We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It gets better every year.”
Living Room with cathedral ceiling, 2 story fireplace , SAT TV and attached to screened porch overlooking waterfront
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room with cathedral ceiling, 2 story fireplace , SAT TV and attached to screened porch overlooking waterfront
Sunday River Ski & Lake House Winter at house - ready for snowmen, skiing and fun!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Living Room with cathedral ceiling, 2 story fireplace , SAT TV and attached to screened porch overlooking waterfront
Sunday River Ski & Lake House
Winter at house - ready for snowmen, skiing and fun!
Private Swim Platform -
Lawn & gardens
Bedroom set up with twin beds
Bedroom set up as faux CA King bed
Nursery Bedroom ( twin beds can be converted to faux  CA King)
Canoeing
Private Boat Dock  - for boats up to 25 feet
Kayaks!
Beach
Kitchen
Dining room ( with attached dining deck  with BBQ gas grill overlooking lake)
Kitchen - French Door Fridge
Kitchen
Kitchen
Livingroom - with attached screened porch overlooking lake
Livingroom with cathedral ceiling
Master bedroom balcony - overlooking lake!
Master bedroom - with real CA King bed, vaulted ceiling and private balcony
Screened in porch connected to dining deck - both overlooking waterfront
Screened in porch
Entrance to house and gardens
Sunday River Ski Area - Best Snowmaking in the East!
Sunrise on lake
Water skiing!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Bethel, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
oldjoe102...
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“It gets better every year.”
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

After returning for our second visit here’s another 10 STAR Review. Once again Lisa, our host, went above and beyond the call of duty with her kindness and hospitality.

We knew what to expect since we stayed a week last year, but we were pleasantly surprised to find our accommodations were even better than last year. I wouldn’t have thought it could get any better until we went down to the lower level and found the existing ski tuning room was completely transformed with new ceilings, flooring, furniture, TV, Foosball table, and a really nice touch with the custom sliding barn doors.

This year my oldest daughter, her husband and children joined us and they stayed on the lower level. What a great setup for an additional family with a master bedroom, another bedroom with two beds, bathroom and the newly transformed lounge/game room. Her children spent a lot of time hanging out in the lounge. There were also new curtains throughout the house that really brightened up the rooms.

I should mention my daughter is a bit of a clean freak and was hesitant about joining us on our Maine vacation since her visits over previous years didn’t provide the cleanest accommodations. It’s not easy to find rentals that are like your own home. It only took one day for my daughter to tell me she is so happy she came and made it a point to say “it’s definitely not skeevy”. Her statement speaks volumes because it doesn’t take much for her to complain about lack of cleanliness conditions. We now consider this our home away from home.

My initial review included the following and it still holds true:
I have been visiting this area since I was a child way back in 1962. I have stayed on North Pond, South Pond, Round Pond, Twitchell Pond, and Lake Christopher at least thirty five times over the years. This was by far the best accommodations ever. Upon our arrival we were pleased to find a gift bag with all the supplies necessary for S’mores, along with pancake mix, maple syrup, coffee, candies, etc and if that wasn’t enough a fresh (still warm) bumble berry pie and fresh baked bread was delivered to our door on Saturday. One extra touch (for 2017) was a special wrapped gift for me. Way back when I booked the house, I had mentioned to Lisa that I had recently celebrated my 60th birthday. Well she remembered and truly appreciate the warmth and generosity.
The house and grounds are very clean. The kitchen was well stocked. There were toys in the house for the young ones and toys down at the beach. Plenty of outdoor chairs in the yard, around the fire pit, and down at the beach. The location is very secluded, peaceful and quiet yet close to the town of Bethel where you will find great dining and anything else you might need. This house is so well equipped I can’t think of a single item that was missing. The listing description is 100% accurate with no surprises.

Oh, did I mention our host Lisa? Lisa went out of her way to make sure our vacation went well and had everything we needed. From the day we booked until the morning we departed Lisa was there for us. She provided an eleven page guest guide with directions, attractions and restaurants in the area. I will end this review by saying THANK YOU Lisa for being the nicest person and host EVER.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2017
Thank you Joe for returning back to my home. It was wonderful to host you all! I am happy to hear we met you daughter's approval and so glad you like the new additions we have made. We look forward to seeing you and your lovely family again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZGrammyNa...
Gorham, Maine
1 review
“Dream home on the lake!”
Reviewed August 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

If you are seeking a beautiful, private location, choose this lake house. It has lots of space for a large group—three floors of living space and a large screened deck, an open deck with a great grill for barbecuing, and a lovely porch overlooking gorgeous perennial gardens. There were fifteen people, ages 8 months to 75 years, plus two dogs, in our group. One overwhelmed Grampy was able to seek refuge from all the little ones (eight grandchildren) in several places. A wonderful gift bag (filled with the fixings for s’mores and breakfast) was on the counter when we arrived, and on the next morning a loaf of homemade rosemary bread and a fruit pie were delivered. The beauty of Maine’s nature was everywhere. We were graced with the haunting call of loons and the majestic soaring of an eagle. The lake has an abundance of fish for the fisherman in the family, in our case a very happy 13-year-old grandson who spent most of his time on the lake or at the dock Plenty of watercraft were available for everyone—from canoes and kayaks to relaxing jumbo floats. The beach was wonderful, sandy with a gradual entrance into crystal clear water. The house is full of modern conveniences but step out the door and walk to the water and you are surrounded by nature at its best--a secret garden in the woods with a meandering path to the beach bordered by blueberry bushes and mushrooms. Also at the water’s edge near the boat dock you will find Adirondack chairs surrounding a fire pit with a picnic table and hammock nearby. Lisa was a most gracious host, answering all of my questions promptly. She truly endeavors to make your vacation extra special.

Thank you, Lisa!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rek636
Marshallville, Ohio
1 review
“Absolutely Fabulous Vacation Spot”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The house was exactly as we expected only the bedrooms were much more spacious than they appeared in the pictures which made it even nicer. The property was very clean and well-maintained both inside and out. Lisa was more than gracious with helping us before we arrived with questions and when we arrived continued to check in to make sure we were taken care of - which included welcome gifts!

The house included access to the lake with canoes, kayaks, life jackets and fishing poles which we used and totally enjoyed. We enjoyed going to many local hikes which included Maggie's Nature Hike (very close), Angel Falls, Screw Auger Falls, Grafton Notch State Park, and Step Falls where the kids enjoyed swimming. We did take a day trip and go to Acadia National which made for a long day but very much worth it.

We mostly ate in but did get treated very well at Rooster's Road House. Because of so many small children it was easier to eat at the house and Lisa had all the dishes that we needed so did not have to haul a lot of stuff from home - even spices!

We had a superb time and would definitely recommend this property to anyone interested in going to Maine - the accomodations could not have been better!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was roomy and the perfect size for our family
Liked least: Everything was great
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldjoe102...
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“You won’t find a better house and host!”
Reviewed July 9, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I wish there was an option for 10 stars. This is by far the nicest house and location you will find in the Greenwood, ME area. Lisa, our host, went above and beyond the call of duty with her hospitality.

I have been visiting this area since I was a child way back in 1962. I have stayed on North Pond, South Pond, Round Pond, Twitchell Pond, and Lake Christopher at least thirty five times over the years. This was by far the best accommodations ever. Upon our arrival we were pleased to find a gift bag with all the supplies necessary for S’mores, along with pancake mix, maple syrup, coffee, candies, etc and if that wasn’t enough a fresh (still warm) strawberry rhubarb pie and fresh baked bread was delivered to our door the following morning.

The house and grounds are very clean. The kitchen was well stocked. There were toys in the house for the young ones and toys down at the beach. Plenty of outdoor chairs in the yard, around the fire pit, and down at the beach. The location is very secluded, peaceful and quiet yet close to the town of Bethel where you will find great dining and anything else you might need. This house is so well equipped I can’t think of a single item that was missing. The listing description is 100% accurate with no surprises.

Oh, did I mention our host Lisa? Lisa went out of her way to make sure our vacation went well and had everything we needed. From the day we booked until the morning we departed Lisa was there for us. She provided an eleven page guest guide with directions, attractions and restaurants in the area. I will end this review by saying THANK YOU Lisa for being the nicest person and host EVER.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, location, location and hospitality
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2016
It was pleasure to host Joe and his family....and his comments on my home as the best accomdations he has stayed at in all the years vacationing in the local Bethel area is such an honor! Thank you for choosing to stay in my home. I would love to host you and your family again anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odette G
Waterbury, Vermont
1 review
“Amazing Child Friendly Lake and Ski House- clean, easy and so comfy”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This was our 2nd trip back to Lisa's home and we are already planning on returning next year. Our first trip was for a ski vacation at Sunday River this past winter and we loved the house so much we came back for a summer stay. I can't decide which season is better we loved it all so much.

This house offers so much more than other homes we have stayed at due to all the baby equipment and was perfect as I have 3 small children all under age 5. The house was perfect for our mini family reunion of 10 adults and 4 children this summer. With linens provided for beds and bathroom, a well stocked pantry, a wonderful private waterfront with the cutest little beach we could not have asked for more. As none of the children were proficient swimmers the beach worked very well as it is sandy and no scary deep drop off. We were greeted with a great gift basket with maple syrup (made from the trees at her home ), pancake mix and fresh coffee beans Very clean, super convenient to ski area, town, local activities and comfy for our group.

The house has 3 floors so we could spread out and not be stuck all on one floor which is key with small children taking naps. We roasted marshmallows at the firepit, listened to the loons at night on the peaceful deck and even saw a bald eagle hovering on a few days too. We are already trying to plan our next Sunday River Ski Vacation for next winter!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Was clean, close to everything but yet very private and quiet
Liked least: Having to go home
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2017
Thank you for staying at my home! It was wonderful to host you all!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing