We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Worth every penny.”

Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blue Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blue Hill
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was by far the best trip I have ever been on. Not only was everyone friendly and very helpful, but the room passed all expectations I could have ever had. I stayed in room three. Not only was the room clean, adorable with great character, but how can you go wrong with a fabulous fire place to cuddle up and fall asleep to. I will be staying at the Barncastle everytime I make the trip up. Thanks to Cory for the suggestion to stay at this fabulous place. The Barncastle made the trip so perfect. I can not wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mainebeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 56 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

Not exactly in the middle of all the activity so the inn is relatively a quiet place. We stayed in Room 5 which had a large king bed, a nice sitting room and large bathroom. The floors could use some work as well as the bathroom fixtures but all in all clean and neat. The resturant food was very good and the portions were large. Several dining areas to choose from depending on your mood. Pub, sunroom and two other dining areas of the house which I suppose were once a dining room and a palor. All in all a good value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frederick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed in room 3 recently (the turret room). It was large, and the fireplace was great. It's kind of fun just picking up a key and going to your room without a lot of formalities (the key holder was also the bartender the afternoon when we checked in). They were very helpful when we asked if the fireplace could be used, they bent over backwards to get wood, kindling and matches).

There were a few things that made this room less than perfect. It is an older building, and there is some wear and tear in the room. Not a big deal, and somewhat part of the charm. The carpet is the flat, industrial kind. Something a little more plush would have been nice. Minor, but a bit of a downer when we were staying there especially for our anniversary. As mentioned in other reviews, there is some road noise. Minor to those of us who have lived in cities and busy suburbs, but more than usual for Maine.

My biggest concern is that it is connected to Room 4. There was a family with two small children next door, and every noise and scream from the children came through clear as day. Luckily, they went to bed early, and by the time we got home from a late dinner, they were asleep. There is the possibility of unwanted noise from that connected room.

Overall, though, it was a lovely building ,and the room certainly had a lot of charm and character.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChicagoRory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We sat in the Pub, which was quaint and charming. We ordered the garlic bread as an appetizer, which was yummy. The menu has lots of delicious looking options, especially for a vegetarian. We opted for the Athenian Pizza, with artichoke hearts and Kalamata olives. The spelt dough was crunchy and chewy at the same time and the pizza tasted like heaven. They had a pretty expansive fancy beer selection and our waitress was very sweet and helpful. This looked like a really cute place to stay, too. We are sad we're only in Blue Hill for a few days because we would definitely come back and try more pizza options!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCB0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

No check in, check out. You feel more like a house guest than a hotel guest. Room 3 is spectacular, huge, period furmiture, sitting area, and working fireplace, and a very nice bath. Two problems - the AC unit is a window unit, and needs to run all the time if the weather is hot at all, and the AC window unit of the next room is noisy enough to be clearly heard. Also, the house is close to the road, so there is road noise, although it is not a busy highway by any means. So, it is not as quiet as I would like. The first floor is a very classy pizza restaurant (excellent pizza) with other good selections and a really classy bar. Lots of people come - the parking lot may be totally full. Live music weekly in the bar - you really need reservations for that. The House has been lovingly restored. There is a nice pool table in back. The barn has not been, but it is not used by guests. There is no longer any view - a shame, since it was spectacular 50 years ago (I used to live there).

Room Tip: Service was so good it was invisible. Room 3 is great. The rooms to the rear are in an attached ou...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skipper090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We needed a place to stay with reasonable food prices at the restaurant...looked around online and found this. The room (#1) was delightful...bright, high-ceilinged, with a newly-remodeled bathroom, and a small sitting area. The food was fine. This seems to be the go-to place for everybody in Blue Hill, and I think it's because of the pizza. There was music (Wednesday) but that stopped at eight o'clock. Our room, though near the road, had an air conditioner that kept the noise out. Okay...it's off-season. I can't speak for those who were here before Labor Day!
The biggest and most important part of our experience was the help we got from Lori in the morning. We needed a mechanic for some emergency brake work. She called her mechanic way down on Naskeag Point in Brooklin.....he took us in immediately and finished the job in one day. Her help was invaluable, and so was his. Made me happy not to be staying in an "anonymous" motel. Bravo, Barncastle! Excellent staff!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SillySquander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The couple we travelled with nearly bought this place 20+ years ago. Clearly, there has been a lot of work done. Though lots remain to be done, it is quite a nice place to stay and eat. Highly recommend one of the three suites on the second floor. They are spacious, nicely appointed and well-maintained. The beds are very comfortable and the bathroom/shower excellent. We had the room directly above the bar, yet did not hear any noise whatsoever from it. Yet, when we opened the door it was noisy. Point is that the rooms are quiet. The restaurant was excellent, and you need to make reservations for dinner when you reserve a room. Diners were coming and going for several hours on a weeknight. Brick oven pizza'a to eclectic fare to mom/pop dinners are all available. Wine selection is excellent too.

Room Tip: Rent one of the three suites. You will not be disappointed and they are a great value.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowAvoiderSalem_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Hill
12.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
18.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
687 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Pentagoet Inn
Pentagoet Inn
#1 of 3 in Castine
552 reviews
6.3 mi away
Wave Walker Bed and Breakfast
15.1 mi away
Bucksport Motor Inn
Bucksport Motor Inn
#1 of 2 in Bucksport
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant

Address: 125 South St, Blue Hill, ME 04614-6112
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Blue Hill
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blue Hill
Price Range: $100 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Barncastle Hotel Blue Hill
Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant Blue Hill, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing