We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy @ Holidae!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2007

My fiancee and I took a road trip recently, just driving where ever the breeze took us. We had a "Maine: off the Beaten Path" book we were using as a sort of guide when we blew into Bethel. They listed Holidae House (misspelled "Holiday") as a place to stay. GLAD THEY DID! The Victorian home was charming, the room was charming, our hosts Marcia & Laurence were charming! Laurence served us a fantastic breakfast of blueberry scones, banana bread and our choice (they actually give you a menu!) of french toast & bacon (for me) and eggs sunnyside up and a grilled ham steak for my beau. We left happy, rested, tummys full and laughing for miles at the great stories Laurence shared with us! Stay here, you will be happy you did. Laura & Brian, Manhattan, New York

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauras07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 557 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2007

This is our second visit to Austin's Holidae House. The first was during a weekend in February to ski at Sunday River . We love Bethel and the region and returned for a long weekend in April. Marcia and Laurence are simply the ideal couple to run a beautiful place like this. The room was as comfortable as could be and whenever we ask a question or need anything Marcia is always there with a smile and the answer. Breakfast, cooked to order, is simply exquisite and is topped only by the British accent, smile and droll wit that make Laurence Austin a character to remember.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hamptonite90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2007

As part of a week-long tour of New England covering several states, my son and I spent three nights at Austin's Holidae House. Our rooms were comfortable and superbly decorated, the breakfasts were phenomenal, the atmosphere was restful and homey, and Lawrence and Marcia, the inn-keepers, were gracious hosts, far exceeding our expectations in anticipating out every need. The experience far surpassed any of the other places we stayed on this trip. We intend to recommend Holidae House to anyone we know who may be travelling in this area.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Johnsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2007

We were so happy and comfortable at Holidae House that it was hard to propel ourselves out the door to take advantage of Sunday River's excellent snowmakinng and well-groomed trails.
Our room was beautifully decorated in Victorian style. We peeked into several other rooms and each was unique with its own special touches. The breakfasts, prepared by our very genial host, Lawrence, were fabulous. He even made us light, flaky scones at our request. We also took advantage of the tea, afterdinner drinks, and homemade gingerbread available in the late afternoon and evening in the lovely parlor. A great place to stay.

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank MATraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2007

We have made numerous visits to the Bethel area, and we can say that (Austin's Holidae-House) is the ONLY place to stay. From the Charming Inn with it's Victorian architecture and restored and lovely rooms, down to the Innkeepers (Marcia & Laurence) it is a place like no-other in the area. It is truly our Home Away From Home....From the minute you walk in the front door, down to the delicious, home-made-to-order Breakfast, this couple is most accomodating. You won't believe the home-baked goodies, from scones, breads, etc., to wonderful cookies in the afternoon, they really go over the top to please you. They also have a nice little bar set up for those who would like an after-dinner drink (on the house-of course).
The Inn is in the perfect location, right in the middle of the Main St. in Bethel, close to lots of quaint little shops, as well as fine and casual dining.
We are skiiers, and love to ski at Sunday River, on our last two visits, we brought our grandson who is 5yrs. old, and I can say that he had a great time here, Marcia and Laurence made his visit a fun and happy time, giving him attention as well as some little gifts. They have books and games which we took advantage of, playing checkers or working on a puzzle in the living area.
As you can see, I am glad to write such a positive review, we would not hesitate to highly recommend The Holidae-House to anyone.
We certainly plan on another visit or more before ski-season ends.
Glenice & Michael, Nahant, Ma.

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank GlennyNahant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2007

My husband and I spent a weekend at Laurence & Marcia's Holidae House in January and promptly made return reservations for February! Although many of the other guests were there for the great skiing at Sunday River, we came to get away from the hustle and bustle and to relax. And relax we did, starting with an extremely enjoyable breakfast that includes fresh fruit, freshly baked scones and breads and specials such as blueberry pancakes or quiche.
After a day of siteseeing around the beautiful Maine countryside, we returned to the Holidae House to a plate of freshly baked cookies and tea in the livingroom.
The evenings were spent either chatting with the other guests or quietly reading a book.
We definitely recommend staying at the Holidae House whether you're in the Bethel area for recreation or relaxation. It's extremely clean and beautifully decorated. Laurence & Marcia are the best! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BillandSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2007

My husband and I just got back from a delightful stay at the Holidae House. Laurence and Marcia were gracious and attentive hosts. We loved the attention to detail, including freshly baked cookies awaiting us when we returned from an afternoon of skiing, after dinner liqueurs, and chocolates and bottled water in our room. The breakfasts were scrumptious including freshly made fruit salad, homemade pastries, and made-to-order full breakfast fare (eggs etc.). In addition to being charming hosts, Laurence and Marcia went out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable and memorable. This was the best bed-and-breakfast that we've ever stayed in.

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank Jer&Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
0.3 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
1 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#9 of 16 in Bethel
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#4 of 16 in Bethel
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chapman Inn
Chapman Inn
#8 of 16 in Bethel
190 reviews
19.8 mi away
Top Notch Inn
Top Notch Inn
#1 of 7 in Gorham
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holidae House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holidae House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 85 Main St, PO Box 475, Bethel, ME 04217-4016 (Formerly Holidae House B&B)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range: $146 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holidae House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your soft landing awaits with a restorative stay at the Holidae House Bed & Breakfast located in the center of quaint downtown Bethel, Maine. Fluffy and oh-so-comfortable, the white towels, comforters, sheets and draperies are of posh hotel quality and the embodiment of luxury in contemporary bath, body and bedding amenities. Sublime sleep is achieved complements of comfortable temperature controlled rooms for healthy, happy slumbers. For the ultimate in at-home coziness, the Holidae House B&B is sure to bring you many sweet dreams, timeless memories and a yearning desire to return for more. Comfy mattresses, elegant bed-dressings, beautiful silver tea trays, oriental rugs and carpets invite guests to relax in the well-appointed rooms. Each room has its own private bath, some with showers only and others with full bath tub and shower. Enjoy a delicious, home cooked gourmet breakfast during your stay with us. Start your day off with Jeanette's creations including Cream Cheese Stuffed French Toast with blueberries, strawberries and raspberries, Made From Scratch Blueberry Pancakes, Apple Cinnamon French Toast and others. We use free range organic eggs and maple syrup, both sourced locally. We also pick our own blueberries and apples and use them as long as the supply lasts. Jeanette's fresh baked breads are used in many of our breakfasts. For coffee lovers we grind beans each morning to provide you with the freshest coffee possible, and we even have decaf beans! For tea lovers we offer over 20 Twinings Teas, including black, herbal and green teas. We also have hot chocolate and spiced apple cider packets. A selection of juices is offered including orange, grapefruit and grape. Fresh fruit is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Holidae House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing