We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it”
Review of Mill Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mill Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Uxbridge, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“loved it”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our group of 5: 4 adults and one teenager, stayed together in one of the largest rooms. It was actually a huge space with multiple levels, 3 bedrooms,private bath and full kitchen. Price included breakfast for all 5 of us so it was great value for the money and very convenient for the first night of a long road trip. Lovely setting, right in town/walking distance to everything, yet surrounded by large lawn/gardens, beautiful old building, plenty of room to park, quiet, safe, friendly. Loved the on-site dining option with freshly prepared innovative small plate/sharing/tapas dishes and fantastic selection of wine and beer for supper and generous hot breakfast, served family style, all on beautiful hand made pottery dishes. Would definitley stay here again and have already recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetheoutdoors230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
100
90
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Mill Hill Inn last night for a last minute trip to ski at Sunday River. I found the inn on trip advisor and we decided to give it a try after reading all of the glowing reviews. We were not disappointed!! We arrived later in the evening, Woody and his wife were there to greet us and show us our room. The inn is beautiful, the room was nicely decorated, warm, and had the most comfortable bed!! Breakfast in the morning was delicious. Woody made us feel very comfortable. We will be back, and will tell all of our friends!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittery Point, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My family and I just spent a wonderful three days with Woody, Lee, and Aaron at the Mill Hill Inn. We skied at Sunday River by day and enjoyed great meals and drinks by night at the inn. Aaron has perfected the "Draper Old Fashion", inspired by Mad Men. Woody, on the other hand, has a menu that offers so many delicious choices that it is hard to choose. We sampled only part of the menu in the three nights that we stayed and every dish was TASTY! The plates were similar to tapas in that they were meant to be shared. And if you don't see it on the menu, just ASK. For our 11 and 12 year old a Pizza was made and devoured. Thanks for the great time. If you feel like going to a cozy and relaxed place where the wood stove is always warm and the couches always inviting visit the Mill Hill Inn. Cheers!!!

Room Tip: Bring slippers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garrett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Springs, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I were recently visiting our daughter in Maine and were treated to a wonderful stay at the Mill Inn. The inn is set in a lovely New England town. The evenings are filled with friendly folk including Woody and Lee and various locals hanging out in an amazing art filled comfortable common room where you are welcome to have a drink, eat tasty food and listen to music. The bedrooms have an essence of a traditional farmhouse decor with the modern comforts of king sized beds and private bathrooms! The area is absolutely beautiful. Hikes in abundance among majestic mountains. Hope to visit Bethel again one day and will definitely stay at the Mill Inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary3923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillHillInn, Owner at Mill Hill Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
I'm glad we got it right...Thank you

Woody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We travelled as a family of four to stay at the Mill Hill Inn while visiting friends in the area. As soon as you walk through the front door you feel the warmth of the wood stove as you walk into a warmly-lit grand gathering room, complete with overstuffed leather furniture, a small bar and original artwork. The proprietor, Woody, with his son Erin and wife Lee, have created a space that entices you to sit by the fire, sip a perfectly-made cocktail or craft beer, and slow down to enjoy your time away from home. Rather than feeling like we were staying at a business, we felt like we had been welcomed into an old friend's beautiful home.

We stayed in a very large suite that easily accommodated all four of us. The king-sized bed felt like it was brand new (certainly more comfortable than our three-year-old mattress at home). The suite was clean, well-lit, and accented with Woody's beautiful pottery and other original artwork. The kids could hang out in the suite while the adults sipped drinks with friends downstairs.

The food was outstanding. We bought multiple small plates to share over an unhurried dinner with our friends from Bethel. Although it was late fall when we visited, I noticed that there appears to be a nice outdoor dining area adjacent to the dining room as well, which must get a lot of use in summer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDNConcord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillHillInn, Owner at Mill Hill Inn, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
It was fun to host your family...perhaps we can do it again sometime soon, my best to Leslie.

Lee and Woody

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed with Woody back in Feb 2012 for a ski get away and really enjoyed our stay (previous review). So on Oct 09, 2012 when we descided to go for a weekend get away into the mountains of Maine and New Hampshire to see the Fall colours, we stayed with Woody for the second time. It was great, everything we liked about our first visit remained the same for our second visit. Woody remembered us from our previous visit and once again he was helpfull in recommending scienic driving routes and walking paths.
Woody wasn't serving diner that night so it made the choose of dinner resturant very easy, 22 Broad Street, my wife wouldn't have it any other way (I also enjoy it).
We look forward to returning some day with our children(young adults) and staying in the large suites up stairs. I'm sure our children would feel right at home.

Room Tip: Inn is in a quiet, all rooms are very good with king size beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quinnie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We visited the Mill Hill Inn in mid October. Woody runs a nice little place that feels modern but still nostalgic. Great common area for hanging out and enjoying a fire. Pool table, big sofas, a nice bar, and artistic ambience all are present. Woody also helps travelers out with their daily planning too with tips on trails and places to eat. We had a nice big breakfast both nights of our stay and cleared our plates. We also had enjoyed a small tapas style dinner on one of our nights. Bathrooms could have been a bit cleaner but overall the place felt clean and well maintained. Our room was a bit drafty but the space heater in the unit kept us comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaybird22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethel hotels
0.3 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
1.4 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#3 of 15 in Bethel
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#8 of 15 in Bethel
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chapman Inn
Chapman Inn
#5 of 15 in Bethel
179 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Hill Inn

Property: Mill Hill Inn
Address: 24 Mill Hill Rd, Bethel, ME 04217-4003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill Hill Inn, originally a barn built in the 1870s, was first converted into a private home in 1948 and then into a B & B in 1977. Lee and Woody Hughes purchased the inn in April of 2010 and renovated this wonderful structure from top to bottom during that summer. The newly renamed Mill Hill Inn opened its doors September 9, 2010. The inn is located just off the historic district on the north end of the Bethel Common, on a secluded acre and a half. This private setting is beautifully landscaped with both ornamental, vegetable, and herb gardens, producing food and flowers for the inn. The leveled lawn space adjacent to the front door area provides ample space for a 30' x 50' tent, suitable for weddings and private affairs. The Studio Bistro & Bar offer a unique menu and a full bar, served in the Great Room as well as in our dining room.The inn has six rooms, two of which are suites. All rooms come with new king sized beds, all cotton bedding, and private baths. The suites provide guests with kitchens and can sleep six to eight people. Rent one room or the entire inn, which can comfortably sleep twenty-two guests. PRICES: STARTING FROM $109 - $119, DOUBLE OCCUPANCY, SUITES - $139, DOUBLE OCCUPANCY ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mill Hill Hotel Bethel
Mill Hill Inn Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing