We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not clean, and disappointing.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Boothbay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boothbay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boothbay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boothbay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not clean, and disappointing.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

The hot tub was filled with green water. There was no wi-fi. The place had a funky odor and the staff were very pushy and rude. It was a huge let down for my vacation.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dgbsjdbsvdhdhbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    13
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
22
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

We just stayed there this past weekend,the grounds are beautiful and the cottages are nice,the only things we did not like was that they advertise a king bed,and in reality they put 2 twin beds together with a 1 foot piece of egg crate in the middle so you dont fall through,very very uncomfortable,and also it was 103 degrees there on friday and they did not think to turn on the a/c for their guests that were checking in,so when we got into the cottage it was swealtering.There really isnt that much to do on the resort or boothbay either,sidewalks roll up at 9:00 at night,the aquarium charges 5.00 per person to get in and its one tiny room that you see in about a min and a half,once youve done the whale watch or the lighthouse cruise there is absolutely nothing else to do there!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jr88rules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
win252, Owner at Boothbay Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Dear jr88rules,

First, let me say thanks for your review.
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy yourselves while visiting the Boothbay Region. I wished you had asked us what there was to do after 9pm we would of loved to given you suggestions. We are natives of the Boothbay Region and know almost everyone. We are also Corporate members to a lot of the businesses and sell tickets right out of our office. Your welcome book that each guest receives on arrival does state the things, places and prices.

On our website and when you call to book we do tell you the bed configurations. Occasionally, we do get a request of a king and a queen, not the existing queen and 2 twin beds that already exist in the Balsams cottages. We take pride in the fact we are flexible and give you the option to put the 2 twin beds together to make into a king. Housekeeping, my mother and 2 college students, do a great job in keeping things straight to keep our guests happy.

We do hope you give us and the whole Boothbay Region another chance. But next time, don't be shy and ask us or the Information Center is at the end of our driveway, "What is there to do here?"

Best, Lori & Win Mitchell, our whole family and resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

What you see is what you get at the Boothbay Resort. It's not a huge resort by any means but it's spread out just enough that you do not feel like your neighbors are right on top of you. I definitely recommend this place for families or couples with dogs as it is very pet friendly and children too. Great location and a very short trip into town and other local attractions.

Check in was easy a breeze and Lori one of the owners gave us a binder full of information on both the resort and the Boothbay area. She also suggested best places to watch the 4th of July fireworks. Best part of checking in is you get to check out the on-site wine, beer and cheese shop. Yes that's right I said on-site wine, beer and cheese, within walking distance of your cottage! There is a excellent selection of wines and craft brews and specialty cheeses and spreads. The day we checked in there was a complimentary wine tasting of 4 wines and they even had some cheese and snacks our to pair with the wines. The wine attendant was very knowledgeable about wine. We walked out with a bottle of the Pepper Pot wine. Excellent!

We stayed in the Balsams # 6 2 bedroom cottage which is closest to the dog "potty" area. We had 4 adults, a dog and a baby. It was cozy but tolerable size for 3 nights. We had just enough room but occasionally it did feel claustrophobic with 4 adults a dog running about and baby gear. The cottage we stayed in was immaculate. The housekeeping staff do a great job at maintaining. The cottages are up-to-date and have just what you need in the kitchen to prepare some small meals. Bring a bottle opener! They do not stock in kitchen and ding you $5 if you go to the wine shop to buy one. The flat screen TV and cable was a nice diversion when you wanted to catch up on news. The wi-fi was slow and I didn't really use it. There is 3G coverage up there. The only really bad "Con" at this place was the condition of the BBQ grill and we like to BBQ. Lori did tell us a head of time it was a campground style grill. It was unfortunately unusable as the grate you put your food on was completely rusted out. They need to do something to protect the grills when not in use. We had to go down to the Hannaford grocery store down the street and buy a portable charcoal mini grill. The outdoor picnic table was a nice place to lounge around, read or socialize or watch the resident chipmunks and birds make their rounds about the resort.

The bathroom is stocked with towels daily but they do encourage water conservation so they like you to reuse your towel if possible. The A/C was needed quite often as it was muggy and it definitely took the edge of the humidity and stuffiness in the cottage.

We used the in ground pool which again was well kept, clean and the water was a decent temperature thanks to their solar panel heating system. The pool has towels stocked for your use. We did not get to use the hot tub while we were there but it was a standard square hot tub with a cover. Looks like it was well maintained. I never saw the bocce court, maybe I just missed it? Also they do advertise on their website about campfires but the firepit was not lit up any of the nights we were there, even on a busy 4th of July weekend. The owners were busy with construction of the brewery building so we hardly even saw them. Also, just a note, any of the work being done over at the brewery building was barely audible from our cottage and did not bother us at all.

Overall great place and we would definitely go back, just as long as we bring our own grill. We've already recommended to several friends to check it out.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eat_good_food77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

Since I didn’t find very many recent reviews on TA, I wasn’t sure what to expect. We were all pleasantly surprised and would recommend Boothbay Resort to families with children and/or canines.

The resort is set off the main road and a very quiet property. We had a 2 bedroom cottage with ample parking for 2 cars. All the cottages are spread out enough so you couldn’t hear the guests next to you. (Hopefully no one heard our crying baby at 3am!) The cottage was modern, updated, and very clean. I liked the faux wood floors versus carpet – you never know what’s been on those carpets at the chain motels. There were good quality bed linens and towels, not the cheapo thin towels and sheets that you can see through. We had all the cooking utensils and plates needed. The bedrooms were a little snug but we were able to fit our travel crib in a corner. You could not tell that our cottage was a dog friendly as it was in good condition, smelled clean, and no hair from previous canine guest. Only downsides were...it got a little warm and muggy over the 4th – while there was a good AC in the living area, the bedrooms got warm and stuffy. But there was also a floor fan provided that alleviated some of the discomfort. Also the free wifi was weak and slow but at least there was wifi.

We enjoyed the wine tasting at the wine/beer shop attached to the office. The pool was clean and surprisingly warm and good towels provided. Wish we had more time for the pool...next time! The resort was close to Boothbay Harbor and was easy to get in and out of town.

You can tell that the owners take good care and are proud of their property and I hope they continue to do so…what a nice little gem of a place. Great value too.

Room Tip: Tip: Don’t forget your wine/beer opener. There is not one in the cottage but for sale at the wine s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daphne418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

Basic accomidations. Cabins are small- but we were able to fit 5 adults per unit. Good for families and big groups. 10 min drive to BoothBay harbor. Dog friendly. Fire pit, picnic tables, lots of grass and a nice pool. The also have a wine, micro-brew and cheese store.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neige8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orono, ME
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

Every year my daughter and her friends come to Boothbay for a weekend dance workshop, and for the past three years we have stayed at the Boothbay Resort; this year there are 4 teen dancers and 2 adults. I am siting in the living room of Unit #11, the three bedroom "cottage" described previously. A complete renovation, done this past winter, has resulted in a terrific vacation spot! This VERY large unit has three bedrooms (one king bed, one queen bed, one bunk with double down, single up), beds have new memory foam toppers, a spacious living room, and a huge kitchen/dining area, with two full bathrooms, two tv's, and a long, private deck. The floors are new, the kitchen has a dishwasher, full fridge, stove/oven, microwave, and coffee pot. My kitchen at home should be as nice! My only complaint so far is that the sofa beds leave a little to be desired, but most do. There are two window a/c units and three fans (although we sure don't need it this weekend, it's wet and in the mid-50's). When we arrived yesterday, someone had thoughtfully turned the heat up, so it was cozy and warm when we were chilly and damp! The owners are always friendly, and the resort office is located in their amazing wine and cheese (among other goodies) shop; I can hardly wait til next summer to see what the craft brewery they are building is like! Both the pool and the hot tub are clean and comfortable; dancers LOVE the hot tub after 5 hours of intensive classes!
We always stay at Boothbay Resort when we come for the dance workshop and we are always satisfied, regardless of which cottage we have... but this one (#11) is definitely the biggest, nicest, and best of all we've stayed in... and the fact that I'm posting while here attests to the wi-fi strength!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leebick56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoboken
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

cabin was small, clean, bright and cozy. Lori, owner, was very helpful. Delicious wine cheese store on site.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HobokenPeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay
2.0 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
1.3 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
3.6 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boothbay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boothbay Resort

Property: Boothbay Resort
Address: 301 Adams Pond Rd, Boothbay, ME 04537-4334 (Formerly 1828 Vintage House and Cottages)
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boothbay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Where else can you stay and have Boothbay’s only Micro Brewery and Vintage House Wine & Cheese Shop at your cottage door!” A cottage resort located just 1 mile from Boothbay Harbor and many coastal attractions. All the comforts of home including outdoor heated pool, hot tub, Bocce court, Golf putting greens, outdoor grills. Pets are welcome in certain cabins or cottages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boothbay Hotel Boothbay
Boothbay Resort Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing