We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River View Resort is a very poor choice”
Review of River View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River View Resort
Ranked #14 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“River View Resort is a very poor choice”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Old and poorly maintained. From the road it looks like a vintage WWII motel. My room was dark and dismal. Old fashioned, dark brown, indoor/outdoor carpeting was used throughout and it was ripped up in a few places. The ceiling was the cheapest tile they could find and it was stained in multiple rooms. The bathroom had mold around the tub and the toilet seat was stained and gouged in several places - a breeding ground for germs and disease. The stove was greasy and both the cutting board and the tiny counter top were stained and deeply etched from cutting and chopping - not healthy. The sleeper sofa was old and tired and very uncomfortable. Doors, furniture, and walls were scratched and smudged. The bed in the master BR was comfortable and the ones in the other bedroom were OK. One side of the closet in the Master BR was unusable due to the large hot water heater that stood there. The other side had 4" copper pipe running down the middle [sewer pipe from the second floor]. The venetian blind was missing a few slats. They charged $170 per night. I checked around and there Inns/motels in the vicinity that were significantly less expensive. I have never stayed in a worst place in 20 years.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DonRueCler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    22
    17
    6
    8
See reviews for
28
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The property and room needs some "sprucing up." The bed was reasonably comfortable. Noticed there was areas set aside for smaller children which would be a good asset for families. The kitchen area was clean although we did not use.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aerolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bethel hotels

Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My friend and I were looking for a place to stay near the Appalachian Trail. I'd just sprained my ankle hiking on the AT, and needed to rest and recover. From check-in to check-out, the staff treated us like family members. We thoroughly enjoyed the jacuzzi, sauna and pool, as well as the beautiful mountain and river view. In fact, we returned twice more during the time spent in Maine. Thank you Irene, Wendy, Sara, Lillian, Betsy, Chad and everyone!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellington, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I would like to say "Thank you for a clean and happy home feeling stay"! We really loved it! We do plan to come back for another stay in fall of this year! Your staff is first rate! We would like more information on how to purchase a time share unit we loved it so much!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Nice room with two bedrooms, a kitchen and living room. The staff is very nice and were accommodating to our late arrival. Kids enjoyed an evening swim in the pool. Only one treadmill so get in there early. Overall a very pleasant place to stay just outside of Bethel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed here for a few days of skiing and liked the place. Not too far from the slopes (connected with a free shuttle service). Has a pool and hot tub. The spacious apartments are in a good shape with full kitchen and decent furnishing. Can recommend it to families and other groups.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Our family of 5 (2 adults, 3 teens) stayed in a 2-bedroom suite at River View Resort over the holiday while skiing at Sunday River. The spacious suite with full kitchen and comfortable (but not fancy) furnishings met our needs very well. Recommended for family travel and/or small groups.

Pros:
- Good-size living/room kitchen, separate bedrooms.
- Well-equipped kitchen in suite
- Friendly, helpful staff
- Short drive to Sunday River, town of Bethel, restaurants
- Clean, pleasant swimming pool, hot tub and sauna
- Small game room with ping pong table
- Good value
Cons:
- Room cleaning service was spotty. (We were told there would be no service Christmas day, which was fine, but the room was not cleaned on another day though we were out for more than 5 hours midday.)
- Beds are ok but not great; sofa bed was pretty uncomfortable.
- One bathroom for a suite that accommodates up to 6 people is not ideal.
- Outdoor hallway means going out in the cold to pool, game room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iknowhowitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverviewBethel, Manager at River View Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
We apologize for any inconvenience. During the Holidays our cleaning staff is right out straight and we do explain to guests at check-in that if they have their Do Not Disturb signs out when housekeeping reaches their room the staff will not return later. Clean towels are available for those who need them at the front desk.

We are in the process of replacing all the sofa beds in the living room with very comfortable fold down futons, and we do apologize for the one bath but it is noted in all our advertising. Because the walk way is out doors to the pool we have provided a separate half bath there and two changing rooms and a shower so guests can come and go fully clothed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
17.9 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
18.8 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#3 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.7 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#8 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Resort

Property: River View Resort
Address: 357 Mayville Rd, Bethel, ME 04217-4412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River View Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River View Resort is a great place to kick off a vacation in Western Maine’s premier 4-season playground. In winter you can enjoy the thrills of downhill and cross country skiing, snowmobiling and other winter activities. Summertime, you can improve your game with the area’s world-class golfing. Enjoy canoeing, rafting, kayaking or hiking the wilds of Maine. Melt your cares away in the hot tub or sauna. Any season of the year, our 80ºF indoor pool is a real treat. The friendly couple that manage the River View will supply you with kayaks, paddles and life vests for some down-home river fun.All guest accommodations at River View are two-bedroom suites that sleep 5. All of the suites are clean and comfortable. The master bedroom has two closets, ample bureau storage and a comfy queen-size bed. The second bedroom has two twin beds, bureau and closet storage. In good weather, sit on the wrap-around deck and just enjoy the beautiful countryside. Kitchens are fully equipped with pots, pans, silverware, dishes and more.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your River View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River View Hotel Bethel
River View Resort Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing