We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”
Review of Chapman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chapman Inn
Ranked #8 of 16 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Great Bed & breakfast in Bethel Maine.
Room is clear, great location, the owners are extremely friendly.
We recommend the Inn !!! Breakfast was great...bluberry pancakes, muffin, fresh fruit, delicious omelette :))))

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgnappy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 190 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great B&B in Bethel, Maine. very clean, great location, the owners are extremely friendly. You are greeted upon entering and the owners are always available should you need anything. We would go back again as well as recommend the Inn to family and friends.

Room Tip: The closest Inn to the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a charming little inn with the usual cutesy rooms but the hosts really make the difference. Fred & Sandra were easy to deal with when making our last minute reservations and the room was large & cheery with a comfortable bed. People were not exaggerating about the breakfast!!! Fred puts on a wonderful spread: breads, homemade blueberry muffins ( to die for), a variety of fresh fruit and cereals, yogurt, juices and made-to-order breakfast entree. The omelets were amazing although I wished we'd ordered 2 different breakfasts in order to experience Fred's blueberry pancakes. the coffee was delicious and I wished I could have brought some home!!! Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 25berwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a Bed and Breakfast. The bed was fantastic, the breakfast was fantastic. Anything more is gravy, if you are looking for a great deal, head over to chapman's. If you are looking for a Hilton, I believe the closest one is about an hour away in auburn, but have fun paying more for less.

Room Tip: Bear in mind this B and B caters to all travelers, from those traveling groups with a hostel environ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night mid-week and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. Owner (Fred) was especially welcoming and made us, 2 adults, 2 kids, feel like family. Fred offered recommendations on the area - no disappointments. Fred's blueberry muffins are the best in the world according to my 10 year old daughter. I agree and think Fred is a talented chef. Chapman Inn was truly an enriching part of our recent road trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveladdict68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at the Chapman Inn this June on our way back from a motorcycle ride across Canada. The location is great and the 'Special Rates for Bikers' sign that our host, Fred, had apparently just put up lured us in. Bethel has many heritage buildings and you kind of know what you are in for, old rooms, Antique furnishings, creaky sloping floors etc. don't let that put you off. The rooms are clean, everything works and Mike the Mouth, Fred's dog is a softie even if he barks at first. And the breakfast? Others have commented on it and Fred is not exaggerating. It simply was the best we encountered in a month on the road and over 7,000 miles travelled coast to coast in Canada and halfway back! Oh, and the location in town can't be beaten. We recommend it!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lzbdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The bed was comfy, the room was clean, and the bathroom stocked. Ok, fine. That should be expected, not a selling point. However, breakfast was heavenly. Each morning I was treated to a plate of fruit, home made white bread and banana bread, and had a choice of freshly prepared main courses. The omelets were the fluffiest things I'd ever seen, and the chef was happy to share some of his tricks along with interesting stories of his own world travels. Next time I come back through this way, this is the place I and my family will be staying.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveBMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethel hotels
0.1 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
0.2 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#9 of 16 in Bethel
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
1.4 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#4 of 16 in Bethel
173 reviews
2.2 mi away
River View Resort
River View Resort
#14 of 16 in Bethel
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapman Inn

Address: 2 Church St, Bethel, ME 04217-3806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range: $105 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chapman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightfully charming inn with unbeatable location, in the heart of the Historic District overlooking the town commons. The inn offers great rooms, a world famous full breakfast, and warm genuine hospitality, all at sane rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chapman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapman Inn Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing