We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Inn is historic treasure.”
Review of The Victoria Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Victoria Inn
Ranked #8 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, Rhode Island
2 reviews
“This Inn is historic treasure.”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed there Feb 17, 2013 and it's now our favorite in the area (out about 6 other places we've stayed over 25 years of skiing Sunday River). The Victorian exterior of the Inn is so beautiful and ornate that I'd previously assumed the place would be more than we wanted to spend. The rate for a "standard" room is very reasonable at $129 in the middle of a school vacation week near a ski area. Pat has fancier rooms at higher rates. This has to be a real Victorian house; it has REAL character. Our bathroom was modern, quite new and spotless. Our room had its own thermostat that actually worked and was plenty big. The room had really cool Victorian style wallpaper and the bed was ornately carved wood which I’d assume was a genuine antique. The mattress was comfy. If you want to focus on small cosmetic imperfections as one other reviewer did, you can find some. The TV is standard definition (nothing I give a hoot about). The door to our particular room was a plain modern door out of character for the house. Having owned a 138 year old house myself, I can appreciate the work and money needed to maintain such a property. If you are expecting absolute gold-plated, five-star perfection, try one of the fancier rooms or more expensive B&B’s around the corner.
The breakfast was a buffet with a couple of egg dishes, cereals, whole grain bread for toast, bacon, fresh fruit salad and so on; perfect before a day of skiing. You eat on an ornate antique table with a white tablecloth in a Victorian sitting room with a huge bay window; very pleasant.
Sunday River happened to be closed the next morning due to high winds, so we had nowhere to go that morning. Pat made it a point to tell us we could take all the time we wanted checking out; we could have stayed there all day if we wanted. This place deserves your business; a building like this is a treasure.

Room Tip: Our room was ground floor, back right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyMagruder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    51
    16
    18
    19
See reviews for
51
135
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Last summer we had the strangest stay at a b&b ever. No one to be found when we were checking in - just the keys on a table and instructions to 'phone a number. No phone to be found (and we don't have a cell) so we just checked ourselves into a very hot and rather rundown room #3.

Just a tiny fan and not even a working screen for the window. Broken furniture and electrical outlet, spider webs - even a Motel 6 has more ambiance. The pictures tell the tale the best.

Finally met the pleasant owner the following morning and the breakfast was ok. Perhaps the other rooms are better, but I still have a hard time understanding the rave reviews.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank braincramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, TN
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Had a wonderful weekend here with my wife skiing at Sunday River. The Inn was cute and romantic, and actually very large. Pat, the innkeeper, was very friendly and accomodating and even cooked us up some hot breakfast early so that we could still make first tracks. Food was excellent and the room was comfortable and quaint. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Stayed in room #4. Very spacious with a comfy king bed and jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thenerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I wanted to get the girlfriend out of Rhode Island for the weekend so we ventured up to the Bethel area We wanted to see Sunday River and go hiking and wanted a Romantic inn to stay in while we were there. Boy were we blown away by Patti an the Victoria. She was the consummate host-helping us with sights to see, things to eat and where to find just what we wanted. She suggested eating at a restaurant and we loved it; she gave us a great room and my girlfriend was very pleased- a throwback to a bygone era. Also the breakfast was great Banana french toast and the homemade granola as top notch. How could we not love this place. We are going back next summer!!!!

Room Tip: we were on the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I could tell you about the beautiful room with the most comfortable bed ever, or about the breakfasts that made me want to stay forever-but I need to tell you about Pat. With an inn full of guests-she remembered our names. She gave us perfect suggestions for dinner out. But most impressive was her help with my iPhone. I forgot my charger at home and the closest store to get one was thirty minutes away. Since is was already late Friday and dark, we didn't want to venture out. She said she'd look around and to check back when we returned from dinner. As we're pulling out of the driveway, Pat comes running out triumphantly holding a phone charger! She stocks extra phone cords for her scatterbrained guests! I hugged Pat, my new best friend, because she spared us a trip to Walmart in Mexico, Maine. How great is that?!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillH380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I have stayed there twice... last February and this past weekend. We initially chose the Victoria inn because it is only a 5 minute ride to Sunday River ski resort and it was the least expensive place to stay in the area. We loved the simplicity of the rooms and the charming exterior. The owner welcomed us with cookies and a warm smile. We will come back again and again because of the extremely positive experience we've had both trips! The price of the standard room was more than reasonable and compared to the other hotels in the area, you're really not going to get a better deal than this. The breakfast was delicious and had something for everyone. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cnorris814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Oh my, I was so relaxed and happy the moment I spoke with Pat on the phone.
We were greeted with homemade treats that were so good left me asking for more.
The rooms we were given were beyond expectation. My family and I had a great cooked to order breakfast the next morning that was just as delicious as the service.
Thank you for a wonderful time. See you again soon.

Room Tip: Just ask for the best and you shall receive :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethel hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
0.1 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
1.3 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#4 of 15 in Bethel
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
0.1 mi away
Chapman Inn
Chapman Inn
#7 of 15 in Bethel
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 15 in Bethel
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Inn

Property: The Victoria Inn
Address: 32 Main St, Bethel, ME 04217-4010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Victoria Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Inn is a bed and breakfast inn in Bethel, a charming and historic village located the western Maine mountains region. This historic 19th century inn, previously known as the Bethel Inn, has been lovingly restored with the decor and antiques of the romantic Victorian period. We are pleased to offer a variety of lodging accommodations including standard rooms, superior and deluxe rooms, as well as multi-room family suites with lofts. All rooms are decorated with Victorian period furnishings, and offer private baths, cable TV, and room phones with data ports. A delicious full cooked breakfast is included with all of our accommodations. The Victoria Inn is within a short walk to shopping, movie theaters, one of the two renowned local golf courses as well as to Gould Academy, and the National Training Laboratories facilities. Bethel offers a wealth of opportunities for activities including skiing and snowboarding, golfing, hiking, fishing, rafting, and more. Whether you are seeking an active holiday, a romantic getaway, a wedding or anniversary celebration, scenic touring, or a family vacation, plan on staying with us at The Victoria Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Victoria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victoria Hotel Bethel
The Victoria Inn Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing