We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint inn, wonderful host”
Review of The Victoria Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Victoria Inn
Ranked #8 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I spent one night in the Victoria Inn and the room was large, clean, and quite beautiful. The hotel was quiet (it was mid-week so probably not crowded) but the Wi-Fi worked and there was even a TV (in a cabinet so it did not disrupt the beauty of the room while not being used.

Pat, the host was very helpful. Upon our arrival, she gave dinner recommendations for Bethel. As we were checking out, she even gave recommendations for our continuing travels to the Maine coast.

Breakfast was absolutely delicious. She made one of the best omelets I have ever had! We also were treated to freshly made pumpkin bread that was delicious.

Room Tip: We were in room 12 which has a king sized bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 252 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night only. Had we not paid in advance we would have left and found alternative accommodation. It was probably ok 50 years ago, but now looks tired and dirty. Our room 14 was very dark, small, in total need of renovation and I had to wipe the surface of the bedside table before using it.. Also, the room bore absolutely no resemblance to the picture offered online when we selected room 14!
When we checked in late-afternoon no one was about, but the proprietor had left a room key on the desk with a note explaining she was elsewhere in the building and giving directions to the room. Fortunately we found a lovely Italian restaurant (22 Broad Street) just around the corner, well worth a visit.
On return, as our room was so dark, we sat in the slightly less dark lounge area. The only other guests came in and they'd had the same experience with the keys as us - we all joked that it was a bit eerie to say the least. Despite our fairly loud and long chat in the lounge, still no proprietor was to be seen.
Pat finally made an appearance at breakfast, offering the excuse of a phone system that was apparently out of order. Breakfast was ok, but we were just glad to be on our way again as quickly as possible.
The Victoria Inn was anything but value for money.

Room Tip: Simply avoid the Victoria Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BostonWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this Inn on our way to Halifax, NS from Ontario - We chose to travel through New England and we chose this Inn by virtue of the fact that it was in the area where we wanted to end our first day - Boy did we get it right! This Inn is simply great - from the upgraded King size room to the amazing breakfast that our Innkeeper Pat cooked for us. The rooms were clean and styled in the Victoria setting that is in the name. If we travel through the US again we will definitely book a room here.

Dan and Marion Lohnes,
Burlington, ON

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Victoria Inn is a terrific B&B and Pat, the innkeeper, is the perfect host. She is friendly and accomodating and was available to answer questions about restaurants in Bethel. Our room was very comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was delicious --especially Pat's homemade granola!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Victoria Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanG54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Victoria Inn is a cozy old B and B with highly attentive staff, extraordinary food (we may have stolen about 5 scones for the road) and a convenient location in Bethel. The rooms were spacious, comfortable, and warm, there were restaurants a plenty nearby, and the commute to the mountain was negligible.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Anon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Victoria is a grand old home and well located for walking to Bethel Common, shops, and restaurants. It showed the signs of deferred maintenance with a porch badly in need of fresh paint, burned-out light bulbs in common rooms, etc. The entry hall smelled a bit musty, as if the house had been closed up or unheated for a time.
Our room in the "Carriage House" was clean and quiet, if rather dark and small; it had no period features other than the floral wallpaper. The window looked out directly onto the parking lot. Given that the Inn was nearly empty, I felt we might have been given a better room.
We slept badly, perhaps in part because we are used to sleeping on a futon. This bed shook wildly whenever one of us moved. Also, the top sheet was of some fiber that made a crackling or crinkling noise, and created so little friction that the bedspread and comforter repeatedly slid off the bed. So one of us kept having to climb down to retrieve the covers.
We appreciated being able to specify the time for breakfast, but it then seemed odd that things weren't quite ready when we came in. My made-to-order omelet was tasty and well prepared. The coffee was lukewarm. We would have preferred quiet music--or even silence--to the sound of a talking head nattering away on the television (radio?) in the kitchen nearby.
Overall, the inn could use a freshening up and the innkeeper, though friendly enough, didn't seem quite at the top of her game. One would expect better at this price point.

Room Tip: If in the carriage house, ask for a second floor room so you can open the shade and get some natural...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naomi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

By and far, one of the most pleasant B&B experiences I've had on vacation in Maine. Granted, the town is a little sleepy in the spring time, just after the ski season ends. However, that doesn't mean there's nothing to do. As for the Inn itself, the building is one of the most charming I've seen. Very old-worldy feeling, while still having a very up-do-date atmosphere. I could always hear some light Jazz playing in the front and dining rooms, and the Innkeeper, Pat, really treated us like family. Well, she did my eggs scrambled (which I don't like), but to be fair, I never specified. :) Overall, it just felt extremely friendly. I've come up to Maine every year with my husband, and we had to come up in the spring instead of summer this year. I think the spring foliage is a bit plain, but pretty nonetheless. As far as criticisms I have, I think that a few of the plants outside could have used some water. Also, the rear build could have used a new layer of paint. Mostly cosmetic things, but I also didn't like that rooms didn't have individual thermostats (I like it extra warm). In the end, the atmosphere was charming, the owner exuded personality, and the food was as delicious and "home-cooked" as you'd find in a hotel. The beds were big and soft, and there was still plenty to do and see in town, despite the off-ski season. Will definitely return next year.

Room Tip: Room #1 has a really pretty & unique design, but I spent some time chatting with the owner upsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
19.2 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
535 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
0.1 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chapman Inn
Chapman Inn
#7 of 15 in Bethel
184 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
1.3 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#5 of 15 in Bethel
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Inn

Address: 32 Main St, Bethel, ME 04217-4010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range: $146 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Victoria Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Inn is a bed and breakfast inn in Bethel, a charming and historic village located the western Maine mountains region. This historic 19th century inn, previously known as the Bethel Inn, has been lovingly restored with the decor and antiques of the romantic Victorian period. We are pleased to offer a variety of lodging accommodations including standard rooms, superior and deluxe rooms, as well as multi-room family suites with lofts. All rooms are decorated with Victorian period furnishings, and offer private baths, cable TV, and room phones with data ports. A delicious full cooked breakfast is included with all of our accommodations. The Victoria Inn is within a short walk to shopping, movie theaters, one of the two renowned local golf courses as well as to Gould Academy, and the National Training Laboratories facilities. Bethel offers a wealth of opportunities for activities including skiing and snowboarding, golfing, hiking, fishing, rafting, and more. Whether you are seeking an active holiday, a romantic getaway, a wedding or anniversary celebration, scenic touring, or a family vacation, plan on staying with us at The Victoria Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Victoria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victoria Hotel Bethel
The Victoria Inn Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing