We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy comfortable place with amazing cuisine”
Review of Mill Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mill Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here for skiing at Sunday River. Good location, not on mountain, but on free mountain explorer public shuttle route. Great for teens who want to be on their own schedule. Great ambience, leather couches, bar and wood fire in common area. live music on Sat night. Wonderful innkeeper, he changed his breakfast menu to satisfy our fussy sons. Thank you, Woody!

At night there is a small restaurant/bar. This is the absolutely the best food in Bethel! We have been coming here for years, have eaten pretty much everywhere in town, found most of he food merely "ok". But this is fantastic! Superfresh, reasonably priced, definitely made to order. Awesome.

No tv in rooms, this is a new experience for us, but we don't miss it due to excellent free wifi connection.

We have been up here for three weekends, stayed in different rooms each time, and the beds in each one are excellent. Even the morning coffee is extra good, served in beautiful handmade mugs.

The availability of the downstairs lounge would be great for parents of school age kids, leave the kids upstairs with pizza (which can be prepared inhouse) and enjoy a chance for grownup fun without leaving the building, no babysitter required.

Looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: The suites are a great option for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth3536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 238 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our family held a reception for about 50 people in December at the Mill Hill Inn. Woody, the inkeeper, and his staff exceeded all of our expectations. He assisted us in the planning and execution of the event, from decorations to menu selections to impeccable service. He also made available to us rooms at the Inn for the night (we did not end up needing them). The small plate dinners and tapas menu holds something for everyone, from vegan to carnivore, all served in the most inviting room in Bethel (no extra charge for a comfy seat by the wood stove fireplace!). We had hors d'oeuvres, dinner, dessert, and drinks and everyone was comfortable, well fed, relaxed, and exceptionally well served. This is a lovely place and we wholeheartedly recommend it for couples, families, and a reception of this size.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our group of 5: 4 adults and one teenager, stayed together in one of the largest rooms. It was actually a huge space with multiple levels, 3 bedrooms,private bath and full kitchen. Price included breakfast for all 5 of us so it was great value for the money and very convenient for the first night of a long road trip. Lovely setting, right in town/walking distance to everything, yet surrounded by large lawn/gardens, beautiful old building, plenty of room to park, quiet, safe, friendly. Loved the on-site dining option with freshly prepared innovative small plate/sharing/tapas dishes and fantastic selection of wine and beer for supper and generous hot breakfast, served family style, all on beautiful hand made pottery dishes. Would definitley stay here again and have already recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetheoutdoors230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Mill Hill Inn last night for a last minute trip to ski at Sunday River. I found the inn on trip advisor and we decided to give it a try after reading all of the glowing reviews. We were not disappointed!! We arrived later in the evening, Woody and his wife were there to greet us and show us our room. The inn is beautiful, the room was nicely decorated, warm, and had the most comfortable bed!! Breakfast in the morning was delicious. Woody made us feel very comfortable. We will be back, and will tell all of our friends!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My family and I just spent a wonderful three days with Woody, Lee, and Aaron at the Mill Hill Inn. We skied at Sunday River by day and enjoyed great meals and drinks by night at the inn. Aaron has perfected the "Draper Old Fashion", inspired by Mad Men. Woody, on the other hand, has a menu that offers so many delicious choices that it is hard to choose. We sampled only part of the menu in the three nights that we stayed and every dish was TASTY! The plates were similar to tapas in that they were meant to be shared. And if you don't see it on the menu, just ASK. For our 11 and 12 year old a Pizza was made and devoured. Thanks for the great time. If you feel like going to a cozy and relaxed place where the wood stove is always warm and the couches always inviting visit the Mill Hill Inn. Cheers!!!

Room Tip: Bring slippers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garrett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I were recently visiting our daughter in Maine and were treated to a wonderful stay at the Mill Inn. The inn is set in a lovely New England town. The evenings are filled with friendly folk including Woody and Lee and various locals hanging out in an amazing art filled comfortable common room where you are welcome to have a drink, eat tasty food and listen to music. The bedrooms have an essence of a traditional farmhouse decor with the modern comforts of king sized beds and private bathrooms! The area is absolutely beautiful. Hikes in abundance among majestic mountains. Hope to visit Bethel again one day and will definitely stay at the Mill Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary3923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillHillInn, Owner at Mill Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

I'm glad we got it right...Thank you

Woody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We travelled as a family of four to stay at the Mill Hill Inn while visiting friends in the area. As soon as you walk through the front door you feel the warmth of the wood stove as you walk into a warmly-lit grand gathering room, complete with overstuffed leather furniture, a small bar and original artwork. The proprietor, Woody, with his son Erin and wife Lee, have created a space that entices you to sit by the fire, sip a perfectly-made cocktail or craft beer, and slow down to enjoy your time away from home. Rather than feeling like we were staying at a business, we felt like we had been welcomed into an old friend's beautiful home.

We stayed in a very large suite that easily accommodated all four of us. The king-sized bed felt like it was brand new (certainly more comfortable than our three-year-old mattress at home). The suite was clean, well-lit, and accented with Woody's beautiful pottery and other original artwork. The kids could hang out in the suite while the adults sipped drinks with friends downstairs.

The food was outstanding. We bought multiple small plates to share over an unhurried dinner with our friends from Bethel. Although it was late fall when we visited, I noticed that there appears to be a nice outdoor dining area adjacent to the dining room as well, which must get a lot of use in summer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDNConcord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillHillInn, Owner at Mill Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

It was fun to host your family...perhaps we can do it again sometime soon, my best to Leslie.

Lee and Woody

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
19.9 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
0.3 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
0.1 mi away
Chapman Inn
Chapman Inn
#7 of 15 in Bethel
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#9 of 15 in Bethel
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Hill Inn

Address: 24 Mill Hill Rd, Bethel, ME 04217-4003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range: $99 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill Hill Inn, originally a barn built in the 1870s, was first converted into a private home in 1948 and then into a B & B in 1977. Lee and Woody Hughes purchased the inn in April of 2010 and renovated this wonderful structure from top to bottom during that summer. The newly renamed Mill Hill Inn opened its doors September 9, 2010. The inn is located just off the historic district on the north end of the Bethel Common, on a secluded acre and a half. This private setting is beautifully landscaped with both ornamental, vegetable, and herb gardens, producing food and flowers for the inn. The leveled lawn space adjacent to the front door area provides ample space for a 30' x 50' tent, suitable for weddings and private affairs. The Studio Bistro & Bar offer a unique menu and a full bar, served in the Great Room as well as in our dining room.The inn has six rooms, two of which are suites. All rooms come with new king sized beds, all cotton bedding, and private baths. The suites provide guests with kitchens and can sleep six to eight people. Rent one room or the entire inn, which can comfortably sleep twenty-two guests. PRICES: STARTING FROM $109 - $119, DOUBLE OCCUPANCY, SUITES - $139, DOUBLE OCCUPANCY ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mill Hill Hotel Bethel
Mill Hill Inn Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing