We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorified Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2011

The room was clean, staff was polite, and the view from the balcony was lovely. But the hotel is in actuality a motel, two stories of rooms with no interior corridors, just exterior doors that open onto the parking lot. Walls are paper-thin, and you can chat with your neighbors on their balcony (and smell their cigar smoke). The bathroom windows, covered only with mini-blinds, face the front and if the light is on anyone can see inside. The bathroom is tiny, with only a stand-up stall and a pedestal sink with no room to balance your toiletries on the edge. The bed was hard and the room cramped. There is no breakfast area so the breakfast (one basic white flour muffin mix with different add-ins, over-baked frozen danish, and past-prime fruit) is laid out on the office countertop.
On the bright side, it's on a safe, quiet street and close to Boothbay Harbor. The property abuts a pretty lake and the view is definitely the best feature.

Room Tip: Pay for the view if the weather is good. If not, don't bother staying here unless you get a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank CandidComments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyrtleBeachAndy67, Manager at Beach Cove Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2012

Thank you for your review. It is very unfortunate that your expectation has not been met ,but the room you booked is economy size room(fully remodeled with new standard hospitality furniture)in the waterfront place with advertised outdoors activities and the best price for newly remodeled waterfront room with private balcony in Coastal Maine. Larger rooms with full bathroom(bathtub ,shower, separate powder sink)sofa in addition to the 2Q ore 1K bed are available for a slightly higher price and still very compatible and affordable for waterfront on the coast of Maine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 385 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2011

I have never done this before but there's always a first time. Stayed in a deluxe room which was very open and roomy and best of all clean. It was quiet and the view from the room was gorgeous. The grounds were beautiful which leads right to the water. Most of all it was the friendliness of the staff in the office that sealed the deal. Just as an example, we have a small dog and I was concerned about the possibility of her barking if we went out for awhile. She doesn't normally but it's a dog, therefore unpredictable. The woman in the office offered to keep her with her behind the desk if we went out. Who does that except for a staff that is out to please their guests. We highly recommend this place and would stay again anytime.

Room Tip: Second floor balcony provides great privacy and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed here October 5 (with complimentary upgrade). It was everything we needed: clean room, good size, comfy beds, helpful staff, tasty breakfast and quiet out-of-town location. It happened to be a very cold night and thankfully the in room heating worked a treat. To top it all the view from our room was awesome. In the morning, we took our breakfast coffees down to the lake shore to admire the view. Everything you could want from a roadside motel.

In case it is relevant to anyone else: we were caught out by the closing times of the restaurants in the town. As we were looking for food after 9pm there was nothing available - except the ubiquitous pizza joint. Out of season, eat early or miss out!

Room Tip: Without a view of the lake, this is a lot like any other (good) roadside motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline_Turner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Stayed two nights on a recent trip through New England. The room was small but very clean. The property is gorgeous and the view from our deck was awesome. The price was reasonable. The location is convenient to Boothbay Harbor. Coffee available all the time and the continental breakfast was very good (you have to take it back to your room, but who's complaining when you have a private balcony with an incredible view?) Friendly service. Good Internet connection. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

First the good. The property is fantastic. A short walk down to the harbor, with access to boats, canoes, and plenty of place to sit and enjoy the beautiful property. The room was very clean.

The not so good, the room was lacking in the little things. A trash can in the room (there was only one in the bathroom) would be nice, as would a place for a suitcase. The bed was awful, springy, and firm...I woke up with a sore back, and not well rested. The worst part about Beach Cove was the noise. Paper thin walls made every door slam (and there were quite a few), and every person walking past your room can be heard. Unfortunately, I think it would have been more peaceful to sleep down by the water.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadtrip76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

As others have said, this place is off the beaten bath from Boothbay Harbor. Would be a short bike ride and a VERY brisk walk to town

The view from our deck was awesome.

The only drawback was that the pillows and bed are not very comfortable

We will be back

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Manchvegas_03103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

My husband I stayed here for 3 mid-week nights in August and have said we would come back for sure. The rooms are nothing fancy but that was what we expected. Rooms are simple but exceptionally clean. The beds are OK, not great but not horrible. The hotel overlooks a beautiful lake that is very clean. I did go for a quick swim one morning and the water was perfectly refreshing. Unfortunately we missed out on getting a view from the water with one of the canoes because we just didn't have enough time. Warm and delicious rolls and muffins await in the office every morning along w/apples, oranges, OJ and fresh, hot coffee. The view from the rooms is nice to wake up to with a cup of hot Joe too.

Kudos to the owners, who we did meet and they are both very nice.
This place is a gem. Nice to be a stones throw away from downtown Boothbay and get more from your money with the grounds, breakfast and the lake. Can't wait to go back.

The view from the rooms is nicv

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bourgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
1 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
549 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
474 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
376 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
1 mi away
Boothbay Harbor Inn
Boothbay Harbor Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Cove Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Cove Waterfront Inn

Address: 48 Lakeview Rd, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1788
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#4 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: $96 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Cove Waterfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Inn with water view balcony rooms. Private beach with pier.Salt Water Heated pool. Newly renovated with all new rooms and furniture. FREE boats and canoes for our guests. Complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Beach Cove Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Beach Cove
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing