We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Summit Resort at Sunday River
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bethel
Hamilton, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Dated but Good”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Good ski in ski out location. Restaurant recently upgraded and enlarged making more room for breakfast which is their best meal. Rooms are tired but new mattresses. Staff is excellent. I have been three times and this year was the best. Earlier years rooms were worse so it looks like they are working on it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cflaherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    45
    35
    18
    8
See reviews for
38
40
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Lets start with the good since that list is short: The valet service and the help in general is very accommodating and helpful. The valet will park your car for you, and since it was 0 degrees on check-in, that was very welcome. Desk help and housekeeping help professional. The renovated bar, Camp, is nice with a good beer selection and appetizer menu.
The rest of this place is just tired and depressing. It hasn't been refurbished since perhaps Jimmy Carter's administration. Old green velvet furniture. Old carpet, both in need of a good cleaning. My room was not small, but so oddly shaped it actually had a Murphy bed (pulls out of and retracts into the wall!) Who wants that. The room is depressing and dark. The bathroom is passable but very tiny --as in the door comes within 1 inch of the toilet when you close it.
There's no store or kiosk, disappointing in such a large place. Only a creepy vending room.
The place needs $15-20M in improvements Now.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLF422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bethel hotels

Thornton, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We have been coming here for years but due to the general decline, this will probably be our last stay at this propertyy when visiting the ski area.

The Good:
location - easy slopeside access. Truly ski in and out
Pool and hot tub area, wonderfully heated
Cleanliness of units
Friendliness of staff
Well stocked kitchen area with full-sized appliances
Ski check

The Bad (and the ugly):
No hot water, and virtually no pressure in unit kitchen or bathroom sinks for entire stay, in spite of having been "addressed" by maintenance. (Thankfully, the tub spigot had hot water.)
Hot temperature in unit - turned thermostat alll the way down and had to leave window open or the unit stayed at 76 degrees or higher.
Health Club temperature was 80 degrees in the exercise area - seriously - in February???? The attendent seemed surprised that I found it uncomfortable and it was only after I remarked it was hot that she called maintenance. Obviously, it was never fixed as the windows remained open the next two days.
Poor internet - both my computer and ipad were incredibly slow and lost connection every few minutes
Very noisy - you can hear every word from next door if you have a connecting room
Very uncomfortable Murphy bed that creaked and groaned with the slightest movement
1 pillow per person

This place has the potential to be a "grand" place. The lack of hot water and inability to control room temperatures (also heard the same complaint from many other guests) along with the poor internet are qualities that make this a less than average lodging. We would expect any generic hotel chain to be able to deliver hot water and a comfortable environment with the cabability to connect to the internet. Just because the property abuts a great ski area should not excuse lower standards of service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sippican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

If you like a NOISY hotel, this is the place for you.
We could hear EVERYTHING above us, below us, adjacent rooms, and nonstop running in the hallways beginning at 6 am. Management was sympathetic, but did little or nothing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richardwvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I arrived at the Summit Resort with no luggage so my stay didn't start out so well. I asked for a robe upon arrival just to be able to change into something different and they had nothing and did not appear overly interested in my predicament. I asked if there was a small shop and they said it was closed and no one could open it. Every day the little shop either closed at 4 and one day at 3. I am not even sure why they bother having it.

My room was OK. The room had a murphy bed and a small kitchen. The dishes and cutlery were dated. The table and chairs the same. The bed was comfortable which was very good. The bathroom, again was average. The bathtub appeared discoloured so not very enticing for a bath. Everything was just average.

There is a small grocery store at the bottom of the hill which is really the best option because other than the one restaurant in the hotel which was pretty good, there is nothing around. There is a area that serves breakfast and lunch which is very good but again opens late and closes early.

There is valet parking but if you need to leave before 7am, there is no one there and the front desk has no idea where your car is.

It seems everything closes early and opens late. Would not rush to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JECan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Can't even tell you all how disappointed I was that I wasted bothy vacation time and hard earned money on this place.
First off it is NOT a resort but a tired and worn timeshare. The rooms are dated and tacky. They are clean-

The only option for breakfast is the Camp restaurant. It is buffet only and way overpriced for the poor choices and food. Absolutely unacceptable especially if they want to even pretend to be a resort. After breakfast until 4 pm your only option for food is a horrible snack bar by the pool. I was
Starving waited until 4 only to wait another. 45 minutes fort sandwich ordered at the Camp. I finally left and BTW was one of 2 people there. Seriously.

The valet staff was fantastic- points to them. The desk staff frequently gave incorrect information.

No attention to detail and again, this is not a resort. The ski
And out is nice but it is not worth the money- total waste.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 147Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubs
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The hotel is nice and is super convenient to ski right on to the mountain. The front desk are very nice and helpful and the staff that monitors the pool and hot tub are very nice as well. The hot tub overlooks some of the ski mountain and is always popular after skiing for the day. Just keep in mind that it's always packed so you can't be shy. The hotel rooms with the kitchenettes are really convenient if you want to make some of your own food.

If this was a review just about Grand Summits restaurant Camp, I would easily give it zero stars. Although it's conveniently located in the hotel and was recently renovated with a nice ambience, don't be fooled because the service is horrendous and the food is just ok. To start, the hostess couldn't understand that if a table was not available that minute, we were willing to wait and get on a list. She kept just saying, 'but we're full'.... yes, we understand that happens to restaurants. The bartender was overly sarcastic that it went over the line of being just plain rude. The waitresses were ok and nice for the most part but one of them stood our check up on the table before we even got out food! We have stayed here for 4 years on a ski trip and this year the breakfast buffet was not very good. When the restaurant was Legends it wasn't great but it was what you expected from a small hotel restaurant. Needless to say, Camp was disappointing. Go to the Matterhorn or Phoenix if you are looking for a decent meal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveCTandNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
3.9 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
3.6 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
2.4 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#3 of 15 in Bethel
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
River View Resort
River View Resort
#14 of 15 in Bethel
64 reviews
15.2 mi away
Evergreen Valley Inn and Villas
Evergreen Valley Inn and Villas
#1 of 1 in East Stoneham
34 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#8 of 15 in Bethel
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Summit Resort at Sunday River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Summit Resort at Sunday River

Property: Grand Summit Resort at Sunday River
Address: Sunday River Access Road, Bethel, ME 04217
Location: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bethel
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Grand Summit Resort at Sunday River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Summit Resort At Sunday River Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing