We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Summit Resort at Sunday River
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bethel
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Noisy”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

If you like a NOISY hotel, this is the place for you.
We could hear EVERYTHING above us, below us, adjacent rooms, and nonstop running in the hallways beginning at 6 am. Management was sympathetic, but did little or nothing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richardwvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    43
    35
    18
    8
See reviews for
38
40
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I arrived at the Summit Resort with no luggage so my stay didn't start out so well. I asked for a robe upon arrival just to be able to change into something different and they had nothing and did not appear overly interested in my predicament. I asked if there was a small shop and they said it was closed and no one could open it. Every day the little shop either closed at 4 and one day at 3. I am not even sure why they bother having it.

My room was OK. The room had a murphy bed and a small kitchen. The dishes and cutlery were dated. The table and chairs the same. The bed was comfortable which was very good. The bathroom, again was average. The bathtub appeared discoloured so not very enticing for a bath. Everything was just average.

There is a small grocery store at the bottom of the hill which is really the best option because other than the one restaurant in the hotel which was pretty good, there is nothing around. There is a area that serves breakfast and lunch which is very good but again opens late and closes early.

There is valet parking but if you need to leave before 7am, there is no one there and the front desk has no idea where your car is.

It seems everything closes early and opens late. Would not rush to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JECan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Can't even tell you all how disappointed I was that I wasted bothy vacation time and hard earned money on this place.
First off it is NOT a resort but a tired and worn timeshare. The rooms are dated and tacky. They are clean-

The only option for breakfast is the Camp restaurant. It is buffet only and way overpriced for the poor choices and food. Absolutely unacceptable especially if they want to even pretend to be a resort. After breakfast until 4 pm your only option for food is a horrible snack bar by the pool. I was
Starving waited until 4 only to wait another. 45 minutes fort sandwich ordered at the Camp. I finally left and BTW was one of 2 people there. Seriously.

The valet staff was fantastic- points to them. The desk staff frequently gave incorrect information.

No attention to detail and again, this is not a resort. The ski
And out is nice but it is not worth the money- total waste.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 147Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bethel hotels

dubs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The hotel is nice and is super convenient to ski right on to the mountain. The front desk are very nice and helpful and the staff that monitors the pool and hot tub are very nice as well. The hot tub overlooks some of the ski mountain and is always popular after skiing for the day. Just keep in mind that it's always packed so you can't be shy. The hotel rooms with the kitchenettes are really convenient if you want to make some of your own food.

If this was a review just about Grand Summits restaurant Camp, I would easily give it zero stars. Although it's conveniently located in the hotel and was recently renovated with a nice ambience, don't be fooled because the service is horrendous and the food is just ok. To start, the hostess couldn't understand that if a table was not available that minute, we were willing to wait and get on a list. She kept just saying, 'but we're full'.... yes, we understand that happens to restaurants. The bartender was overly sarcastic that it went over the line of being just plain rude. The waitresses were ok and nice for the most part but one of them stood our check up on the table before we even got out food! We have stayed here for 4 years on a ski trip and this year the breakfast buffet was not very good. When the restaurant was Legends it wasn't great but it was what you expected from a small hotel restaurant. Needless to say, Camp was disappointing. Go to the Matterhorn or Phoenix if you are looking for a decent meal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveCTandNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oromocto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

First with the Good. The outdoor hot tub is a nice concept that makes for a nice after ski treat. The in-hotel restaurant makes a perfect breakfast which was so filling that I did not require lunch on each day of skiing. It is quite convenient to be able to ski in and out of your hotel. A gift shop is available if needed. Large hotel rooms. Lobby is large and nice. Channel 2 was a Sunday River channel that gave info on the hill including trails. Also online their trails and lifts are updated frequently which is nice.
The Hill - Lots of variety of trails, no wait at lifts mid week. Lots of Lifts. Well Groomed.

Now the Bad.
The ski and stay package. We looked at the prices online, they are very misleading. They are based on MAX occupancy and not double occupancy. So, if you are going as a couple as we did you cannot actually see the prices online. So we had to book with a phone agent. SHE FLAT OUT LIED TO US. She booked us into a package that we did not agree to. (If you are wondering how she lied, here is the scenario. Me: So we have a package for 3 days of skiing and 2 nights accommodation. Her: Yes. (Then we arrive and we have 2 days of skiing and 2 nights for the same price.)) Because this was done over the phone there was no paper trail to prove that is what she said. The resort did not care because we had already paid and we were there. They knew we would not ask for our money back and drive the 6 hours back to our home in Canada. There was clearly a mistake, and the hotel staff had no empathy and told us to go sort it out with the reservations department.

Value- We thought was pretty good turned out to be significantly less than expected. Especially since we had booked mid week when the resort was empty, and it was quite empty. Limited benefits midweek ie. No night skiing, no tubing, later start to the day, no waffle barn.

Rooms- Large and outdated. Did not offer basic amenities like fridges. Very thin walls. Small bathroom. Difficult to control in-room heating. Beds are quite uncomfortable and small. They hang over the edges of the box spring which make the outer rim of the bed unsleepable. My wife and I ended up sleeping in separate beds because of this. Multiple plugs in rooms did not work. Other people at resort (not us) had their room keys not work for an extended period of time and so everyone in the long hall way was locked out of their rooms and had to leave all their stuff outside their rooms.

The Pool and Hot Tub - 1st day was very nice, 2nd day was very cold and we didn't stay because it was so cold.

The Hill - From the hotel for beginners it is difficult to ski to the center of the ski hill where most of the easy trails are. (you can take a shuttle) Also for beginners a lot of the trails cross very challenging trails which is both dangerous and incredibly intimidating. Especially when you cross from Jordan to the center. Some of the rating of trails is arbitrary. One green may be more like a blue and a blue may be more like a green. In particular, the resort makes an attempt to have a green come off every lift so that all skiers can use any lift, but in that attempt, some green, probably should have been blues. The hill makes a lot of their snow, so I found it very granular and they groom almost all their trails so this granulation turns to ice when groomed. Signage was ok at bottom and top of hill, but not good mid hill. Could easily be improved mid hill with better signage. Also, had problems more than once when going down a green trail with beginners when the trail was abruptly closed and all skiers were then forced to go down difficult blue trails. There was no signage prior to us taking the green trail that this would happen. Lifts would close randomly without any apparent reason to us.

RECOMMENDATIONS: To future guests.
1)Bring a house coat to wear to and from pool to room.
2)Eat off resort for suppers. (breakfast at camp which was delicious). Lots of very good decently priced restaurants in area. ie Matterhorn. on Tuesday had 1/2 pizza's $8 per 12 inch home made pizza with your choice of toppings. Was awesome. Also had live music.
3)Consider other hotels in the area and just driving the short distance in the morning.
4)We brought our own cooler. The 2nd floor has an ice machine.
5)If you have beginner skiers consider the shuttle to the main hills ie North Peak
6)Make sure you get at least an email that states exactly what you are getting when you book with the resort.
7)With just a small amount of snow falling the drive took twice as long to get there, so consider that when planning travel time.
8)Consider wearing a toque to the hot tub. It made my experience much nicer the second time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeremySmith64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed at the Grand Summit Sunday River a number of times and actually liked being a little further from the action with convenient access to the side parking lot. We went to the Camp restaurant twice and while it didn't represent the most important part of our stay, the experience was so opposite that I felt it made sense to mention that in the title. Our dinners were great and if we stayed longer we would have gone again. Give it a try.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are very warm and the comforters are nice but hot so your window may need to be le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Been here several times and like it. Just wish it was a bit closer to the main lodge. Its a long enough trip back sling that we often just catch the bus. But the bus is real simple and quick so no complaints. Very nice staff and the skiing has a lot more variety than many other mountains, but its just a wee but far to drive so plan at least 3 nights! This last time I stayed here while my son stayed at the ski dorm with his scout troop. It was convenient with the shuttle and a lot more comfortable than staying in the dorm lol

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MameAndTheKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
17.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
3.9 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
3.6 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#3 of 15 in Bethel
164 reviews
1.6 mi away
River View Resort
River View Resort
#14 of 15 in Bethel
64 reviews
15.2 mi away
Evergreen Valley Inn and Villas
Evergreen Valley Inn and Villas
#1 of 1 in East Stoneham
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Summit Resort at Sunday River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Summit Resort at Sunday River

Property: Grand Summit Resort at Sunday River
Address: Sunday River Access Road, Bethel, ME 04217
Location: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bethel
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Grand Summit Resort at Sunday River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Summit Resort At Sunday River Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing