We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Gardens”

Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$489.00*
and up
3-Day New England Country Christmas
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Boothbay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens is a natural wonder on 270 acres of shorefront in mid-coast Maine. Strolling through spectacular ornamental gardens and traversing miles of waterfront and woodland trails, visitors are delighted by the beautiful plantings, impressive stonework, waterfalls and fountains, and scenic views. It's no wonder the Gardens have been hailed as one of Maine's top three attractions. The Gardens are open 9-5 April 15 - October 31 (open until 6 pm in July and August). There is a cafe and gift shop on site. A visit at any time is a memorable experience.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Our three generation visited here in July. The gardens are beautiful and well maintained. Lots of plants and displays to look at. There is a huge children's garden with activities. We visited on Friday which is when they celebrate fairies. Costumes to dress u in, fairy activities and storytelling. My family thought they were humoring me to "go look at flowers", but each one enjoyed the time spent there. We ate lunch in the café which was delicious and reasonably priced.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RetiredTravleler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,120
    114
    13
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Cobb, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
385 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I have been to quite few gardens but we both agree, by far this is the best. Visited the 4th week in July 2013 and it was spectacular. The architecture, the sculptures, the overall design, the colors and variety, the children's area, the volunteers. Everything about this place gets an A+. Please do yourself a favor and go if in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TrayBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wharton, Texas
Level Contributor
154 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Beautiful experience.”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

This was amazing. So much bigger, and elaborate then I anticipated. Think Buchart gardens on a smaller scale. Much to see in many different settings. Day Lilly's were my favorite. Many, many , blooming flowers this time of year. Everything was clearly labeled. Special children's garden. We went in the afternoon and I wished we had gone early in the day to avoid some crowds and the heat of the afternoon sun.
There are shuttles provided to different parts if you don't want to walk, but nothing is really all that far. Again, go early in the day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KU71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Botalnical Gardens In Boothbay, Maine.”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

On a very recent trip to Portland Maine, we we told not to miss these Beautiful Gardens and fortunately, we made time for them. This is nearly to gorgeous to even discribe, you have to see it to believe it. Whether you're from another state or country, this is an attraction you don't want to miss. We spent nearly 6 hours walking and hiking inside this wonderful Park which was perfect for anyone who wants to see true splender. They have trollies for folks who can't manage to walk the trails, and also for young families with small children. You can get off and spend as much time as you'd like, and be picked up again every 15 mins to go to another lovely location. Check out "infomainegardens.org", and/or "www.Mainegardens.org" for all details, and just go and rejuvinate your spirit. There is a fee of course, but very minamal for what you're going to see. Regular price is 14.00 for adults, Seniors (65+) 12.00, children 3 to 17, 6.00. All credit cards accepted and it's free to all from Dec-March for folks who live in Maine or visiting at that time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ladylynn4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Garden in Maine”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

A garden in the north...Absolutely an exciting gardening adventure for those who have in interest in floral attractions...We saw home some new ideas and at our age, we thought have seen everything...The Volunteer staff was very knowledgeable, helpful, and willing to go out of their way to accommodate the visitors.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank retiredchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing