We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service and Good a Food - Great Combo”
Review of Sud's Pub

Sud's Pub
Ranked #10 of 35 Restaurants in Bethel
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch
Description: Suds Pub has been an icon in Bethel, Maine for over a quarter century, welcoming locals and visitors alike. Family friendly, unpretentious and great value for money. Open every day from 11.30 For lunch, dinner and late night, with live music Thursday (open mike night), Friday and Saturday nights. Specialties include our hugely popular pizza: a small one topping pizza is available in the pub on Tuesday nights for only $5. Bed and breakfast accommodation is also available in the Sudbury Inn directly upstairs.
Lewiston
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Service and Good a Food - Great Combo”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Off season, midweek...our choice for pub food and World Series Game 1. Katie, our server, was pleasant, attentive, and accommodating. Asked for pizza "little well done," and she knew exactly what I meant. And the pizza was great with a crunchy panko dusting on the crust.She proudly proclaimed that the crab cakes were made fresh that day and my wife proclaimed them a hit. If this place is this good in the "off season" I will return in season to see how they can get even better.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lewiston_MEDoogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    70
    32
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Maine Beer selection on Tap”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Basement establishment with some great local Maine beers (Allagash, Shipyard, others) on tap. Fun people working there and food available. I didn't have any. Live band at night but it would get crazy noisy due to the low ceiling and small space. We enjoyed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MartyLeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I decided to go to this pub for dinner and drinks while staying in Bethel. Just about everything about our experience was horrible. Once we got inside we were told to seat ourselves and a waitress would be right with us. Ten minutes later the waitress dropped off our menus without a word and walked away. Ten minutes after that she took our drink order. We both ordered a beer and a water. She returned with our beers, no water, and left without taking our food order. Fifteen minutes later she finally returned to take our food order and we asked again for our waters. We ordered an appetizer and a pizza to split. We finally got our waters with the appetizer, which was partial burnt. One taste of the water and I wanted to spit it out. Either the pub has a problem with their water line or she gave us dirty dish water. We would have said something, but that was the last we saw of her until the check. Someone else brought us our pizza, while our waitress chatted up the table next to us who she clearly knew. We finished our pizza and beer and then sat at our table for twenty minutes while our waitress walked by a dozen times. She finally brought our check and we quickly left and went to a different place to have drinks. Needless to say, we won't be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Charming Inn and Great Food”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous inn with fabulous food. Our first night in Bethel and we could not have been treated better with awesome food and gracious service. Albeit most patrons were intent on watching the Red Sox in their play off game, staff kindly found a location within for us to watch SEC football while enjoying lovely eats and libations. Many helpful suggestions for our exploring and hiking adventures. A great recommendation from Colleen and Ted. We will be back for sure,

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vicki-lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Burgers and Beer”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Had the Bison Burger w/ blue cheese...really good. Nice selection of beer to wash it down with. Service was prompt, plenty of TV's scattered around the room. Good basic pub right in the heart of Bethel

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterFay79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sud's Pub also viewed

 

Been to Sud's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing