We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCEPTIONAL PLACE TO VISIT!”

Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$489.00*
and up
3-Day New England Country Christmas
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Boothbay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens is a natural wonder on 270 acres of shorefront in mid-coast Maine. Strolling through spectacular ornamental gardens and traversing miles of waterfront and woodland trails, visitors are delighted by the beautiful plantings, impressive stonework, waterfalls and fountains, and scenic views. It's no wonder the Gardens have been hailed as one of Maine's top three attractions. The Gardens are open 9-5 April 15 - October 31 (open until 6 pm in July and August). There is a cafe and gift shop on site. A visit at any time is a memorable experience.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“EXCEPTIONAL PLACE TO VISIT!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Boothbay Botanical Gardens is magnificent. Four of my friends and I visited there recently and were totally amazed at the grounds and variety of plants and flowers. I highly recommend going during your stay in Maine!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,178
    122
    15
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, New Hampshire, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Visited So Many Times, Finally Got a Membership!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Gardens are an unbelievably beautiful place. They are the most beautiful when all of the flowering plants are in bloom obviously; that said, we've had plenty of visits both "on" and "off" season that were just as spectacular.

My personal favorite area is the Rhododendron gardens. This is a fairly new section, and to me is the best. If you catch it when the Rhodies are in bloom, it is gorgeous.

I've visited the Gardens so many times over the past 4-5 years, I decided to get a Family membership - it's a lot cheaper that way! - plus I'm on their mailing list so I find out what's going on in advance to prepare my next visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill_Lundgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, OK
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful Gardens and woods”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a real gem, a must see if you enjoy Botanical Gardens. Fairly new but wonderful gardens and walks through the woods. We loved the walls of flowers and herbs - vertical plantings in metal ribbed cages. Best was the one with Parsley, Sage, Rosemary, and Thyme. The children's gardens included a Rainbow path of flowers and a play area. Lots of dragon flies.
They have built a new educational building with solar panels and the main building had an interesting display of local art. We had wonderful cool weather and a great morning exploring. There is a free tram to help you get around, if you need a ride.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank astronomer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A TREASURE in the midest of Boothbay Harbor Maine”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Go for beauty, relaxation, meditation, serenity, fairies, flowers, plants, trees. The COASTAL MAINE BOTANICAL GARDENS in Boothbay Maine is a real treasure in the area. It is full of trails and walks (many many handicap accessible). There is a beautiful Formal Garden, a whimiscal Children's Garden, a Rhodedenerhom Garden tucked back in the woods by a waterfall, a Meditation Rock Garden, and a hillside of Fairy Homes (built by children). This a well-thoughtout, designed, and used Botanical Garden. You can go for an hour or so, or spend all day. Always something different around the corner, time of day, or season of the year. This is a wonderful place for all ages.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wonderful!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Visited the gardens early October and was amazed at what has been done in just five years.
Still plenty of flowers this time of the year and other wonderful ornamentals and trees. The children's garden is just terrific (and I didn't go there with children). I couldn't stop smiling at all the little cottages, tree houses and other whimsical features.
We took the path to the water and then went to the waterfall which was very peaceful. The fairy land is great. The only other time I have seen this is near Portland on a small island called Mackworth Island. Another great place to visit.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The gardens are a must see!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing