We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many Thanks”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boothbay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bold Colorful Life Estate
Ranked #4 of 7 Boothbay B&B and Inns
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
“Many Thanks”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

August 24, 2012

Dear Melissa,
How can we begin to thank you for the most wonderful vacation we've had in a long time? It was exactly what we needed to relax and remember how life should be lived. We love the little house, and really enjoyed cooking and sharing meals outside. The views are spectacular! It was most important for me to spend time with my sons, swimming, boating and just sitting on the hammock and talking before they are off to their busy lives. These days have reminded me of the summers I spent as a child, my mother playing with us, my grandmother baking cookies or bread. What lovely memories. Thank you and much love to you for your generosity of spirit.
Karen, Mike, David and Jake, Mt. Airy, Maryland

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    3
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
4
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, VT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My fiancee (now husband!) and I, along with our families, rented both the farmhouse and cape house on this property for a week in early September. At the end of the week, we had a small wedding in the back yard, overlooking the beautiful Back River. We simply could not have asked for a better setting for our wedding!! The property is absolutely lovely, and the view of the Back River from the farmhouse is breathtaking. The houses are bold, colorful, and beautiful, as is the proprietor, Melissa! With 9 bedrooms between the two houses (5 in the farmhouse and 4 in the cape), each with a private bathroom, this place would be perfect for any large group! Finally, the location of this property is perfect- close enough to Boothbay Harbor to easily pop into town for shopping or dinner, but far enough out of town to get away from the hubbub and enjoy some peace and quiet!

Melissa is warm and welcoming, and makes you feel like family from the moment you arrive. What a beautiful place for a vacation, and a wonderful way to start our married life! Thanks Melissa!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kelli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoldColorLife, Owner at Bold Colorful Life Estate, responded to this review, September 6, 2015
This was an awe-inspiring family. They rented the estate for a week, to enjoy a shared vacation, followed by a love-filled wedding. The bride and groom's families arrived early and spent the week enjoying the site...swimming and paddling in the cove...biking and running on the back roads...exploring the Boothbay peninsula...visiting the world-famous Botanical gardens and planning the final details of the intimate wedding....such harmony and concerted organization! As the date grew near, the preparation for the wedding was a community event....everyone pitched in and helped, using their special areas of knowledge...setting up the tent and the tables, arranging the gorgeous flowers in the bride's colors--orange and yellow and purple...preparing the appetizers...organizing the caterers and musicians and officiant. Then it was time for the devoted father to walk his beautiful daughter down the slope to the pond, and into her husband's arms... an amazing success...an overwhelming vision of family love and loyalty...a truly memorable event for everyone who was involved... Thanks for choosing us, Kelli and John!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Another great special birthday girl's weekend away! We enjoyed our second stay here as much as our first. Bringing two extra friends with us proved to them everything about your place was " Bold and Beautiful". Again, enjoying breakfast and late afternoon with our wine. This is a perfect place for 8 women to have beautiful bedrooms and bathrooms to get ready! Thanks again for making it a second special memory!!
The girls from Mass

Room Tip: All the bedrooms were wonderful with own bathroom. It was nice to have a handicap bathroom on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryjane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoldColorLife, Owner at Bold Colorful Life Estate, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
This is just the DEAREST group of women....this is their second Birthday Reunion visit here at the Bold Colorful Life Estate and Retreat Center....this time with THREE sets of sisters! Each time they come, they light up the place with their deep friendship, great senses of humor, beautiful birthday traditions and individual response to the peninsula....one gal is amazing with how much she knows about birds....another is musical...a third full of dramatic enthusiasm....another tuned in to all the shops and galleries in the area....I could go on for days. Each time they come, they find new adventures to pursue. It's a joy to have them visit. Do come again and again, Girls from Mass !! Fondly, Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay
4.5 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
527 reviews
4.9 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
359 reviews
5.3 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
354 reviews
2.0 mi away
White Anchor Inn
White Anchor Inn
#5 of 7 in Boothbay
56 reviews
6.7 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bold Colorful Life Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bold Colorful Life Estate

Property: Bold Colorful Life Estate
Address: 802 Back River Rd, Boothbay, ME 04537-4236
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six miles from the bustle of Boothbay Harbor is a peaceful 15 acre river-front retreat, set among rolling lawns, stone walls, apple orchards and richly colored perennial gardens. The estate consists of four New England-style buildings: the farmhouse and historic barn is one vacation rental; a renovated 1800s Antique Cape is the other; a charming garden shed and a 1700s barn-which sometimes houses the Bold Colorful Life Gallery-complete the compound. The Farmhouse combines new convenience with historical flavor, with exterior porches, dormers and gardens and five bedrooms with five private baths; the 1800s fully renovated Cape offers five bedrooms with four private baths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bold Colorful Life Estate Boothbay, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing