We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“summer vacation in Boothbay Maine”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boothbay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bold Colorful Life Estate
Ranked #3 of 7 Boothbay B&B and Inns
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“summer vacation in Boothbay Maine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Had a wonderful stay at Bold Color Life Inn. The "Cape" was charming and very comfortable. The living areas were very suitable, the bedroom areas abundant and cozy and the kitchen well outfitted and easy to work in.
Melissa is a great host.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    3
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
3
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sebago, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Melissa's Inn is just an hour or so's push on from Freeport, ME, which makes it a close destination from the Portland, ME area or indeed for exploring an hour away in all directions from Boothbay Take an easy jaunt from here downriver to Boothbay Harbor or visit the Maine Botanical Gardens, Rockport or Bath. Lots of neat shops (clothing, antiques...) and views, hikes, and walks. Beach, harbor, hills, or country roads. Or just stay put in the village or at the Inn. The hostess has done wonders with situating her restored, authentic Maine farmhouse and barn and other buildings just beautifully to make the most of the site and the views- in any season. Every room is colorfully "appointed" (ie. decorated and furnished) in an inviting manner, that makes you want to settle in easily into every nook and cranny. Melissa will give you lots of suggestions to enhance your stay, thanks to her local knowledge and contacts. And don't forget to sign up for a return visit before you leave!

Room Tip: Any room would be delightful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wenemir W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franklin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

I visited this home in September with a group of artists and had a wonderful time. An amazing living space and kitchen with dining table to seat a party of 22! The Grand Piano was a fantastic surprise and the overall vibe of the home is vibrant and cozy! Beautiful furnishings and views from the back deck. I had a lovely walk down the hill to the bay...just one highlight of the week. I definitely would go again...and again! Thanks to the owner for sharing her home with others!
Pam

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jppadgett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is my fourth visit to Melissa Thornton's Bold Colorful Life Inn and I look forward to returning. So beautifully appointed inside and out, the Inn allows me a carefree weekend in a striking natural setting. Melissa could not be more welcoming and accommodating. The farmhouse kitchen has everything needed and the great room has a library and view to the Back River that simply does not stop being interesting. Nearby Boothbay Harbor has good restaurants and cute shops right on the water and the Botanical Garden gives a different view every year. I highly recommend staying here - and bring your family because there is room for all.

Room Tip: Each room in the farmhouse has a different color scheme so choose your favorite color. The views ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

I came here with college friends for a weekend mini-reunion. (The owner Melissa Thornton went to the same college.) The property has an enchanting view of a tidal river and picturesque landscaping and paths. I stayed with my friends in the renovated Cape – the rooms there were charming and cozy and my bed was very comfortable, but other than sleeping, we didn't spend much time there.

In fact, we didn't spend all that much time on the property. Melissa, who puts the E in enthusiasm, organized a host of things to do, including visits to the Farnsworth Art Museum, the Coastal Maine Botanic Gardens, Camden, Boothbay Harbor, a local outdoor crafts fair, local restaurants, and more.

Our college group shared a fantastic breakfast with French toast and omelets and fruit – the dining room table is actually an old barn door shellacked to an impressive gleam, one of many unusual touches that make the place colorful. The library, with a large wall of a window facing the river, is sky-high with books.

If you'd like to stay at an "away-from-it-all" place that isn't far from a boatload of activities (kayaking included), Bold Colorful LIfe is a great choice.

Room Tip: Though I didn't stay in the Farmhouse, the Amethyst Room there has a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynF_02155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

The Bold Colorful Life Inn was the perfect getaway spot for a reunion with friends. The Inn and surrounding property served both as a peaceful escape from the throngs enjoying the New England Fall colours, and a jumping off spot for a variety of sightseeing adventures including galleries, shopping, hiking, delicious seafood and more. Melissa is an enthusiastic host who knows the area well, and made great recommendations for activities. The accommodations at The Cape are charming, cosy, clean and self-contained. The bed was firm and comfortable, each bedroom has its own bathroom, and the kitchen is fully equipped.
I only wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

The serenity and beauty of this farmhouse retreat was matched only by the stunning views of the river. Rooms and common areas were immaculate, amenities were top notch and the innkeeper gave us a warm welcome and was great at recommending restaurants, hikes and places to visit in the area. The porch and gathering room were wonderful places to relax, and the big farmhouse table was the scene of many lively conversations. Perfect retreat for a family or friends reunion!

Room Tip: A room with a view of the river is great, but you can also enjoy the view from the gathering room an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 333CDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay
4.9 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
4.5 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
2.0 mi away
White Anchor Inn
White Anchor Inn
#4 of 7 in Boothbay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bold Colorful Life Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bold Colorful Life Estate

Property: Bold Colorful Life Estate
Address: 802 Back River Rd, Boothbay, ME 04537-4236
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six miles from the bustle of Boothbay Harbor is a peaceful 15 acre river-front retreat, set among rolling lawns, stone walls, apple orchards and richly colored perennial gardens. The estate consists of four New England-style buildings: the farmhouse and historic barn is one vacation rental; a renovated 1800s Antique Cape is the other; a charming garden shed and a 1700s barn-which sometimes houses the Bold Colorful Life Gallery-complete the compound. The Farmhouse combines new convenience with historical flavor, with exterior porches, dormers and gardens and five bedrooms with five private baths; the 1800s fully renovated Cape offers five bedrooms with four private baths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bold Colorful Life Estate Boothbay, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing