We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at the Rostay
Ranked #3 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Torrington, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Great place!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The Inn at the Rostay was a great find. Kathy and Al are the perfect innkeepers. We were made to feel welcome and our room was comfortable and spotless. Kathy's quilts added a nice homey feel. Breakfast was delicious, complete with a gluten-free option. The Inn at the Rostay is our number one choice for a place to stay in the Bethel area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grafton208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rostayowner, Owners at The Inn at the Rostay, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We're proud to be your home-away-from-home here in Bethel! It's lovely to hear how comfortable you were. Kathy and I are thrilled that you loved her quilts, and of course, our yummy breakfasts! Thanks for the kind words. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
Alan & Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    40
    14
    5
    11
See reviews for
46
57
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Another motel owner suggested the Inn at the Rostay to us during a recent drive through Maine & we're glad she did! Kathy was a wonderful host, making suggestions for dinner & telling us all about the quilt displays. If we had more time, I would have definitely checked out the quilt shop ... guess we'll have to make a return trip! :)
The motel room was clean & comfortable, the property well maintained & their rates were better than others in the same area. Breakfast was delicious ... all in all this place was a great find.
We ate at Rooster's Roadhouse ... extensive menu, great service & reasonable prices.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rostayowner, Owners at The Inn at the Rostay, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
We're glad you took her advice, too! I'm thrilled that Alan and I cold make you feel so welcome here in Bethel. There's something for everyone around here. It sounds like you we'll be seeing you again soon! We'd be happy to welcome you back any time. Thank you for the wonderful review.

Best,
Kathy & Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yarmouth, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My sons and I stayed here for two nights to compete in Sunday River's Tough Mountain Challenge. I booked the Rostay Inn after seeing how outrageous the rates were at Sunday River and am so glad I did. The Inn is only a few minutes (4.5 miles) from Sunday River anyway. Kathy & Al are the most gracious of hosts. We were given a special military deal that was most appreciated. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The outdoor pool was immaculate and freshing especially after the rigorous race! The breakfast was yummy and the boys enjoyed Al's chocolate chip pancakes. The town of Bethel was lovely and Kathy offered some great tips of things to do in the area. We're looking at coming again next year for the race and wouldn't stay any where else. the artes are very resonable and the property is well maintaines, best of all are the hosts. That's what made for a really outstanding stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbird1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rostayowner, Owners at The Inn at the Rostay, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Wow! What a fantastic review! It's so nice to see that you all were pleasantly surprised. Kathy and I are thrilled that we could make you and your boys feel so welcome here in Bethel. Thank you again for the kind words. We look forwarding to seeing you next summer!

Regards,
Alan & Kathy, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was our first time to Maine together. We went panning for gold in Coos Canyon and were looking for lodging in Rumsford. Our GPS took us to a few motels which we decided against. Luckly we came across The Inn at the Rostay. Very pleasantly suprised. Exceptionally clean and cozy. Just loved the "bear" room. Kathy, next time we come to the area...we'll definitely be staying there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rostayowner, Owners at The Inn at the Rostay, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Liz,

It's great to hear from you again. I'm so glad that you stumbled upon us, and that you were pleasantly surprised with what you found! It sounds like you all had a fantastic time here in Maine, and we're thrilled to have been a part of it. Thanks for the kind words. Alan and I are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Take care,
Kathy & Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

Owner kathy is very nice and kind. She allowed us to call family in Canada with no charge. Free breakfast for bikers. Beds were a bit creaky and old but clean a very. Nice room. Worth the money. Pool and fire pit. I asked her why she is biker friendly she said they tend to travel in packs which brings more business. My friend and I were traveling on bikes and was turned away from one motel but the patron advised this one. We were glad
She did.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank X_marks_the_scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owners at The Inn at the Rostay, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
We're glad you took their advice, too! Thanks for staying with us. Alan and I are thrilled that you all felt so comfortable after a long day on the road. You're always welcome here, so come see us again next time you're in the neighborhood! ( And don't forget to bring all your biker friends!!)

Regards,
Alan & Kathy, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I recently stayed in the upstairs "suite" above the check in area. This is a great unit if you are looking for something with a little more space than your standard hotel/motel room. There are 2 bedrooms, a kitchen and a spacious living room area with bunk beds. Three of my friends and I have been to Bethel the last 3 years in a row on golf trips and have stayed in this unit each time. It has worked out perfect, we stick the guys that snore in the bedrooms and the other guys on the bunkbeds. The property is only located 5-10 minutes from Sunday River. I haven't stayed in any of the other rooms but I highly recommend the upstairs suite.

Room Tip: The upstairs suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rostayowner, Owners at The Inn at the Rostay, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Brendan,

It's wonderful to hear that you keep coming back for some golf and R&R! The upstairs suite is lovely, and I'm thrilled that you've enjoyed it so much. Thanks for taking the time to review us. Let us know if there's anything we can do to make your next stay that much better!

Best,
Alan & Kathy, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenham, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Like the name, it was a Really Outstanding STAY. The room was exceptionally clean. We liked the hidden refrigerator in the night table. The breakfast was outstanding. Price was reasonable compared to other lodging in the area. Very convenient for access to Sunday River. We had a great stay. Very comfortable and relaxing. The one and only change we would make is to have the LOUD bathroom fan on a seperate switch from the light. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rostayowner, Owners at The Inn at the Rostay, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thomas,

There's nothing like relaxing in the mountains. I'm thrilled that we made you feel so comfortable, and that you had such a wonderful time! Thanks for leaving the feedback about the restroom's fan. There's always room for improvement, so I'll discuss this with the team. Thank you for the lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again!

Best,
Alan & Kathy, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
18.0 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
19.7 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
0.8 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 15 in Bethel
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Rostay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Rostay

Property: The Inn at the Rostay
Address: 186 Mayville Rd, Bethel, ME 04217-4443
Location: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at the Rostay 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the Rostay in Bethel, Maine is the affordable place to stay when visiting Sunday River Ski and Golf Resort. We are conveniently located just minutes from the ski area and beautiful Bethel Village, The #1 rated Ski Town in East by SKI Magazine.Each of our rooms has been carefully furnished and decorated for your enjoyment and comfort. The Inn at the Rostay is great for groups, families, businesses and all vacationers. We have clean, quiet rooms with cable TV, VCR, free video library, free WIFI, complimentary coffee, microwaves and refrigerators, along with a picnic area, fire pit, and free shuttle during the winter on our grounds. The Inn at the Rostay does not charge any extra resort fees. Enjoy our delicious, hot breakfast before you start your day's activities.Located on the ITS snowmobile trail ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn at the Rostay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At The Rostay Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing