along the water right outside in back. If you want to explore the town of Boothbay Harbor it's a short drive away. I must admit our room was very disappointing - we were tripping over each other and our travel bags. No closet, just a short rod with 3 hangers. The bathroom was minuscule, no countertop and a tiny shower - you couldn't bend over to pick up a dropped bar of soap without getting partially out. Mrs Innkeeper was very friendly but the 2 young girls in the office should practice smiling. Definitely would pick someplace different if we went back to this area.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunnyyoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachCoveManager, Manager at Beach Cove Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Sorry we did not meet your expectations. We have different types of rooms on the property. Starting from economy size rooms to deluxe rooms and suites. Our business formula is very simple: SMALL ROOM FOR --TINY PRICE and HUGE ROOM FOR--HIGHER PRICE. I think our Standard and Balcony rooms are the Best deal on the Coastal Maine. We only charge $126 per night for Balcony room in Hi season. This is twice less then another INN'S are charging for waterfront with private balcony. The bathroom is small and has a standard shower but the price is great.Please give us some discounts too. Plus we have 3 Acres of waterfront,heated pool,private beach,grill area. Rowboats and canoes are free of charge for our guests. Please try our Deluxe Balcony rooms next time and you will not be disappointed. They are HUGE with XL balcony and big bathroom. Thanks!!! Andrei Elizarkov /Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
There are newer reviews for Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 376 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in August. Traveling with 16 and 14 year olds. We had a room on the second floor overlooking the lake. Room was very large with 2 queen beds and queen size sleeper sofa - very good value for money. Rooms and grounds were very clean and well maintained. We used the free canoes and enjoyed exploring the lake and swimming. Very nice place to spend a few days and a very short drive to Boothbay Harbor.

Bathroom was very old with very dated fixtures but was very clean and everything worked fine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmaschnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

In a tucked away area a short drive from the central tourist mecca of Boothbay Harbor, it can be a twofer: very quiet, peaceful resort with fresh air balcony overlooking water with complimentary canoes, or as a more moderately priced room close enough to all the Boothbay attractions.
Small room, smaller bath with RV-sized shower stall, don't pinch your fingers on the door frame as you pull the bath door handle closed. Minimal decor, softer mattress. Wifi good enough, not special. Breakfast is coffee and muffins.
French heritage managers, seasonal younger desk assistants not especially fluent in English.
If I were looking for a quiet place to decompress, close enough to many restaurants, I might book again. Otherwise, I'd probably spend more to stay in the central Boothbay Harbor tourist shop area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RetireeTraveler33715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachCoveManager, Manager at Beach Cove Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

I am sorry BeachCove Inn did not meet your expectations. Our Standard and Balcony rooms are economy size rooms with a small private bathrooms. They have a price of average motel rooms far away from the water. We completely rebuild them few years ago but could not make them bigger. I think they are a great choice for the price. For a slightly higher price you could ask us to upgrade you to our Deluxe Balcony room. This room is twice bigger in size with XL balcony and large full size bathroom.No one is " FRENCH HERITAGE MANAGERS" on the property. Sorry! I wish we could speak French language since so many people come to Maine from Quebec every year. Front desk girl just got her master degree in International Advertising and speaks English very well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a very nice and well kept property. Beautiful view overlooking the lake. Canoes are available for guests at no cost. There is a pretty good slope from the hotel down to the lake. There is also a very nice pool. The rooms are very clean but small and the bathrooms are tiny. The walls are thin. Rooms do have a fridge and microwave. Breakfast is a carb fest. They put out a variety of baked goods. The property is outside downtown at least a mile but the beautiful setting and reasonable price make it worthwhile. .

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor where rooms face the lake and have private balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Beach Cove Hotel for two nights. We reserved a room with a private balcony and the lake view was gorgeous! The balcony itself was very spacious and featured a table and two chairs. The room featured a mini-fridge, coffee maker, and separate bathroom. The shower stall is quite small but manageable. The decor is outdated but the room was very clean and comfortable.

One of the biggest pluses about this hotel is the continental breakfast that is included in the rate. Coffee, juices, muffins, fruite, and cinammon buns are available in the office and were very yummy; a great way to start the day.

Also included in the rate is free use of row boats and canoes. The lake is right behind the hotel, so you just have to get oars from the office. We spent a beautiful afternoon just exploring different islands and other areas on the lake.

Downtown Boothbay is a 5-minute drive from the hotel or a $6 cab ride. This hotel was conventient, clean, quiet, and included perks that make it a tremendous value for this area.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a balcony! It was only a $20 difference in my rate compared with rooms wi...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ileana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

clean rooms; great scenery. I'd recommend upper level. lower level room noisy. friendly staff. a little pricy but worth it. pets welcome too plenty of room to walk them. close to boothbay downtown but away from crowd

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebaby1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The place is clean,simple and give you everything you need to have fun. Boats,pool water front, BBQ, fire pit, simple food and drink in the morning.....best value we have seen in the area, and it clean too.

Room Tip: The community tps usually seem right on the money!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
1.0 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
538 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
459 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#9 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
288 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
369 reviews
1.0 mi away
Boothbay Harbor Inn
Boothbay Harbor Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Cove Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Cove Waterfront Inn

Address: 48 Lakeview Rd, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1788
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#4 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: $96 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Cove Waterfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Inn with water view balcony rooms. Private beach with pier.Salt Water Heated pool. Newly renovated with all new rooms and furniture. FREE boats and canoes for our guests. Complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Beach Cove Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Beach Cove
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing