We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Inn”
Review of Chapman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chapman Inn
Ranked #5 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Inn”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I would like to recommend the Chapmann Inn B2B.

Located in a beautiful part of Bethel, the house itself has a history and a story behind it along with the surrounded neighborhood.


For a very affordable price you get a good room and the most generous breakfast you can think of.

For an extra 6$ I also got laundry service.

The couple who run this place create a warm and welcoming atmosphere.

A definite recommendation in case you in Bethel area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    39
    9
    12
    4
See reviews for
40
70
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
555 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Nice place for a stop over. I have to mention the breakfast first, as it was first class. Amazing omelet, great food. Other people raved about the french toast which looked amazing. Room was nice, clean and comfortable. A bit of street noise, but we did go the weekend of their Jeep rally. The owner I think is a part time comic, jokester - kept us entertained for sure.

Room Tip: try to avoid a room right on Church street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joedvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This place was the least expensive inn we stayed in on our trip to New England. It was also the most basic. The room we had was clean and comfortable, but in a state of mild disrepair, with some peeling wallpaper, and enough slats missing in the window blind (there was no curtain) that we felt the need to dress and undress in the corners of the room for fear of scandalising the passing Bethel residents. The soundproofing isn't great; we were woken at 6am by the sounds of the next-door guest on his toilet. The website calls the inn 'delightfully quaint', which I would suggest could more realistically read 'old and a bit rickety'.

The website also claims that the inn offers a 'world famous full gourmet breakfast', which in this country would earn the inn a stern visit from Trading Standards. The breakfast was what I would expect from a fry cook in a roadside diner, no better.

The biggest drawback of this establishment, in my personal opinion, is the innkeeper. While Sandra is friendly and attentive, Fred is constantly putting on a show, in which he is the star and all his guests are supposed to play the adoring audience. Sandra told us 'Just ignore everything Fred says', and I'm sure his heart is in the right place - but at the end of the day, if his relentless boasting and wisecracking actually makes some of his guests feel uncomfortable (and it does), is he really in the right job? Running an inn means thinking about how best to look after your guests, not trying to convince them how wonderful you are. Perhaps Fred should stay safely out of sight in the kitchen, and let Sandra front up the establishment...

However, given that the inn represents a relatively cheap place to stay, it gets three stars, despite all the drawbacks listed above. It's clean and basic accommodation, conveniently located for Bethel's shops and restaurants. Just don't believe all the hoopla on the website. And don't listen to Fred.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frytlon, Owner at Chapman Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
While we do value all comments, good or bad, I really don't quite know how to respond to this person. We are a typical New England Inn, and try to offer our guests a clean comfortable room, good surroundings, a good sound breakfast to start their day, a little conviviality, and all at a very reasonable rate. While we take running our inn very seriously, we try not to take ourselves too seriously, and hope that our guests appreciate that(and from most of the reviews, I believe that they do). Apparently this person did not, and seemed to have taken personal exception to me especially. I do apologize if anything I said offended this person. But if one is looking for posh accommodations, Butler service, and High Tea at our rates, we are just not the inn for that person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The inn itself is very beautiful and welcoming. It's decorated very nicely and is clearly kept very clean. It's a warm and cozy place to relax on a rainy fall day (or any day!). I suppose it's everything you'd want when coming to visit New England.The innkeepers are friendly and will wow you with their intriguing stories. Even on a low budget they were able to provide us with wonderful sleeping quarters. There's a good sense of both privacy and company of others. Over all it provided a couple of wonderful evening and we'll be sure to visit again when we're in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion,MA,USA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The innkeepers are charming and helpful. We had a two room suite with 3 beds and had excellent space. Nice TV in the bedroom. Would have preferred it in the living room. Free wifi was a bonus! The room is a bit run down with some peeling wall paper and nicks in the woodwork but it was clean. Plenty of hot water but the towels were at bit thin. The common living room was delightful with nice leather chairs, gas fireplace and a TV. Convenient walk to restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Inn was very rustic and had a very old-timey feel, which I did enjoy, and did expect considering it's a B&B and not a Ritz-Carlton. The only slight complaint I would have is purely aesthetic: in our room, the paint was peeling in some places, and the bathroom floor had some stains. But the towels were clean, the water was hot (even though it did take a few minutes), and the complementary breakfast was to die for. The innkeeper regaled us with stories of his backpacking expeditions through Kenya, China, South America- basically the whole world- over breakfast that consisted of freshly-made blueberry muffins, homemade bread, toasted with jam and butter, coffee, tea, orange juice, fruit...you name it, it was there! The adorable wolf-like dog the owners had was very friendly and visited everyone at breakfast, just for a quick sniff and the hopes of a dropped crumb or two. We would probably go back again were we ever in the area. Great for the price, if a bit aesthetically displeasing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CutePi314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We couldn't have felt more welcomed! Very helpful, friendly, & accommodating host. Nice, big old inn just across from the common in a charming town. Delicious made-to-order breakfast. And that porch! Just right for relaxing in the evening.
I admit, I chose this inn because it is supposed to be haunted (see website). Really, ask the owners. They will happily tell you about the friendly little ghost "Abbie" who some people claim to have experienced. We didn't meet any ghosts during our stay. My husband was just happy to see the flatscreen TV in the room. It was the first one he had seen in a nearly week of B&B visits!

Room Tip: If you want a "haunted room," just ask when making reservations. There are two that are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buonviaggio_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
20.0 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
0.2 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#8 of 15 in Bethel
241 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#3 of 15 in Bethel
164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 15 in Bethel
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapman Inn

Property: Chapman Inn
Address: 2 Church St, Bethel, ME 04217-3806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chapman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightfully charming inn with unbeatable location, in the heart of the Historic District overlooking the town commons. The inn offers great rooms, a world famous full breakfast, and warm genuine hospitality, all at sane rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Chapman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapman Inn Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing