We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful production”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Boothbay Playhouse - CLOSED

The Boothbay Playhouse
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With a combination of professional and community actors, the Boothbay Playhouse presents fully staged productions of favorite Broadway Musicals.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful production”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We saw Monty Python's Spamalot at the Boothbay Playhouse and (after reading other reviews) were surprised how professional the performances were. The singing and acting rivaled much larger venues at a much lower cost. Great costumes and stage design, too. We thoroughly enjoyed the show!
Arrive early as seating (and parking) is first-come-first-serve and it can get a little warm in the barn. Snacks are available before the show and during intermission. The theatre is located a little outside the town.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PharmD73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great show quality awesome venue.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

we saw once on this island. Great show wonderful dance and great singing. Well worth the price and great memory. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank yachtwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable evening of theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We saw 'Once Upon a Mattress' at the Playhouse. It was a very professional production. The quality of the singing was excellent. There were a few times when it could have been a little louder, but overrall, we could hear well. The playhouse is open seating, so we were able to buy last minute tickets and sit in the second row. It helped that the theatre was also not sold out. We had not seen this musical before, so I don't know how much they adapted it. It was a very good value and we will check it out on our next trip.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SJfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very good production of Urinetown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We saw a very nice production of Urinetown. I recommend you see a show here while visiting Boothbay. The theatre has an intersting history as you can read in the program. The show was directed well and the amateur and professional actors did a very nice job.

The big production numbers really filled the stage and there were some good hoofers in the cast.

Fun vacation evening.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank peuclid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Broadway quality in Maine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

The opening number of Urinetown is as powerful and amazing as any Broadway play I have ever seen and it only gets better from there. The performances top to bottom are truly amazing and bring together actors and singers from all ages. It was a rousing success. If you are within a day trip's drive, make the effort to get to Boothbay to see it!

Helpful?
Thank RJA_SD_1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boothbay Playhouse also viewed

 
Boothbay, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay, Mid Coast Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing