We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tired and over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bethel Inn Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bethel
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“tired and over priced”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We have spent extensive time in Bethel over the years, and based on reputation we expected the Bethel Inn would be a grand, charming place to stay for a romantic weekend. The hiking in the mountains (Old speck, etc.) was great. The restaurants in Bethel were good. Unfortunately, we were quite disappointed by the room at Bethel Inn. We booked a basic room (over $200 per night). The "queen bed" was actually two twins pushed together and queen sheets. There was a lot paint peeling in the bathroom, and mildew on the curtains. The room was cramped; furnature was decades past needing replacement. I was hoping for "old and charming," but instead we found "old and tired." There are probably better options around.

We mentioned our disappointment with the bed at checkout and we were compensated with a free Sunday newspaper, for what it's worth.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dingiswayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    84
    40
    30
    15
See reviews for
99
127
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Eastham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Just returned today from a four night stay at The Bethel Inn and am ready to go back! My friends and I were greeted by the wonderful and friendly Tonda at the front desk and checked into our townhouse by noon so we could unpack before our first round of golf. Mark and Travis at the pro shop were great as was the entire golf experience. We played 36 holes a day on a beautifully kept course and never had to wait or ever felt rushed. It was truly golf nirvana! After golf we headed to the onsite Millbrook Tavern and Grill and had the best chicken wings and pub fare and great cocktails. The pub has a great atmosphere and again, the staff was as friendly as could be.
The grounds are in excellent condition and everywhere you look there are beautiful flowers and plantings. Sue, the landscaper takes a lot of pride in her work and it shows. Breakfast was included in our package and was delicious. Again, the waitstaff could not have been more attentive or friendly. Our townhouse was right on the 11th hole and we had a fantastic view of the course and the mountains in the background. My friends and I are booking again for next fall and can't wait to get back to The Bethel Inn...

Room Tip: All the rooms face the golf course so you really can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capecodcindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I have resisted the idea of golf lessons for 25 yrs....but after a 2 year downward spiral I decided it couldn't hurt (I hoped). To my pleasant surprise I was paired with a golf instructor who may well be the ONLY one who could have helped me! His personality and expertise and patience are a winning combination. The golf course is beautiful and the school includes all your meals, your room, and unlimited use of the facilities. Everyone was friendly and helpful. I hope with some practice my golf game will be back on track! The Bethel Inn is lucky to have Harry W. Andrews as one of their Golf Pros.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy6413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in a townhouse on the first hole of the golf course. Very clean and handy to the main house and dining room. The breakfst is great and the service excellent. We've been there many times and I'm sorr4y to say that the dinner has gone downhill the past year. When we stayed last the golf was free but it's no longer included. Golf course is good for the intermediate player but not in great condition. All in all it still can't be beat for what you pay.

Room Tip: Go with the condos for a few bucks more
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dthomas420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We go to the Bethel in every summer for a long weekend to play golf. The resort is very well run and all staff is very friendly. If a problem arises it is taken care of immediately. The golf course is in great shape and challenging. There are usually pretty good deals to stay and play golf. The food in both the restaurant and pub is very good and there's usually entertainment on the weekends. Great pool area with a bar too. Would recommend to anyone for a fun getaway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TishyhoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We loved looking out our studio condo window and watching golfers tee off.......others sitting and enjoying the view which is breathtaking by the way.....while others sat under an umbrella outside the tavern watching shuffle board or bean bag toss......everyone looked and seemed so relaxed and content!
The condo itself was very well set up for enjoying our stay......dishwasher, stove, refrigerator, and a comfortable king size bed.......Perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaBellCanandaigua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at there in August. The rooms were clean and the atmosphere was relaxing. There was a wedding party going on under the outdoor tent. We sat at the restaurant outside, listened to the music from the wedding while having a drink.It was right on a golf course. I was totally relaxed. We didn't want the weekend to end. I would love to go back in the winter to do some skiing. I bet it's as beautiful as the pictures they show.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Almonte123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
18.2 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
19.2 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#3 of 15 in Bethel
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#8 of 15 in Bethel
241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 15 in Bethel
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bethel Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bethel Inn Resort

Property: The Bethel Inn Resort
Address: 21 Broad St, On the Common, P.O. Box 49, Bethel, ME 04217-4007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bethel Inn Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience The Bethel Inn Resort in Bethel, Maine, honored with the 2014 Award of Excellence by TripAdvisor. Just 6 miles from Sunday River Ski Resort, The Inn was recently named "Best of New England" -Top Resorts for Outdoor Sports by New England Travel Magazine. Find guest rooms from traditional Inn rooms to luxury townhomes, many with fireplaces during the winter season. Choose from the comfortable fine dining setting of our Main Dining Room or our casual Millbrook Tavern and Grille with live weekend entertainment. Rela at our health club, featuring a 90° outdoor heated pool, whirlpool, saunas, fitness center and spa services. Plus, enjoy resort activities this summer at our 200 acre resort including our 18 hole, 6,700 yard championship golf course, lake house with canoes & kayaks, tennis, lawn games and more! Sunday River & Mt. Abram Resorts, the Androscoggin River and scenic State Parks are less than 10 minutes away. With an array of professional guide services, world-class fly fishing, canoe/kayak river treks, hiking, ATV mountain adventures, scenic chairlift rides, mountain biking and more just minutes from The Inn. The Bethel Inn Resort is the clear choice for those who love skiing, golf and outdoor recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Bethel Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bethel Hotel Bethel
Bethel Hotel
The Bethel Inn Resort Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing