We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars aren't nearly enough!”
Review of Paws Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paws Inn
Ranked #9 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“5 stars aren't nearly enough!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

There's so much to rave about, about Paws Inn, that it's hard to know where to start. First, how is it, purely as a B & B? Our room was very spacious, and there was even a heated mattress pad -- something I've never had before at a B&B. The bathroom had all the amenities you would want. In the kitchen, there was a basket full of goodies -- Famous Amos snack bags, power bars, fruit, and a home-baked coffee cake. By early evening, Carol had baked cookies, and she also gave me a selection of cheeses and crackers and wine. Concerned that my husband, who was working that afternoon/evening, might not arrive in time to go out to dinner, she offered me a shepherd's pie she had in the fridge, and also mentioned there was a casserole in the freezer. (Hubby ended up bringing food in from his gig). In the morning, a terrific breakfast -- assorted juices, fruits, coffee, that homemade coffee cake, and an egg casserole dish. All in all, it was like staying at an old friend's house.

Now for the dog part. I should mention that there were about 6 dogs in residence this weekend. There was absolutely no doggy odor, no dog hair that we could see on any furniture or anywhere. The dogs are free to move around the house wherever they want, but Carol keeps an eye out and separates the "troublemakers," as she calls them, but only to the extent necessary. There's a fenced in area outside where they can play and do their business. You can leave your room door open so your own pet and his/her new friends can go in and out. If they want to get on the bed, Carol is okay with that. Our dog loved the place, and so did we humans. I would go back in a heartbeat. Wish there was a Paws Inn everywhere we travel.

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs, to the left. It was incredibly spacious -- a queen bed, a chair to read in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keppele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Sometimes it is well nigh impossible to find a place that accepts dogs that is also nice for their people. Oh, right there are occasional impersonal motels. Gotta tell you , folks, this place is the real thing. NOT impersonal, open, friendly, loving dogs, reasonable and neat as a pin. Carol is just like an innkeeper ought to be. Yes your dog can be on the bed...just put the pooch blanket(provided) on top of the cover. Yes, your dog can go out in the rain...pooch towel provided, which is also good if Mr or Miss Wonderful makes a 'mistake' in the house.

There are really good restaurants in Bethel which is a charming town. This will be our permanent stop between Carthage NY and Eastport Me. And I suggest you make it a destination. Skiing is good at Sunday River (they make snow) and i imagine there are wonderful hiking trails, too. Or snowshoeing, or cross country.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank April M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Pet friendly does not begin to cover the experience here. Dogs were given lots of room to play and mingle and enjoy treats. For the people, the rooms were well appointed with many carefully considered amenities. The owner and her dog both welcomed us warmly and made our stay special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I visited for six nights with our 10-month-old dog for a mid-winter ski vacation. We wanted a place where we could bring our dog to avoid boarding or locking her in a crate in a hotel room, which is incredibly difficult to find throughout the Northeast. Paws Inn, however, turned out to be the perfect place.

Each morning, we woke up to a great breakfast - blueberry crisp, pumpkin/banana bread, french toast, bacon, egg caseroles, etc. - with a great host. Carolyn offered us everything we could possibly need, from snacks/drinks that are available at all times of the day to hand warmers for our day on the mountain.

When leaving to go skiing for the day, we'd keep the door to our room open to let our dog play with Kip, Carolyn's dog, and one other dog that stayed at the inn for a couple of days. There's also a fenced enclosure in the backyard to allow for bathroom breaks and exercise.

Paws Inn is a very convenient and centralized location for skiers/snowboarders: just 15 minutes to Sunday River, 10 minutes to Mt. Abram and 10 minutes to Carter's Cross-Country Ski Center (and its dog-friendly trails). Also, the town of Bethel - with its restaurants, supermarket, etc. - is just a few minutes down the road.

The Inn itself is wonderfully maintained. We expected some signs of dogs living there (e.g., fur on furniture), but the place was in immaculate shape. Even if you don't have a dog, I'd be more than comfortable suggesting the Paws Inn as a great lodging option.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iceberg174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

We had a great time traveling with our dog. It was the first time we took our 9 month old puppy on a long trip (3 hours in the car) and stayed in a new place overnight. We were able to go skiing at Sunday River without worrying that he was ok. Carol is an amazing host - she was very friendly, hospitable, cooked a delicious breakfast, offered us drinks and freshly baked cookies. The room was comfortable as well. In addition, our puppy is a very energetic "teenager" so he can be a bit annoying to other dogs. Carol was able to handle him very well.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tato4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at Paws Inn for two nights. We've stayed in a lot of B&Bs but Carolyn's warm hospitality really made us feel like we were visiting a friend. She went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed. One night, we were going to a local eatery for dinner and she couldn't locate a dining coupon she had for the restaurant so she insisted on calling ahead to make sure they gave us another coupon/discount when we arrived. We were going dog sledding and she made sure to offer us fruit and snack bars for the trip. Our room in the lovely historic home was cozy and comfortable. We didn't have our dogs with us, but there were other guests who did making it a great arrangement for anyone who doesn't want to leave the pooches behind. There are mulitple B&Bs in Bethel, but I can't imagine anyone being a better host than Carolyn.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lflone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2010

This is probably one of the best experiences we have ever had traveling with our dogs. I can say that this is the first time that it is not just a vacation for us but also for our dogs. We were able to go skiing and out to dinner without worrying if our dogs were ok. Carol is a very gracious host and the house is a classic New England farm house. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was great, perfect for a ski weekend at Sunday River. We had such a great time we already booked another weekend. I would recommend to anyone traveling with well behaved dogs.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musictravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
21.9 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
2.2 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#3 of 15 in Bethel
167 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
2.2 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
2.2 mi away
Chapman Inn
Chapman Inn
#7 of 15 in Bethel
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paws Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paws Inn

Property: Paws Inn
Address: 372 Walkers Mills Rd, Bethel, ME 04217-4845
Location: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Paws Inn Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing