We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than a train museum.”

Boothbay Railway Village
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Boothbay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We invite you to travel back in time to vintage Vacationland with us. Nowhere else in New England can you ride the rails behind an vintage steam or diesel locomotive surrounded by historic Maine buildings preserved in a recreated village, and view a collection of 60 antique autos. When you visit the Museum you'll learn about how technologies like steam engines and the automobile changed life along the coast of Maine between 1850 and 1950. In addition to the opportunity to ride in a vintage coach behind a vintage locomotive, the Museum also occasionally offers rides in one of our Ford Model Ts. Two of our most popular attractions are the resident goats who delight visitors of all ages with their antics. From a display of hundreds of salt & pepper shakers to a collection of engines that powered everything from small boats to whole factories, there truly is something for everyone in your family here. Throughout the season a wide variety of special events are hosted on the Village Green from vintage ball games to car shows and family festivals. The Museum is also a unique location for wedding ceremonies and receptions.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband is the train lover, so I thought I was going just to keep him company as we visited another ho hum train museum. Boy was I wrong. We spent almost five hours at this incredible museum and I enjoyed every moment of it. It is actually like visiting several museums which only one $10.00 admission -- what a deal!

As the title says it is a village which just happens to have a tourist train going through it. Many of the buildings, including the two railroad stations, are real buildings that have been moved from other locations in Maine. Just as in many villages, you can visit a church, school, town hall, fire station, gas station, hardware store, grocery store, toy store, and several other buildings

There is a huge vehicle display building. We spent two hours looking at old cars, trucks, bicycles and wagons. There is even a 1917 car that they allow you to get into. It was interesting to see how how little equipment these early cars had. To change speeds you had to move a lever with one hand as you used the other hand to guide the steering wheel.

The kids all seemed to love this car as they did the 12 minute train ride which is included in the price of the ticket. You can take the train ride as many times as you want. We had the special treat of watching the engineer put coal and water into the engine.

There was a building telling about the history of Maine's narrow gauge railroads.

We thoroughly enjoyed the two room house with over 600 salt and pepper shakers displayed in one room and a late 19th century kitchen set up in the other room. There was also a 5 room victorian house set up in the early 20th century. We especially enjoyed the well stocked kitchen with its 1929 refrigerator.

We were able to go into most of the trains that were on displayed. I especially like the big caboose that had beds, a kitchen area, and a cupola -- an observation seat that the railroad employee had to climb up into so that he could observe the tracks for any danger signs.

It is a beautiful spot and we visited on a gorgeous fall stay. So we enjoyed just walking around the property. We will definitely return, when we come back to this area.

Thank bcnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRV_Margaret, Manager at Boothbay Railway Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thanks so much for your review. There is so much more than a train ride here and we appreciate you helping share that with others. We hope you'll come back soon. We have some great events planned for 2014 including the 50th Anniversary of Antique Auto Days!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 130 of 200 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

A wonderful collection of days gone by. Definitely worth the visit. For many youngsters, they've never seen a steam engine or some of the old cars. Thanks to all of the volunteers to make it possible.

Thank bandit1DaytonaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRV_Margaret, Manager at Boothbay Railway Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit. We love our volunteers and they help us do everything from operating the train to stuffing envelopes. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

just a wonderful place to visit.went for the Fall Festival and had a great time.The Antique Auto Museum they have is worth the price of admission!! one of the best auto museums ever..

Thank Foobitt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRV_Margaret, Manager at Boothbay Railway Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

We're blushing! Thanks so much for writing a review. We do have a pretty cool collection of cars from the 1902 Rambler to the 1962 Rolls Royce - each one tells a story!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

The admission was a bit steep but it was a nice place. The steam train ride was short but fun. The antique car museum was amazing and the village was interesting. Lots of open space for just hanging out and they allow leashed dogs on the property. Over all it was nice.

1  Thank Mrsevilbeetles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRV_Margaret, Manager at Boothbay Railway Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

We're glad to know you enjoyed your visit. We were a little surprised you thought our admission price was expensive. Our adult fee is just $10 and kids $5. Most other area museums and attractions range in price from $12 - $15 or even more. The Museum is a non-profit organization and annual admission revenues cover less than 1/3 of our actual operating costs (and we're a bunch of very frugal New Englanders!) Perhaps it will help to know that your visit and the revenues from all of our visitors help preserve our collections for future generations. Thanks again for visiting and for posting your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I really like this place and have been visiting it for almost two decades. The two-footer steam train makes a circuit then another one, and on the second one stops at the top. There is a great car museum "A 1902 Rambler to a 1962 Rolls", some really wonderful cars. There is an early 1900s Oldsmobile, Packards, Model Ts including Station Wagons, a 1946 "Jeepster" to serve the post-war civilian market, etc. When you leave the auto museum there is a model railroad display next door, one of those multi-track small village constructions about four feet off the floor (the type you wished you had had in your basement when you were 10!). There are period displays scattered throughout the ground which you walk down and among to get back to the main station. On your way out be sure to stop at the Gift Store, books and gifts for old trains and cars and plenty of items for the children. This year there were "Thomas the Tank Engine" days the ninth through the eleventh of August if I remember correctly, check the website before you come for details. They have "Thomas" at the head or three or four of the two-footer cars with the regular steam locomotive behind (I don't know if it was a 'pusher' or not). They also have extra games and attractions for the children but it is busy and packed so plan to get there early for best results.

1  Thank BaysideConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRV_Margaret, Manager at Boothbay Railway Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thanks so much for posting your review and for being such a loyal visitor. The Museum will turn 50 next year so we know there are lots of stories about two and three generations growing up visiting and watching the Village grow and change. We have some new programs in mind for next summer, we hope you'll be back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boothbay Railway Village also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Boothbay Railway Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing