We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BETTER AND BETTER!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boothbay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bold Colorful Life Estate
Ranked #3 of 7 Boothbay B&B and Inns
Weston, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
“BETTER AND BETTER!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I just returned from my 4th Fall weekend at the Bold Colorful Life Inn. Every year we see changes and upgrades that enhance our experience and the beauty of the property. The walks to the water are fabulous, but even just sitting in the Great Room or on the porch enjoying the sunset is incredibly relaxing and beautiful. It is truly a place to commune with nature (and your friends!). Imagine seeing a bald eagle soaring low over the yard while you are sitting and enjoying a cup of coffee! Amazing. Melissa is a wonderful hostess and the Bold Colorful Inn is a real find. Can't wait until next year!

Room Tip: If you want a gorgeous view of the water and sunset from your room, choose "amethyst." Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoldColorLife, Owner at Bold Colorful Life Estate, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
This is the MOST delightful group of women, who have visited this property and the Boothbay area 4 times now...annually since we opened the estate as a vacation rental. They have truly become part of the Bold Colorful Life family.
They seem to strike a perfect balance between enjoying the Farmhouse itself---making meals and sharing them around the big barn-door dining room table, chatting together in the Great Room, gathering in the Media Room to watch movies---and enjoying the estate---wandering the grounds, inspecting what's new in the gardens or the benches or hammocks, walking around the pond or down to the riverfront and back. They also drive out to explore the peninsula, hike the Boothbay Region Land Trust preserves, shop in the Harbor and try out new restaurants each time they come. They are a joy to have on site and I look forward to seeing them again, year after year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    3
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
3
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

While the land surrounding the property is lovely, and the Boothbay area is worth a trip, there are a few things that guests considering this property should be aware of:

General cleanliness: We were surprised to find mud, along with a dead spider, in one of the mixing bowls, many dirty dishes in the cabinets, a grimy drain board, and an old and noisy dishwasher that runs for hours.

Dust: Also, you might caution future guests that there is a tremendous amount of dust in the home; and that those prone to asthma or allergies might want to stay elsewhere.

Unusual Rules: In the ten years that we have been renting vacation homes across the United States, we have never been asked to wash, dry and fold our linens before. Guests should get started on laundry preparation as soon as possible on the day of departure because the dryer doesn't work well. We were likewise not expecting a washing machine that leaves rust stains on clothing, even when you use cold water.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elicia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoldColorLife, Owner at Bold Colorful Life Estate, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
This review is quite a surprise, particularly the low service marks. It was a nice pair of sisters, with husbands and children. We exchanged many emails along the way....giving information about hiking and kayaking spots, groceries, area activities, etc. The contact sister (E) was unable to arrive on time, due to an injury sustained at home before she traveled. We waited 2 hours past our arranged check-in time for the arrival of the second sister (N) and gave a full orientation tour, which was partially repeated when E arrived the next day. We showed E the hammocks and benches where she could rest her injured ankle while her group wandered the grounds. We gave them our discount on their Botanical Garden tickets, checking to be sure there were wheelchairs available there when they arrived. And we offered to take the group picture before their departure. After they left, the staff spent two hours completing their wash, for which we only charged them half the paid amount ($25). Side comment: the dishwasher is only 4 years old and both of the clothes washing/drying machines worked perfectly, both before E's arrival and when the staff used them after she left.
Our mission is to provide comfortable lodging, with friendly service, on a gorgeous site, for reasonable fees, so that travelers of all budgets can stay and enjoy this incomparably beautiful Maine coast. We don't tack on a cleaning fee or a linens fee to your contract. Washing the laundry is an option. Our travelers can do it themselves, to save money, or can leave it for the staff at $25 per hour. Either is fine with us.
The cleaning staff spends the 4 hours between rental groups deep-cleaning each building. There are literally hundreds of dishes and bowls, so it is certainly possible that one was unused and had a dead bug in it, but the house is always clean of dust. We do agree on one point...the Cape is an historic building, with old timbers, and is not right for anyone with extreme asthma. We have a new building, the Farmhouse, on the same waterfront 15 acres, for those with a need for an environment of new construction.
Please check us out to see more pictures of the site by going to the Bold Colorful Life website....boldcolorlife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Delaware, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

What a gem of a property we found! Farmhouse was beautiful inside and out! Fully stocked with everything you need and more! The walk down to the inlet was amazing and we spent a lot of time down there. Melissa was a delight to work with and so helpful with everything! we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I started planning a large family reunion in Maine when we found out that a family wedding was being planned in Camden. Everyone would be travelling to Maine so why not all come a week early and spend quality time together? I searched literally for weeks to find a location that could accommodate such a large group (we had a lot of coming and going but several nights during the week we occupied every bedroom with 18 people total) and also such a large age range (from 9 months old to 91 years old!!) AND meet our generally high standards. After finding Bold Colorful Life and communicating with Melissa, the owner, I knew this was the place. It's location was ideal for so many reasons - it was close enough to Portland to be convenient for everyone who flew in and also just about an hour away from the wedding site which made all the travelling we were doing very easy.

On top of the physical location the property is IDEAL in every sense. Where else can you get 9 bedrooms all with en suite bathrooms (including a handicap accessible bedroom/bathroom that enabled 4 generations to spend time together)? That was a major plus for us. Then the kitchens are so well stocked - everything we needed to cook dinner and dessert was on hand - including a kitchen aid mixer! The table in the farmhouse was perfect for our group. It easily sat 18 around it and created a lively and fun atmosphere for us the entire week. We all agreed that the colorful bedrooms were just plain fun. It was wonderful that the linens were provided - so many times you need to bring your own and this was so much easier! Everything down to the water pressure in the bathrooms to beautiful flowers on the property to the fun instruments in the gathering room to the local hiking and shopping options made this a wonderful rental.

The owner is also onsite which worked out well because she went out of her way to give us space and privacy but was also right there if we had any questions. Melissa was a great communicator - before, during and after our stay - and we were grateful for that.

Overall this was one of the best family vacations we have had and a large part of that is because this property was so well suited to large groups. Thank you Melissa!

Room Tip: The rooms are all very unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zachej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoldColorLife, Owner at Bold Colorful Life Estate, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
This must be the best-organized group ever to visit this vacation site. Jes was in charge of an ever-changing large group of beloved family members (ages 9 mos to 91 years, who arrived from NINE different states, with endlessly varied interests) and was a wizard at keeping everyone happy, on track, on time and having fun doing what they wanted to do with their vacation time…it was truly amazing to see and hear about!
This group had one wedding and 5 birthdays during their visit to Maine…all orchestrated and themed and deeply enjoyed by all. Jessica’s husband, Carter actually fabricated his own miniature brass cannon, brought it along and set it off in honor of the various events. Awesome.
And they all enjoyed the other ‘usual’ events on the Boothbay peninsula as well: swimming and boating on our riverfront, enjoying the gardens and paths and pond here on site, wandering abroad to the Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens and the local shops and galleries and restaurants.
When all the babies and children and grown-ups were packed up and driven off to Camden to the wedding on Saturday, it became awfully quiet around here…a great energy went with them…. and we were VERY sorry to see this lively and loving group head down the road…but we’re talking about a return visit…and I’m SO looking forward to that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was our first time renting a house for our family summer getaway and it met all our expectations. It was charming, warm, and cozy. Every bedroom was pleasant and colorful and each had an adjoining bathroom which was wonderful. The kitchen was great for the many meals we put together. We loved the deck. The grounds were lovely to walk around and Melissa is such a great hostess. Thanks Melissa for making our Maine vacation so memorable!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwhowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoldColorLife, Owner at Bold Colorful Life Estate, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Fantastic is the right word...this was a beautiful family, inside and out. They arrived on the site, filled with anticipation and appreciation. The whole property lit up. Having been in the area many times before, they needed little guidance in finding adventures and they went out on excursions throughout the peninsula and beyond...hiking and wandering, shopping and museum-hopping...even shark hunting with great success. Every day was greeted with enthusiasm and it was a pure delight to have them here....we're already talking about their return...possibly with a bigger group, for the bigger building. Can't wait!! Warmest of wishes, Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The farm house is a great place to stay with a large group like we had. It is spacious clean and comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped if you want to eat in. The location is nice only a few minutes to downtown Booth Bay. The property overlooks a Tidal river and is quite beautiful and quiet Melissa a very nice and informative as well. Other than a small problem with the wireless connection everything was great. I would highly recommend the farmhouse if you are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RJP159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoldColorLife, Owner at Bold Colorful Life Estate, responded to this review, September 6, 2015
What a wonderful group…every member of this large party was friendly, interesting, beautifully connected with the others…and clearly enjoyed being here and attending the wedding that brought them all together. The organization of this group was superb…together they shared the completion of the final wedding details…right down to building the glorious multi-level white-with-blueberry wedding cake in the Farmhouse kitchen. And out again they went, the day after the wedding, to explore and enjoy the Boothbay peninsula. We hope they return again and again…it’s the kind of group that we love to host.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This house, although built in 2008, has fallen on hard times. So dirty were the dishware, pots, pans, etc. that we washed what we could and bought what we needed. The appliances, equally dirty, were in disrepair, one dangerously so. The microwave, circa 1995, caused an electrical fire. But for the quick thinking of one in our group, it might have caused a great deal of damage. As it was, the fire department was dispatched and the volunteers explained that they all knew the way; having been called to the house several times this year.

Even though our group had very tired babies, upon arrival the owner insisted on explaining the house rules to all of us; not for our convenience but for hers. It was only at that point that we learned that she too lived in this home in 'private' quarters' separated by a partial wall. House rules were less than hospitable: if you washed excessively (?) (this was not referring to just your own clothes, you were given one set of linen and one towel each. If you washed these more than once, you were charged). The water contained so much rust that you had to wash everything in cold. That would have been fine if it was your own clothing but I think that the bedding and towels that strangers have to share from visit to visit should be washed in hot water. If you used extra utilities (?) you were subject to extra charges. You were not to touch any of the musical instruments in the library (so why were they there?).

The air conditioning although claimed as an amenity had an extra charge that would have been reasonable if it had meant central air but it meant each window unit at that rate. The house was a hot box with no cross ventilation because many doors had no screens and large portions of the doors and windows did not open. Imagine a vacation in 90 plus degree weather where you can't open doors unless you want to be eaten alive by mosquitoes? Fun, huh? (unseasonably hot, no Maine locals tell us that this their typical weather during the last five years)

What came next can only be described as the vacation for down under (and I don't mean Australia). The environment became so hostile, (remember, she lived in the house with us) that it became impossible to stay. I can only conclude that this hostility stemmed from our family very vocal conversations about the deplorable conditions of the house and contents. I know our private conversations were overheard (we caught her in the act more than once). She even provided creepy commentary on our children in her emails!

We left this unfortunate establishment 3 days before our pre-paid reservation called for not just because of the misrepresentations on the part of the owner as to the amenities and condition of her home but because of her unrelenting harassment via email.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Welshdenbylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoldColorLife, Owner at Bold Colorful Life Estate, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Year after year, interacting with rental guests has been a pure delight. Time after time, we make warm connections that continue even after the visit--see reviews online & on our own site, boldcolorlife. We learn & improve the site with feedback from guests. We believe that ‘strong fences make good neighbors’-that clear understandings make for harmony & we are dedicated to our guests’ visits being positive & memorable. Our mission/policies are stated in our Policies & Info manuals, sent to every rental group at least 4 weeks prior to their arrival, available on each kitchen island & posted on our website under POLICIES. It sets a collaborative tone.
This is our only negative review in 5 years. Here are the FEW TRUE statements from this review: YES, there are fees for exceeding the building guest maximum. YES, there are rental fees for a.c.units, which cover extra utilities. YES, the owner does have a private apartment onsite, to manage the property & answer questions, but the ONLY shared interior space is the laundry, where the large machines are used by guests & staff alike. Your vacation rental living space is private. YES, our King bed can be made up as Twins, if you choose. On our website, there are literally hundreds of photos of the site & each room in each building, with lots of descriptions to help you choose. The photos show the lawns & gardens from all angles, in all seasons. We even have aerial photos for you to enjoy. NO, the fire department called the microwave fire a ‘cooking error’-the cleaning staff test each microwave each week...and the grill picture was taken after this group had used it. Guests are WELCOME to use the musical instruments, assuming they are used with knowledge and care.
Here's where the trouble started: this group had clearly NOT read the Policies & Info manual & perhaps thought no one would be on site to notice that they had brought 4 extra people over the building max. When kindly asked to cover the fees for the unexpected guests, their texting became hostile & threatening &, despite our courteous responses, they left the site after 6 days, leaving the building & linens unclean. Yes, there was misrepresentation….but not on the part of the property owners. There certainly was hostility, but not by the owner or staff...our interactions were patient and courteous. Wishing them well, we are all the more grateful that the large majority of our guests are kind, appreciative & delightful to have on site. Do see the rest of our reviews to validate this statement.
And please do check out this property & come stay with us on the lovely & fascinating Boothbay peninsula. We’d be delighted to have you & we WILL ask you, smiling, to be sure to read the Policies & Info manual before you arrive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay
4.9 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
4.5 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
5.3 mi away
Five Gables Inn
Five Gables Inn
#2 of 3 in East Boothbay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bold Colorful Life Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bold Colorful Life Estate

Property: Bold Colorful Life Estate
Address: 802 Back River Rd, Boothbay, ME 04537-4236
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six miles from the bustle of Boothbay Harbor is a peaceful 15 acre river-front retreat, set among rolling lawns, stone walls, apple orchards and richly colored perennial gardens. The estate consists of four New England-style buildings: the farmhouse and historic barn is one vacation rental; a renovated 1800s Antique Cape is the other; a charming garden shed and a 1700s barn-which sometimes houses the Bold Colorful Life Gallery-complete the compound. The Farmhouse combines new convenience with historical flavor, with exterior porches, dormers and gardens and five bedrooms with five private baths; the 1800s fully renovated Cape offers five bedrooms with four private baths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bold Colorful Life Estate Boothbay, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing