We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to go and Just chill!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The BoatYard Grill

The BoatYard Grill
Ranked #7 of 21 Restaurants in Blue Hill
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: New restaurant. Opened about 3 weeks ago.
United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to go and Just chill!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

I have been a few times and the atmosphere is great. Food was good and drinks were great. Nice spot to get away from it all. Will go again

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 828SHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Where the locals eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We ate here in August, while in the area on business. The restaurant is located in a boat yard and is nothing fancy, but comfortable with a good vibe. By prior arrangement, the owner/chef prepared a locally-caught halibut entree for us that was garlic-free (One of us is allergic to garlic). The fish was absolutely delicious - as good as any one might expect at a top-rated restaurant. The staff was friendly, and the drinks were generous, too. All in all, it was a most enjoyable and memorable experience!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank courcierwilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
main st
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Out of the way and worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Lobster and more was available food for us all ce quickly and there were no complaints. Good down home cooking. Not at all pricey

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jabaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not fancy, but Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We went here for our first meal on our first-ever time in Maine. Was told by friends, when in Maine, you have to have a lobster roll, so thought I might as well start here. I had two more lobster rolls at other places during our week in Maine, but neither of them could match the taste of this one, my first.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank wawona5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Hill
Level Contributor
95 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Three Strikes....You're Out!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

The Boatyard Grill in Blue Hill, Maine has been open for three seasons. Each year they have had problems and made changes to try to improve. This year more of the dining area is roofed and screened and the outdoor cooking pit is gone. The menu is simplified, too, ...but it is still not working.
Three of us went there for dinner on a Wednesday night. The U shaped bar was quite full and about half of the dining area tables had patrons. Our waitress greeted us promptly and took our cocktail order. There was a small but adequate wine and beer selection. The menu consisted of appetizers, salads, a few specialty sandwiches and burgers. Lots of items were listed as "market priced" so we did couldn't know what things cost without asking the waitress. We ordered a summer salad with a lobster salad topping, a burger and fries and mussels as a meal from the appetizer menu. We waited about 20 minutes for our meals which was rather slow but better than in the past.
The food was mediocre. Greens on the summers salad were fresh but the lobster salad had too much mayonaise and was unimpressive. The roll for the burger was stale and the fries were previously frozen. The mussels had way too much bottled minced garlic, were tepid, and came with a huge mealy corn muffin.
Despite the new galvanized tin bucket lighting, screen to keep out the mosquitos, pared down menu and improved service, the Boatyard Grill does not make the cut. There are much better restaurant options in the village of Blue Hill.
Note that the Boatyard is not accepting credit card this year. Cash or check only.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank judi h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The BoatYard Grill also viewed

Blue Hill, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Blue Hill, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Blue Hill, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Blue Hill, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to The BoatYard Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing