We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“English hospitality/outstanding breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
FL
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“English hospitality/outstanding breakfast”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We enjoyed our one night stay in at Holidae House, primarily because of the proprietor and host, Laurence. We didn't have the pleasure of meeting his wife, but he couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. He was very welcoming, and pointed out that there was a variety of complimentary liquors available for after (or before?) dinner drinks, should we like one. (Where else do you see that, today?). There was also an area to make your own tea or coffee at any time, as well.
Our room was nice, and very Victorian, and the bathroom was clean enough that I felt comfortable taking a bath, rather than a shower.
By the front door, they had a notebook with menus from local restaurants available for us to review and select from.
The living room was a nice area to sit and relax or socialize with other guests, just off of the breakfast room.
To us, the best aspect of our stay was the custom-made breakfast made by Laurence. He works very hard to make sure that every guest is served a meal that they will enjoy. I loved when he said "if you wish it, then you shall have it!". It was a very full and complete breakfast. There were apricot ginger scones, which were moist and delicious, to whet our appetites, as well as juice or, in my case, cider. In addition, he also had 1/2 grapefruit prepared for each guest, if they wanted it (and we did!). I also had yogurt as a preface to the main entree. There was homemade blueberry peach jam, as well, for the scones and/or the toast. And, don't miss out on having eggs for breakfast - they are made any way you like, and the eggs are from his own "free range" chickens, which are kept on a farm outside of town. Bacon (delicious!) and or sausage is also served on the side as well as a variety of toasts offered. It absolutely could not have been more lovely.
We got a great deal on the room when we booked by utilizing the phrase "Carpe Diem" - not sure if that works all year round, but it did for us.
Our room and breakfast for 2 came to under $100 for the night, and was more than worth it.
Thank you, Laurence, for your outstanding hospitality and conversation. We certainly enjoyed our stay!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nfall2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    45
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
100
313
34
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
267 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This old colonial house, furnished in the colonial style, is wonderful. Laurence and his wife make you very welcome and there are little touches everywhere that makes you realise they are dedicated to providing accommodation with all the comfort of home. Its a great pity we only stayed one night.

The breakfast was one of the best we have had in many years of traveling around the world. Lots of choice, freshly cooked hot food and as much to eat as you wish. The atmosphere and hosting skills of the owners meant the guests, who all arrived as strangers, were chatting and joking as old friends by the time we left.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
175 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night after reading the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. This place is an eclectic mix styles which may not suit everyone! We stayed in a lovely room with an old-fashioned feel (it even had a painted ceiling!) but the owners are very welcoming and friendly (Lawrence if a fellow Brit).

You can make your own tea and coffee in the lounge area downstairs. There is also a small tray with drinks such as port, sherry or whisky for an after-dinner drink (all free). Lawrence also made fresh chocolate chip cookies which he left out for guests in the lounge (very yummy!).

Our room was large with an en suite bathroom (shower), large wardrobe but no tv. It also has an air conditioning/heating unit. It is located centrally in Bethel and a short walking distance from the restaurants. There is enough parking space although it is tight when the B&B is full. There is a supermarket directly across the road.

My wife didn't sleep too well as she heard what she called 'ghost trains' but what she actually meant was that she heard the trains tooting their horns at 2am as the train tracks are not far from the B&B and echoed around the town. Spooky!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mexicofriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights in a wonderful room with a brilliant breakfast. The owners were charm personified. Bethel itself is a lovely, small spot and this small hotel is just perfect. Every aspect, from the warm welcome to the farewell was just great. The free drinks in the evening, in the lounge were very much appreciated. The verandah was a nice spot to while away an hour or so after a long walk in the spectacular countryside surrounding Bethel.
Brilliant all round.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David499564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodsville, New Hampshire, Usa
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

An excellent overnight stop. Warm, comfortable, welcoming, and a great breakfast. Liked the obliging nature of the proprietor, but had a slight struggle to access the wifi. Did manage to, though, eventually.

Room Tip: We were in Rm 6 and was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Lawrence and Marcia make this charming home a wonderful place to stay in Bethel. This beautifully decorated home has marvelous character and warmth that are surpassed only by it's hosts! They offer a wide selections of teas and even evening nightcaps if you choose. The fantastic and hearty breakfast are made to order. Lawrence makes a fabulous french toast you must try and they serve fresh eggs and homemade jams! They made our three day stay simply delightful and very cozy. We enjoyed visiting with Lawrence and Marcia and getting to know them and the other guests. They made wonderful recommendations where to visit local places and to eat. It's first class English hospitality with genuine warmth that will make you leave with a smile on your face and in your heart- you will be so happy you choose this B&B to stay at!

Room Tip: We had a room on the lower floor in the front of the house. Charming room with a lot of elegant det...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim N Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We chose Austin's Holidae House after reading so many wonderful reviews and we weren't disappointed. This B&B has "old world charm", comfortable and welcoming. The owners were gracious, helpful and accommodating. Our corner room was well appointed, with quality lines and towels. They suggested a local restaurant for dinner, which we very much enjoyed. A complimentary "nightcap" in the living room while chatting with the owner was delightful. Breakfast was delicious; homemade jam, free range eggs, home made cinnamon french toast w/local maple syrup and endless coffee. I would recommend this B&B to anyone wishing to stay at a lovely B&B in the Bethel area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 645RonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
20.1 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
19.3 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
448 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#3 of 15 in Bethel
164 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#8 of 15 in Bethel
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holidae House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holidae House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 85 Main St, PO Box 475, Bethel, ME 04217-4016 (Formerly Holidae House B&B)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holidae House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your soft landing awaits with a restorative stay at the Holidae House Bed & Breakfast located in the center of quaint downtown Bethel, Maine. Fluffy and oh-so-comfortable, the white towels, comforters, sheets and draperies are of posh hotel quality and the embodiment of luxury in contemporary bath, body and bedding amenities. Sublime sleep is achieved complements of comfortable temperature controlled rooms for healthy, happy slumbers. For the ultimate in at-home coziness, the Holidae House B&B is sure to bring you many sweet dreams, timeless memories and a yearning desire to return for more. Comfy mattresses, elegant bed-dressings, beautiful silver tea trays, oriental rugs and carpets invite guests to relax in the well-appointed rooms. Each room has its own private bath, some with showers only and others with full bath tub and shower. Enjoy a delicious, home cooked gourmet breakfast during your stay with us. Start your day off with Jeanette's creations including Cream Cheese Stuffed French Toast with blueberries, strawberries and raspberries, Made From Scratch Blueberry Pancakes, Apple Cinnamon French Toast and others. We use free range organic eggs and maple syrup, both sourced locally. We also pick our own blueberries and apples and use them as long as the supply lasts. Jeanette's fresh baked breads are used in many of our breakfasts. For coffee lovers we grind beans each morning to provide you with the freshest coffee possible, and we even have decaf beans! For tea lovers we offer over 20 Twinings Teas, including black, herbal and green teas. We also have hot chocolate and spiced apple cider packets. A selection of juices is offered including orange, grapefruit and grape. Fresh fruit is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holidae House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing