We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a fantastic experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bethel Inn Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bethel
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a fantastic experience!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My husband and I have been vacationing at the Bethel Inn for approximately 20 years. The time there is always such a pleasure! We have stayed in everything from a single room at the Inn to our time-share weeks at the Millbrook Townhouses. The staff is always accommodating, rooms immaculately clean, and food and service at the two restaurants fantastic. The inn is so cozy and town of Bethel very quaint. We enjoy golfing there in the summer, skiing in the winter, and shopping and dining in the town of Bethel; all within walking distance. I highly recommend the Bethel Inn Resort.

Room Tip: There is a wide variety of choices. We have stayed in almost every type of unit from 1 bed at the I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loriJ659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    86
    42
    31
    15
See reviews for
103
133
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed there over MLK weekend in a studio deluxe w/ kitchenette with my wife and 2 kids (8 & 10 yrs old). I compared prices and amenities with many other hotels and resorts and found the cost very reasonable, especially considering breakfast was included. Breakfast was excellent!!! Loved the omelette station. With my family, accommodations with a pool is a must. The pool was well heated and the kids had a blast. The size and cleanliness of the room was definitely well-above average. Only two complaints - The Walls are Very Thin. We could easily hear the family next door with the small children at 6am. Also, the television in the room was tiny and outdated. Television viewing is not a big part of our vacation plans, however, I do like to watch the news and weather. I had to get right up close to the TV in order to read any of the text. When paying $300+ per night, I would expect more than a 19" 4x3 television. It would be reasonable to expect what others hotels offer at that price. A 32 inch flat screen can be purchased for less than the cost of a single night's stay. Overall, we like it very much and will come back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BethelInn, General Manager at The Bethel Inn Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review and comments about our rates. We continue to believe that value is important to our guests and have striven to keep affordability as one of our key objectives. By this spring, we will have completed renovations on our traditional inn guest rooms, including upgrading bathrooms and room furnishings. This includes larger energy-saving LED screen TV’s which is part of a resort-wide energy efficiency program. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Inn in the near future.

Allen Connors
Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Checked in after a day of skiing at Sunday River with my husband and two kids. Beautiful inn, cute town.
The tavern was warm and inviting offering 1/2 off appetizers and craft beers between 4-6pm. The pub and hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. My kids loved the outdoor heated pool and game-room. Buffet breakfast was delicious and our hotel suite was perfect. We'll definitely be back!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fourpassports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BethelInn, General Manager at The Bethel Inn Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Can’t tell you how much we appreciate your taking the time to provide this warm review. Please let me thank you personally during your next visit.

Allen Connors
Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My wife and I made a last minute decision to go away for one night at the Bethel Inn. I was easily registered and made comfortable on the phone with the front desk. We arrived three hours ahead of check in but our room was ready. We settled in and got the wonderful gas fireplace going and then went right out behind the Inn and cross country skied along the groomed trails on the golf course. Before supper I went for a swim in the outdoor very heated pool. There was no cringing, as you enter the pool from inside the exercise center/lounge and swim out to under the night time sky. Our meal in the dining room was fantastic. I had Roast Duck on ginger mashed butternut squash and it was one of the best meals I've ever had. Certainly the best duck. The dinnerware was beautiful, made in America, and was replicated from the originals of 100 years ago at the Inn. Some originals are hanging on the hallway walls with other interesting memorabilia. The art hanging in the halls was good stuff. There are several "Gibson Girl" drawings and Maine landscapes and seascapes. Downstairs there was a lounge with live music, a pool table and dining tables. There was also a library and game room upstairs. We had hoped to snowshoe on the golf course in the morning but it was raining pretty hard so we swam and used the gym. The grounds crew was working hard to sand the lot and the walks but it was very icy with a half inch crust on the cars. Some people were prepared and had clamp-ons on their shoes. We took baby steps from our building back to the dining room and enjoyed the ample buffet breakfast, once again well accommodated with plenty of help. The people who work here have a great attitude and we felt most welcome during our 24 hour getaway. Stan B.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stanley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BethelInn, General Manager at The Bethel Inn Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and especially your comments on some of the historical art and memorabilia. We celebrated our 100th anniversary last year and have worked with the Bethel Historical Society to display some of the rich history of The Inn and the town of Bethel. We are glad we could accommodate you well in advance of the “official” check-in time and that our efforts to deal with the difficult icing conditions paid off. I will pass along your complements on the roast duck to Robert Bates, our long-time executive chef.

Allen Connors
Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at the Bethel Inn for three nights, arriving on 12/29/13 and departing New Year's Day 2014. Our accommodation was a two bedroom/two bathroom condo down the road from the main inn. The condo was very spacious and clean. It included a full kitchen, gas fireplace, and washer dryer unit. There was plenty of room for the five of us and all of our ski gear. As stated on their website, the WiFi was intermittent; we could access it about 75% of the time. But that was okay since the main reason for our visit was to ski at nearby Sunday River. Our stay included a full breakfast buffet, which was very good - eggs, sausage and bacon, pancakes, waffles, pastries, omelet station, etc. We also purchased discounted lift tickets through the Inn.

Overall, our stay was a good deal for the money we spent. We would have paid about as much for smaller accommodations if we had stayed on the mountain at Sunday River. So it was a trade-off - more space but not ski in/ski out. I should also mention that the staff was friendly and helpful at the Bethel Inn.

Our only major disappointment was the health club/pool. They advertise their pool to be comfortably heated even in sub-zero temperatures. My kids and husband lasted about 5 minutes before they had to get out because they were so cold. It was definitely not heated enough. And when we arrived to swim there were no towels available. I called the main inn to request towels be brought to the health club, but they did not come quick enough! I had to run over to the main inn to get them towels so that they could get out of the water. I did speak with someone about the pool temperature. She was very apologetic that it was too cold and told us she would speak with maintenance about turning up the heat. Unfortunately, we did not have the time during the remainder of our visit to find out if the temperature had actually been adjusted warmer.

In addition, the health club changing rooms are very small and not very well appointed - the women's room has only one shower and one hair dryer (that didn't work). I suppose this would be fine in the warmer months, but my eight year old was shivering after getting out of the pool, had to wait about 15 minutes to get in the shower, and then had to go back outside with wet hair because the hair dryer didn't work. Not ideal, but we're hardy New Englanders, so she dealt with it. I guess I just expected it to be a little nicer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BethelInn, General Manager at The Bethel Inn Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit. It is good to know that the vacation value we provide is appreciated by our guests. As you point out, staying on the mountain is convenient for skiers but there are also advantages to staying at our off-mountain property.

As you can see from other reviews published here, our outdoor year-round pool is very popular with our winter guests and, generally, is heated to the targeted, comfortable 91 degrees. Sometimes a dramatic temperature shift can catch us by surprise and a 30 degree cool-down makes it difficult to heat up the pool quickly. It will eventually get there, but can be somewhat slow in doing so. We apologize for our tardiness in providing more towels quickly and we should have had a couple of spare hair dryers available. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to The Bethel Inn Resort.

Allen Connors
Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We love staying at the Bethel Inn. The food is always great, the people are very friendly, and the Inn itself is charming. All of the rooms are a little different, but all are spacious and clean. We love the fireplaces in the new wing of the Inn. The food in the dining room is elegant and tasty. The tavern is a great option for food and drinks as well, with friendly bartenders and fun drinks. The wifi is a little spotty at times, but usually is very strong in the lobby. There is also a computer for guest use. I highly recommend staying at the Bethel Inn.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BethelInn, General Manager at The Bethel Inn Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about your recent stay at The Bethel Inn Resort. Our 13 buildings spread over 200 acres make for some challenging wifi situations but thank you for noting it is solid and consistent in the public rooms of our Main Inn building.

Allen Connors, Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My wife and two kids (10 and 12) stayed at the Bethel Inn for three nights, departing Christmas Eve 2013. We loved the Inn. The room we stayed in was great - loved the gas fireplace which we used to both warm up and dry out our ski gear. The outdoor heated pool wasn't fancy but the kids loved it. Never overcrowded and often had it to ourselves. We heard that the high season starts right after Christmas and that things got busier then. We ate dinner each night in the pub downstairs - something for everyone. The kids played pool ($1 per game), darts (free) and used the small game room (would have liked a better selection - not a fan a deer shooting games).

We were on the meal plan, and think we roughly broke even on it. We were also on the ski plan but had some trouble there. The resort had no children's passes and Sunday River told us the Inn never got kids tickets. Would have saved a little if we had know this in advance.

One day the weather was bad and two of us did not ski. We had plenty of fun things to do around the Inn (see above), but there was no food to be had. The pub and main dining room did not open for lunch. We had to drive up near the ski resort to find lunch. There were a bunch of other folks looking for lunch at the Inn, but maybe they offer this during high season. not sure

Everyone there was really nice. Skiing was terrific. Trip from Boston was easy. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Our room was in the main lodge, so we did not have to go outside to get to breakfast or dinner. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobsScreenName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BethelInn, General Manager at The Bethel Inn Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
If you were looking for a ski vacation during a relatively quiet time, the pre-Christmas period was a good choice, just a few days before the busy holiday period begins and we start breakfast, lunch and dinner service in our Main Dining rooms and Millbrook Tavern. Your comment about luncheon availability in the pre-Christmas period will be discussed at our next staff meeting. Also, we indeed offer savings on children’s ski passes as part of our ski and stay packages once the season cranks up, but not during your stay. Next time, if you are coming during our slow season, please let us know your ticket needs in advance and we will be happy to take care of them within your package. Thanks for your review and comments!

Allen Connors, Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
20.0 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
18.2 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
0.3 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#4 of 15 in Bethel
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#8 of 15 in Bethel
246 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bethel Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bethel Inn Resort

Property: The Bethel Inn Resort
Address: 21 Broad St, On the Common, P.O. Box 49, Bethel, ME 04217-4007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bethel Inn Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience The Bethel Inn Resort in Bethel, Maine, honored with the 2014 Award of Excellence by TripAdvisor. Just 6 miles from Sunday River Ski Resort, The Inn was recently named "Best of New England" -Top Resorts for Outdoor Sports by New England Travel Magazine. Find guest rooms from traditional Inn rooms to luxury townhomes, many with fireplaces during the winter season. Choose from the comfortable fine dining setting of our Main Dining Room or our casual Millbrook Tavern and Grille with live weekend entertainment. Rela at our health club, featuring a 90° outdoor heated pool, whirlpool, saunas, fitness center and spa services. Plus, enjoy resort activities this summer at our 200 acre resort including our 18 hole, 6,700 yard championship golf course, lake house with canoes & kayaks, tennis, lawn games and more! Sunday River & Mt. Abram Resorts, the Androscoggin River and scenic State Parks are less than 10 minutes away. With an array of professional guide services, world-class fly fishing, canoe/kayak river treks, hiking, ATV mountain adventures, scenic chairlift rides, mountain biking and more just minutes from The Inn. The Bethel Inn Resort is the clear choice for those who love skiing, golf and outdoor recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Bethel Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bethel Hotel Bethel
Bethel Hotel
The Bethel Inn Resort Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing