We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really nice”
Review of The Victoria Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Victoria Inn
Ranked #8 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
rhode island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“really nice”
Reviewed July 25, 2007

We just returned from 2 nights at the Victorian and were very happy. We did not have reservations and walked in b/c of the vacancy sign. Stacey the owner gave us an extrodinary room the first night. Huge with a canopy over the head board, very ornate. We had to stay in a different room the second night b/c she was booked and she gave us a standard room which was much smaller and a little noisy but was still just fine. Stacey was very accomodating to us as " walk in's" and was a pleasure to visit with. The breakfasts were great, I even got the recipe for the oatmeal pancakes! We would certainly return.

  • Liked — location and Stacey the owner
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lvzRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    50
    16
    16
    19
See reviews for
50
131
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2007

We stayed three nights at The Victoria Inn in Bethel, Maine, and left feeling like we were leaving family. The innkeepers, Stacey and Kamil are incredible hosts, both greeted us warmly, and were happy to help with any touring questions we had. The beautifully decorated victorian room we stayed in had a very comfortable king size bed and private bath at a very reasonable rate.

The breakfasts were very generous and made to order. We were able to choose from a selection of four meals, each including fresh juices or fruit, delicious coffee or home-blended teas researched and selected by Stacey.

The Inn also has a restaurant, and serves five-star quality dinners created by chef Kamil. All dinners are carefully prepared and beautifully presented in one of three Victorian dining rooms. During our stay, we ordered chicken picata, duck breast and salmon. All included a choice of side dishes prepared with only the freshest ingredients. Their chocolate capuccino layer cake is decadent!

We travel to Maine twice a year to visit family, and will definitely go out of our way to go back to The Victoria to receive pampering from Stacy and Kamil.

  • Liked — The quality and comfort of the inn, including the room and the food, as well as the personable management.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelinow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, NH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2007

The Victoria was "homebase" for my daughter's Memorial Day Weekend wedding at Sunday River. The bride fell for the Inn the first time she saw it, and Stacey, one of the owners, was incredibly warm, welcoming and helpful. We called on her several times for advise on "where to go for what" in Bethel prior to the wedding, and she was unfailingly gracious and helpful. I was there four nights, and could find fault with absolutely nothing. Kamil, Stacey's husband, puts out wonderful meals, and the Inn catered the Rehearsal Party for us. It was a wonderful wedding weekend; made more so by the people at the Victoria Inn, who obviously take great pride in their Inn and the welbeing of the guests, and obviously felt like part of our celebration. Rooms were beautiful, immaculate, and the Inn was simply "homey". Looking forward to going back "home" soon.

  • Liked — Atmosphere, beautifully decorated, awesome people
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Verrill3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2007

What an enjoyable time. I brought my wife and daughter along with me to this very large, beautiful bed and breakfast. We were well greeted by the hosts and shown to our most beautiful rooms. For the low price we paid, we stayed in a two story suite that was easily large enough for our needs.

The meals were glorious! The coffee was good and so was the early breakfast accompanied by the friendly conversation and good feeling.

Receiving information about the surrounding areas for our site seeing was easy to get. There were travel guides available. Moreover, it's worth mention that the hosts were available to answer questions.

The dinner was a delight, and our child was tolerated with ease. We actually found ourselves relaxing in the cozy sitting room, while our 4 year old child seemed occupied and happily distracted.

We will be going back to this delightful location. Perfect for hard working couples in need of some peace and quiet.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank useratrandom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2007

We spent three nights at this beautiful inn, just a 10-minute drive from Sunday River ski area. I had been a little apprehensive because although the recent reviews have all been excellent, some of the older ones weren’t so good. It turns out that the current owners took over in October 2006, and have received nothing but well-deserved praise since then.

We were very lucky with the timing of our trip and were able to take advantage of the April special for dinner, bed and breakfast, as well as experience some of the best skiing conditions this year in nearby Sunday River.

The whole stay was exceptional value, and the owners, Stacey and Kamil, couldn’t have been more hospitable. Breakfast choices included shirred (baked) eggs which I ordered every day. My husband had the same three dinner courses on two consecutive nights because they were so good: shrimp chowder, filet mignon, and blueberry pie. I particularly enjoyed the duck and the baklava.

However, the best thing about this place for me, being from England, was the tea. Stacey blends her own teas and her English Breakfast Tea is possibly the best I have ever tasted! I was so pleased to learn that Stacey will be selling her teas online before long.

  • Liked — Friendly hosts and the tea!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2007

This was the perfect weekend stay, with the perfect people, in the perfect place. The owners were charming. The decor was amazing! Do Not Miss ordering tea during dinner for a true british service and several blends made by the owner personally. Dinner was unbelievable and the local was great for family or romance. We stayed in Room 9 and had the most astonishing sunken black bath. If you are skiing within 50 miles don't miss this experience, cant wait to try it in the spring or summer for what I believe will be stunning gardens.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank marytravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2007

I cannot compare this inn to any other hotels, because it would need a special category.
It started with the hosts patiently giving us phone directions after we took a wrong turn at 11 pm on a Saturday night, and then waiting for us on the outside porch to welcome and direct us to our parking spot a few minutes later. Beautiful room with loft for our teenagers. A *real* king bed for us, with generously-sized bedding and comforter. Immaculate and friendly housekeeping, despite the abuse that the place probably takes sometimes from families with young children and/or wet ski clothes. The occasional malfunction (door handle, phone) was fixed cheerfully and immediately.
The hosts and the staff made us feel special and welcome at all times, without ever becoming overbearing, a feat rarely accomplished at small inns. When we realized our car battery had gone flat (word to the wise: do not leave your lights on during Maine winter nights;-) just when we had to meet a bus in Lewiston, the host promptly brought his own car to give us a jump start. There was never a complaint when we arrived late for breakfast (sleepy teenagers) or early for dinner (famished teenagers).
And the food!!! From the generous breakfast (shirred eggs, fresh fruit cup, home made granola and more), to the plate of cookies awaiting our arrival, to the gourmet diner (true lamb, tender duck, old-fashioned chicken pot pie, with an array of perfectly prepared vegetables to chose from), to the desserts (do ask in advance for the crême brulée or the baklava, you will not be sorry), everything was perfect, served in a friendly and unpretentious manner, despite the very high quality of the meals.
One more note: following the hosts’ recommendation, we skied at Mt Abram resort, more family oriented than the larger and more expensive Sunday River resort. Mt Abram offered enough trails to keep us entertained for a week, all the staff was extremely friendly and welcoming: tickets salespeople, rental counter personnel, lift operators, ski patrol, teachers, nobody treated us like tourists.
As far as we are concerned, Maine may be Vacationland, but Bethel is Heaven!!!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Wakefield-RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
19.2 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
18.2 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
0.2 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#3 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Inn

Property: The Victoria Inn
Address: 32 Main St, Bethel, ME 04217-4010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Victoria Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Inn is a bed and breakfast inn in Bethel, a charming and historic village located the western Maine mountains region. This historic 19th century inn, previously known as the Bethel Inn, has been lovingly restored with the decor and antiques of the romantic Victorian period. We are pleased to offer a variety of lodging accommodations including standard rooms, superior and deluxe rooms, as well as multi-room family suites with lofts. All rooms are decorated with Victorian period furnishings, and offer private baths, cable TV, and room phones with data ports. A delicious full cooked breakfast is included with all of our accommodations. The Victoria Inn is within a short walk to shopping, movie theaters, one of the two renowned local golf courses as well as to Gould Academy, and the National Training Laboratories facilities. Bethel offers a wealth of opportunities for activities including skiing and snowboarding, golfing, hiking, fishing, rafting, and more. Whether you are seeking an active holiday, a romantic getaway, a wedding or anniversary celebration, scenic touring, or a family vacation, plan on staying with us at The Victoria Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Victoria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victoria Hotel Bethel
The Victoria Inn Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing