We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gardens and great hiking too.”

Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$489.00*
and up
3-Day New England Country Christmas
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Boothbay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens is a natural wonder on 270 acres of shorefront in mid-coast Maine. Strolling through spectacular ornamental gardens and traversing miles of waterfront and woodland trails, visitors are delighted by the beautiful plantings, impressive stonework, waterfalls and fountains, and scenic views. It's no wonder the Gardens have been hailed as one of Maine's top three attractions. The Gardens are open 9-5 April 15 - October 31 (open until 6 pm in July and August). There is a cafe and gift shop on site. A visit at any time is a memorable experience.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
251 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens and great hiking too.”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We come here at least once a year to see the local flowers blooming at different times. It is so pleasant to walk around the beautiful settings of colorful flowers, bushes and rock gardens. Next time we'll have to take a guided tour to learn more. And the hiking along the inlet waters and back woods is great including the opportunity to stretch the distance away from the crowds. Along the way are a fairy village, waterfalls, meditation garden, rock sculptures, children's garden, sunning spots on waterfront rocks, etc. Lunch in their cafe is excellent with tasty, well prepared sandwiches, soups and salads.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ilkkats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,148
    116
    13
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach
Level Contributor
144 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Natural Beauty combined with Plantings and Sculpture”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

It is easy to understand why Trip Advisor rated these gardens #1 in US last year! I only wish we had allowed more time! These gardens are beautifully laid out with beautiful Plantings and unique sculptures added to the rocks, boulders, forest and river. If you are traveling through Maine put this on your bucket list!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyOakdale_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canaan, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Beautiful Botanical Gardens”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This garden is so beautiful and is a favorite place for our family to visit every summer. Our grandchildren just loved the children's area and didn't want to leave it. The paths are well laid out between the flower gardens and the blooms and colors are fantastic. There are so many different areas to enjoy, make sure you get a map of the gardens so you don't miss any of it.Two very special areas are the meditation and reflection pool, beautifully placed huge stones for sitting areas and the fairy house woods where your kids can build their own.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oakbrook3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
359 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Excellent day out”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Well-worth a visit and we could have spent much longer than we did there - I imagine that a bit later in the season the gardens must be wonderful but even so, this was a most enjoyable experience. It was very peaceful and not at all busy which made it seem that we almost had the place to ourselves. Very good lunch in the café too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Antal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Another great Maine attraction”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My family and I visited the gardens over Memorial Day 2014. This was our 2nd visit to the Gardens. I am always looking for attractions that offer things for both adults and children. The Botanical Gardens fits this bill. Lots of things for kids to explore. We also like the trails that surround the gardens. A definite must-see on the mid-coast.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing