We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Welcoming”
Review of Chapman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chapman Inn
Ranked #5 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Very Welcoming”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We couldn't have felt more welcomed! Very helpful, friendly, & accommodating host. Nice, big old inn just across from the common in a charming town. Delicious made-to-order breakfast. And that porch! Just right for relaxing in the evening.
I admit, I chose this inn because it is supposed to be haunted (see website). Really, ask the owners. They will happily tell you about the friendly little ghost "Abbie" who some people claim to have experienced. We didn't meet any ghosts during our stay. My husband was just happy to see the flatscreen TV in the room. It was the first one he had seen in a nearly week of B&B visits!

Room Tip: If you want a "haunted room," just ask when making reservations. There are two that are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buonviaggio_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    39
    9
    12
    4
See reviews for
40
70
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This place is a gem, comfortably antiquey but not gussied up as so many places are -- a homey but comfortable place with lots of nice individual touches and a sumptuous breakfast, excellent blueberry pancakes. It's not the Hilton, which is the best compliment we can give. The location is just right, there are several good restaurants in town including an elegant and excellent Japanese/Korean place. You'll enjoy it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhyllisVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We enjoyed a lovely weekend in Bethel - it's a beautiful location with some good hiking in easy reach and a couple of top quality restaurants in walking distance of Chapman Inn. The Inn itself was perfect for or needs: inexpensive, comfortable accommodation, a warm and friendly welcome and a very hearty breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Fred knows how to run a B & B.
Value and customer service and I just know Bkfst will b great. His local knowledge is freely given and spot on. In travel book and known in Houlston ME info, says a lot for me. SS Milton resturant recommendation was great.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hbpshp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I traveled to Bethel, Maine to pick up my son from a nearby camp and needed to find a place to stay for one night. I picked the Chapman Inn based on good reviews and made the right call. The Inn is within walking distance to several restaurants, pubs and bakeries, which I appreciated. The innkeepers suggested I try the SudsPub at the Sudsbury Inn -- great vibe and lots of beers to pick from. At the Chapman, I chose to stay in the dorm (I'm on a budget while starting up my own business!!) and found it comfortable, clean and well-kept. A full breakfast is included in the dorm rate, and includes fruit, fresh baked muffins and bread, and a choice of pancakes and eggs. That was a real treat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcNewYork37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was a great place to stay for its simplicity and location. Fred and Sandra were great hosts. The morning breakfast, cooked by Fred, and served in their beautifully decorated dining room was outstanding. One of the best things about this inn was the ability to book a room last minute for a reasonable price. Wish we had more time to stay another night and take advantage of the increadable hiking and outdoor opportunities in close proximity. We will return again! Thanks for the home made blueberry muffin you gave for the ride home!
Lyn and Larry

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth NH
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Very comfortable old New England style inn - breakfast was great! Fred and Sandy are the hosts with the most - so friendly and accommodating! We were able to bring our dog and he was happy about that - Thanks, G & E Franklin

Room Tip: For a few dollars more, you can have the suite which has 3 beds and it's own kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
20.0 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
0.2 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#8 of 15 in Bethel
241 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#3 of 15 in Bethel
164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 15 in Bethel
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapman Inn

Property: Chapman Inn
Address: 2 Church St, Bethel, ME 04217-3806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chapman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightfully charming inn with unbeatable location, in the heart of the Historic District overlooking the town commons. The inn offers great rooms, a world famous full breakfast, and warm genuine hospitality, all at sane rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Chapman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapman Inn Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing