We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Summit Resort at Sunday River
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trails End Motel(Rumford Point)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Blue Iris Motor Inn(Rumford Center)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveler rating
29
48
44
17
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
48
44
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscamp restaurantski checkhot tubsouth wingsunday rivertwo queen bedsstudio roomsummer vacationvegetarian optionssmall balconydoor poolexercise roomlift ticketsnice saunawhite caphealth clubbreakfast buffet is
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 146 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We were here for a car club annual get together.

We rented a one-room suite with a queen bedroom, and a queen Murphy bed and queen sleeper sofa in common room. Kitchenette with full size refrigerator, stove, microwave. Room had large balcony overlooking mountain. Could sleep 6 easily.

Pros: quiet, clean, very comfortable. Comfortable bed. Large, Flat screen TVs in both common area and bedroom. Two large closet areas. Nice bathroom with plenty of linens. Green features such as dimming hallway lights when no one is present. Excellent meeting price for a room that rents for $800 in ski season. Very nice staff that are eager to please.

Cons: a bit of a hike to front desk and restaurants. Hot/humid hallways. Our final banquet was in a facility on top of mountain. NO AIR CONDITIONING in 80+ degree heat. Had to ride ski lift/chondola to mountain top, then walk long, unlit gravel pathway to facility.

Neutral: pricey restaurants that seem to be the norm these days. Old motel unit air conditioners that freeze up easily.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BKB40383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Sunday River is known as the largest ski resort in the northeast US, but we chose to use our timeshare week during the summer because we have family with a place on a lake nearby. On the weekends, you can take the Gondola to the top & hike to the neighboring peaks, and then ride back down. They have easy, moderate & difficult trails. They also have mountain-biking trails, zip-lining & geo-caching available, but only Thursday or Friday through Sunday. Sunday River also has a famous golf course, but if you stay at the Grand Summit, beware that it is another 15 minute ride to the golf course which is located near the Jordan Resort on the other end of the range. There are several other courses all within an hour or so from Bethel.
Room was not luxurious, but it was clean and comfortable. Our 1 bedroom was a lock-off, with 2 doubles & a Murphy bed and 2 full baths. The kitchen wasn't really usable for much else other than the fridge, toaster and microwave. I wouldn't on using the stove--too small and not enough supplies. Even though we were there on a timeshare, we had house-keeping every day and did not have to pay extra. The pool was nice enough--hot tub could use updating. There is a cafe on the premises, but the restaurant/bar had limited hours. Plenty of locations to choose from in the town of Bethel, however. All in all, nice stay, very relaxing and beautiful scenery. This place is spectacular in the fall.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Our suite with King Bed on third floor very nice. Kitchen well equipped. All appliances worked well, including AC. Sitting area, dining table and bathroom were roomy. King bedroom large with views of forest less than twenty feet away.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karenaprn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

It's a little pricey, but very accomodating. Scenic, and peaceful. The outdoor heated pool was great, but we were disappointed that the pool didn't open till 10:00 am. We like to get our laps in early, because the rest of the day there were children in the pool and we couldn't swim. The front desk was helpful and efficient. They have a great and oversized fitness center.
Was not ready to have to check out sat 10:30 in the morning. Also, check in time is not till after 6 pm, although they did give us some grace on check in. I think the hotel should revisit this policy, which was inconvenient for us.

Room Tip: Had a room above the pool, and since there were many families here, we had to close the windows to go to sleep since the pool is open till 10 pm
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tillary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Grand Summit Resort is a nice place to stay at Sunday River. The room was clean, the bed confortable. We used the pool outside that is open all year long. It was nice to swim whle it was snowing. The breakfast, included in the package, is very good with a large menu. The service is very fats which is very good when you want to be soon on the slopes. You stay right on the slopes, put your ski on and are ready to have a great day!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews