We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good, but wouldn't recommend the three-bedroom cottage.”
Review of Boothbay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boothbay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boothbay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boothbay
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Overall, this was a great place to stay with young kids. It's clean, they have an outdoor heated pool, a large field to play ball, and even a small putting green for miniature golf, and it's close to the town. On the down side, we had reserved a 3-bedroom Evergreen cottage which was supposed to be nonsmoking. It turned out that it was actually two units (a 1-bedroom and a 2-bedroom) attached by a deck. And one of those units clearly was recently used by smokers as it just smelled bad. The other unit had a leaking refrigerator, but otherwise was spacious and pretty nice. These two units were on the second floor of a house with laundry on the bottom and more hotel guests on the third floor. That was a problem too because the third -floor guests were incredibly loud late at night. Since the flooring was just linoleum instead of rugs, you could hear pretty much everything. That said, we'd stay there again but next time we'll definitely request an individual cottage as opposed to the larger Evergreen cottage.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 47 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2010

The room/cabin we had (a "cedars") was very small. The owners/inkeepers were not overly friendly nor accommodating, and any help they gave had the air of a favor as opposed to an included service. The "kitchenette" was actually a dorm room fridge, a microwave, and a hotplate stacked atop one another next to a folding table which featured a tray of mismatched and crusty utensils. And to top it all off, some lunkhead in an RV parked right behind our location, disrupting any view we had. Boothbay Harbor is a great town...highly recommend a visit, but stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jc2238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Every year we come to Boothbay on business, last year we tried somewhere else to stay but we came straight back this year! The cabins are clean,relaxing and private. Microwave,fridge,hot plate, t.v and for those of us who have to work, clear and fast wi-fi. The lovely little, wine/cheese and beer shop. Well behaved dogs,happy to be with their people. I felt as if I had a mini holiday! Thankyou Lori,Win and family.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiquer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2009

Recently traveled with husband, dog, best friend, her niece and their 3 dogs. Loved the cottages and hospitality! Cedar cottages were quaint, clean and well-equipped. Dog friendly atmosphere and plenty of area to walk dogs. Especially loved the wine and cheese shop...how can you beat that??? Cute cottages, just a mile from gorgeous Booth Bay Harbor..and a wine and cheese shop on premises! Fantastic!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harvey_tracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We loved staying here! Spending time with the Mitchells and their families at this resort only magnified the amount of fun that we experienced in Maine. It was a great cottage, and we loved the hot tub after the locally suggested day trips. My husband and I especially enjoyed our 'breakfast with Bruce' every morning. He came up with great stories and great ideas for activities for us to get a look at the real Maine.
We could not have asked for better lodging!!! Just stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oknett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

The Boothbay Resort was just what we needed for a relaxing, funfilled family vacation in Maine. The resort was so beautiful and well taken care of! You could tell that Lori and Win Mitchell really put time, effort and care as well as love into their resort and home. We found the cottage that we stayed in to be very comfortable and clean for my husband, myself and our 2 young children. We would highly recommend this resort to anyone visiting the Boothbay area! We look forward to our next trip to Boothbay, this will be the only place we will stay in the future!! Win and Lori Mitchell are the perfect hosts and will treat you like they have known you for a lifetime! Our vacation was made even better by their kindness!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tklements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We went out for a wedding and we arrived to have to wait 45 minutes because there was no one to check us in. The cottage was cute and had enough room, but paint was peeling everywhere and the furniture seem to come from a collage dorm. Supposedly it has wifi, but I never picked up a signal and when we asked about it we were treated rudely as if we were stupid. House keeping seemed to be non-existent. The whole place is on gravel, so you have to where sandals to the pool which was falling apart as well as the Jacuzzi which had green water and broken jets. There were some form of RED ANTS everywhere and I was bitten on the neck and had to take Benadryl and ice it for 3 hours to reduce the swelling. I brought it to the owners attention that these were all over the patio in front of the cottage and was told we have ants here in ME and they refused to do anything about it. Every time we engaged the staff at this place we were treated rudely and dismissed as pests. I would not stay here again if it were free. Oh look out for the 10% hospitality fee they tack on your bill.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bob_the_snob_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay
1.4 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
548 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
470 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
385 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
376 reviews
7.6 mi away
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
#1 of 1 in Wiscasset
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boothbay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boothbay Resort

Address: 301 Adams Pond Rd, Boothbay, ME 04537-4334 (Formerly 1828 Vintage House and Cottages)
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boothbay
Price Range: $79 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Where else can you stay and have Boothbay’s only Micro Brewery and Vintage House Wine & Cheese Shop at your cottage door!” A cottage resort located just 1 mile from Boothbay Harbor and many coastal attractions. All the comforts of home including outdoor heated pool, hot tub, Bocce court, Golf putting greens, outdoor grills. Pets are welcome in certain cabins or cottages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boothbay Hotel Boothbay
Boothbay Resort Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing