We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful gardens and walking paths”

Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Boothbay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens is a natural wonder on 270 acres of shorefront in mid-coast Maine. Strolling through spectacular ornamental gardens and traversing miles of waterfront and woodland trails, visitors are delighted by the beautiful plantings, impressive stonework, waterfalls and fountains, and scenic views. It's no wonder the Gardens have been hailed as one of Maine's top three attractions. The Gardens are open 9-5 April 15 - October 31 (open until 6 pm in July and August). There is a cafe and gift shop on site. A visit at any time is a memorable experience.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
842 reviews
176 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens and walking paths”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to these gardens. They had lovely displays of pumpkins and gourds in the gardens. Being Fall, we were surprised to see many flowers still in bloom. We especially enjoyed the five sense garden and Children's garden. In addition we had a light snack at their cafe. The food and service were really good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gloria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,113
    112
    12
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Six stars recommended.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous! Beautiful natural setting with native plants, identified and grouped well. Walking tours are interesting because of good pathways, varied landscaping with stone outcrops, trees, plantings. Spectacular job in planning a garden to honor Maine. Had only 2 hours and will definitely return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing collection of botanical beauties.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Relaxing walk through the gardens. Easy to follow mapping. Beautiful exhibits. Awesome children's garden.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank scoobydo1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
245 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Extraordinary in scope, scale, diversity and maintenance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

An unexpected delight in mid-coast main. The highlight of our three days in the Boothbay Harbor area. Beautiful plantings. Well labeled. Open and small and mediation garden type spaces plus a shore walk. Lots of walking but jitney's provided. Small cafe. lovely museum shop. Lovely well-placed sculptures. Japanese garden. Not a garden full of annuals but beautiful shrub, tree, grass and perennial plantings. Beautiful walk ways through the woods.

Don't miss this is you are in the area. It is unique and worth a half day. We brought a picnic lunch and ate on the lovely Adirondack chairs overlooking the great lawn with interesting plantings and sculptures.

Large number of motor scooter type wheelchairs for those in need. A nice touch.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gloria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defiance, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Someone stuffed the ballot box on this one”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

How this place could rate better than Longwood Gardens I cannot understand. I've been to Longwood and this is no Longwood! Someone is stuffing the ballot box on this one. There are no annuals here. Sept 29 and the place looked like the end of a long summer. Yes, they were making cider but we didn't get any. She left to go after more apples. The drive in was rough and bad. The welcome center is nice. Only thing that was nice was the hydranges and ornamental grasses. Cute squirrels. Not really that much art. Toledo Ohio has a better botanical garden than this place. Either it has already frosted here or the plants needed water. They were yellow and dryed up! Certainly no place for the handicapped. Steps and terraces all over. Very overpriced for this time of the year.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PrincessDog065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing