We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reunion in Maine”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boothbay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bold Colorful Life Estate
Ranked #4 of 7 Boothbay B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The serenity and beauty of this farmhouse retreat was matched only by the stunning views of the river. Rooms and common areas were immaculate, amenities were top notch and the innkeeper gave us a warm welcome and was great at recommending restaurants, hikes and places to visit in the area. The porch and gathering room were wonderful places to relax, and the big farmhouse table was the scene of many lively conversations. Perfect retreat for a family or friends reunion!

Room Tip: A room with a view of the river is great, but you can also enjoy the view from the gathering room an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 333CDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 56 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

This retreat center is not on the beaten track for Boothbay. If you want to be on top of the town this is not for you. It is a comfortable drive to the town of Boothbay. The thing that amazed us the most was IT IS DARK. We haven't stayed at a place where the nights were so dark. Has to do with it not having much ambient light. With 15+ acres of beautifully landscaped property with waterfront access, it was great. Sunsets were beautiful as was the one sunrise we got up to see. This is a unique inn as it really is more of a retreat center than your typical B&B. There are meditation areas set up on the property, a wonderful fire pit and great strolling trails.
Melissa was a great hostess and you can tell she loves her property and what she is doing with it. Be aware that this property will forever be under development. Melissa will never stop changing things.

Room Tip: The rooms are named for different colors, hence the name of the Inn. We liked the lavendar room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rabbit851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoldColorLife, Owner at Bold Colorful Life Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

What a pleasure to have this California couple add the Bold Colorful Life Estate to their 3 week vacation itinerary. We felt honored to join The Inn on Golden Pond as one of their destination sites...and delighted to spend 5 mornings learning about their lives on the other side of the country...and sharing local sites where they might have fun wandering and experiencing. Each night, they came back for tea and cookies and shared their day's events. We got to know their 'children'....through gorgeous pictures of their many cats. They truly became a warm part of the growing Bold Colorful Life family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The Inn has dangerous stairs and slippery decks. No "no skid" cover on the decks to the recycling bins. There is a mat but it is not covering much. There needs to be a trail with non slip tar paper or cover. We were told to recycle and I did my part when I fell and was injured. I was lucky, my artificial hip was not damaged. I only needed stitches to my elbow. No bones broken. The owner told me she was so sorry I got hurt and pointed out at the same time that our group had signed a disclaimer.She was not liable and obviously unwilling to share in the $ 900+ we had to pay. When I told her that I was lucky that I did not damage my artificial hip, she told me her place was "not intended for handicapped people". The second house has very steep stairs and ropes as railings. Add rain to the wooden planks and even people that are not "handicapped can slip." The place is really not suited for commercial use as an inn.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank bcarter101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoldColorLife, Owner at Bold Colorful Life Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

This was a really amazing group....'plein air' painters from the South East region of the US.....well over 20 in number and many stayed here at the Bold Colorful Life Estate vacation rental. It was an honor to have them and to watch them as they painted the estate and the peninsula. These professional artists painted every day, despite the fact that 6 of the 7 days were pouring rain, often with high winds.
B, was, I think the only non-painter/spouse in the group and we made sure she had access to the list of activities in the area that would be fun and interesting....tough to do in the pouring rain. The decks and porches did get very wet...and the three non-slip mats on the Cape porch and one on the stairs also got wet. We were exceedingly sorry when we got B's voicemail that she had fallen...and immediately expressed our apology and concern. (We haven't had a guest fall anywhere on the estate in the 5 years that we have been open for guests.) By the time I attended the artist's show, to see what all these gifted artists had created, B was angry and threatening legal action. After a bit of gentle consolation, I did remind her that our agreement was that the group cover any untoward events. We didn't hear another word from her, until this review. We appreciate the feedback and are currently looking into adding more non-slip mats on the decks and stairs, without having this visually charming place look too much like a gymnasium....so we'll be ready should we have another week of 'hurricane-like downpours'.
Thanks for coming, Plein Air Painters of the Southeast, and do come back again. You make the site even more bold and colorful!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Get ready to experience a relaxing time at Bold Colorful Life Inn, that is if that's what you want. The Inn is nestled in a wooded area just hovering above the river. There are so many wonderful reasons to stay a weekend or longer, it just depends on what you're up for. There is adventure waiting for anyone who actively enjoys kayaking, swimming or just enjoying the sounds of water lapping along the shore. Melissa is an extraordinary host who will help guide you with the many choices of activites in the area if you desire. I found the Inn to be exactly what I needed and I will definitely return again!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be lovely to stay in, most have lovely views and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I just returned from my 4th Fall weekend at the Bold Colorful Life Inn. Every year we see changes and upgrades that enhance our experience and the beauty of the property. The walks to the water are fabulous, but even just sitting in the Great Room or on the porch enjoying the sunset is incredibly relaxing and beautiful. It is truly a place to commune with nature (and your friends!). Imagine seeing a bald eagle soaring low over the yard while you are sitting and enjoying a cup of coffee! Amazing. Melissa is a wonderful hostess and the Bold Colorful Inn is a real find. Can't wait until next year!

Room Tip: If you want a gorgeous view of the water and sunset from your room, choose "amethyst." Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoldColorLife, Owner at Bold Colorful Life Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

This is the MOST delightful group of women, who have visited this property and the Boothbay area 4 times now...annually since we opened the estate as a vacation rental. They have truly become part of the Bold Colorful Life family.
They seem to strike a perfect balance between enjoying the Farmhouse itself---making meals and sharing them around the big barn-door dining room table, chatting together in the Great Room, gathering in the Media Room to watch movies---and enjoying the estate---wandering the grounds, inspecting what's new in the gardens or the benches or hammocks, walking around the pond or down to the riverfront and back. They also drive out to explore the peninsula, hike the Boothbay Region Land Trust preserves, shop in the Harbor and try out new restaurants each time they come. They are a joy to have on site and I look forward to seeing them again, year after year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

While the land surrounding the property is lovely, and the Boothbay area is worth a trip, there are a few things that guests considering this property should be aware of:

General cleanliness: We were surprised to find mud, along with a dead spider, in one of the mixing bowls, many dirty dishes in the cabinets, a grimy drain board, and an old and noisy dishwasher that runs for hours.

Dust: Also, you might caution future guests that there is a tremendous amount of dust in the home; and that those prone to asthma or allergies might want to stay elsewhere.

Unusual Rules: In the ten years that we have been renting vacation homes across the United States, we have never been asked to wash, dry and fold our linens before. Guests should get started on laundry preparation as soon as possible on the day of departure because the dryer doesn't work well. We were likewise not expecting a washing machine that leaves rust stains on clothing, even when you use cold water.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elicia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoldColorLife, Owner at Bold Colorful Life Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

This review is quite a surprise, particularly the low service marks. It was a nice pair of sisters, with husbands and children. We exchanged many emails along the way....giving information about hiking and kayaking spots, groceries, area activities, etc. The contact sister (E) was unable to arrive on time, due to an injury sustained at home before she traveled. We waited 2 hours past our arranged check-in time for the arrival of the second sister (N) and gave a full orientation tour, which was partially repeated when E arrived the next day. We showed E the hammocks and benches where she could rest her injured ankle while her group wandered the grounds. We gave them our discount on their Botanical Garden tickets, checking to be sure there were wheelchairs available there when they arrived. And we offered to take the group picture before their departure. After they left, the staff spent two hours completing their wash, for which we only charged them half the paid amount ($25). Side comment: the dishwasher is only 4 years old and both of the clothes washing/drying machines worked perfectly, both before E's arrival and when the staff used them after she left.
Our mission is to provide comfortable lodging, with friendly service, on a gorgeous site, for reasonable fees, so that travelers of all budgets can stay and enjoy this incomparably beautiful Maine coast. We don't tack on a cleaning fee or a linens fee to your contract. Washing the laundry is an option. Our travelers can do it themselves, to save money, or can leave it for the staff at $25 per hour. Either is fine with us.
The cleaning staff spends the 4 hours between rental groups deep-cleaning each building. There are literally hundreds of dishes and bowls, so it is certainly possible that one was unused and had a dead bug in it, but the house is always clean of dust. We do agree on one point...the Cape is an historic building, with old timbers, and is not right for anyone with extreme asthma. We have a new building, the Farmhouse, on the same waterfront 15 acres, for those with a need for an environment of new construction.
Please check us out to see more pictures of the site by going to the Bold Colorful Life website....boldcolorlife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

What a gem of a property we found! Farmhouse was beautiful inside and out! Fully stocked with everything you need and more! The walk down to the inlet was amazing and we spent a lot of time down there. Melissa was a delight to work with and so helpful with everything! we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boothbay hotels
7.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#3 of 3 in East Boothbay
48 reviews
2.1 mi away
White Anchor Inn
White Anchor Inn
#5 of 7 in Boothbay
61 reviews
5.3 mi away
Five Gables Inn
Five Gables Inn
#1 of 3 in East Boothbay
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bold Colorful Life Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bold Colorful Life Estate

Address: 802 Back River Rd, Boothbay, ME 04537-4236
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay
Price Range: $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six miles from the bustle of Boothbay Harbor is a peaceful 15 acre river-front retreat, set among rolling lawns, stone walls, apple orchards and richly colored perennial gardens. The estate consists of four New England-style buildings: the farmhouse and historic barn is one vacation rental; a renovated 1800s Antique Cape is the other; a charming garden shed and a 1700s barn-which sometimes houses the Bold Colorful Life Gallery-complete the compound. The Farmhouse combines new convenience with historical flavor, with exterior porches, dormers and gardens and five bedrooms with five private baths; the 1800s fully renovated Cape offers five bedrooms with four private baths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bold Colorful Life Estate Boothbay, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing