We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Summer Vacation at a Ski Resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Summit Resort at Sunday River

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Summit Resort at Sunday River
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bethel
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Summer Vacation at a Ski Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Sunday River is known as the largest ski resort in the northeast US, but we chose to use our timeshare week during the summer because we have family with a place on a lake nearby. On the weekends, you can take the Gondola to the top & hike to the neighboring peaks, and then ride back down. They have easy, moderate & difficult trails. They also have mountain-biking trails, zip-lining & geo-caching available, but only Thursday or Friday through Sunday. Sunday River also has a famous golf course, but if you stay at the Grand Summit, beware that it is another 15 minute ride to the golf course which is located near the Jordan Resort on the other end of the range. There are several other courses all within an hour or so from Bethel.
Room was not luxurious, but it was clean and comfortable. Our 1 bedroom was a lock-off, with 2 doubles & a Murphy bed and 2 full baths. The kitchen wasn't really usable for much else other than the fridge, toaster and microwave. I wouldn't on using the stove--too small and not enough supplies. Even though we were there on a timeshare, we had house-keeping every day and did not have to pay extra. The pool was nice enough--hot tub could use updating. There is a cafe on the premises, but the restaurant/bar had limited hours. Plenty of locations to choose from in the town of Bethel, however. All in all, nice stay, very relaxing and beautiful scenery. This place is spectacular in the fall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    42
    34
    16
    8
See reviews for
36
39
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Noank, Connecticut
Level Contributor
136 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Our suite with King Bed on third floor very nice. Kitchen well equipped. All appliances worked well, including AC. Sitting area, dining table and bathroom were roomy. King bedroom large with views of forest less than twenty feet away.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karenaprn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

It's a little pricey, but very accomodating. Scenic, and peaceful. The outdoor heated pool was great, but we were disappointed that the pool didn't open till 10:00 am. We like to get our laps in early, because the rest of the day there were children in the pool and we couldn't swim. The front desk was helpful and efficient. They have a great and oversized fitness center.
Was not ready to have to check out sat 10:30 in the morning. Also, check in time is not till after 6 pm, although they did give us some grace on check in. I think the hotel should revisit this policy, which was inconvenient for us.

Room Tip: Had a room above the pool, and since there were many families here, we had to close the windows to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tillary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Grand Summit Resort is a nice place to stay at Sunday River. The room was clean, the bed confortable. We used the pool outside that is open all year long. It was nice to swim whle it was snowing. The breakfast, included in the package, is very good with a large menu. The service is very fats which is very good when you want to be soon on the slopes. You stay right on the slopes, put your ski on and are ready to have a great day!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We get this resort through a time share trade and have stayed there three times over the years. As far as time shares go, it is an average resort but the staff are friendly, it is a ski in ski out resort and has a great outdoor pool. We go there in March so a number of the Canadian provinces have their school breaks then and consequently the resort is filled with families. Though we no longer have young children, we do not find this a distraction. The rooms have seemed more like hotel rooms then most time share resorts we are used to but as we are there for the skiing, it is acceptable.

The skiing at Sunday River is enjoyable and although we are not avid skiers, we have found Sunday River to be one of our favorite ski destinations because of the good snow, varied terrain, short line-ups, (Saturdays being the busiest) and casual atmosphere. For those looking for great after-ski entertainment and eating, this may not be the best choice but it is only 50-60 minutes from good shopping deals in North Conway, New Hampshire. And finally, one can not complain about the gorgeous scenery in this part of the country.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doniwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We booked this ski resort through Bob Van Wart Ski Groups. We are from Moncton, N.B., and wanted an affordable Spring Break vacation with the children. The last time I skiied was 14 years ago and I was reluctant on this venture, my wife booked. I wasn't expecting to enjoy it but agreed to go. If going to Sunday River, and you are from the Maritimes, I highly recommend going through Van Wart Ski Group.

Check in went smooth and fast. Parking was included. Staff were pleasant and attentive. The room we had was basically two hotel rooms adjoined. One room had two queen beds. The other room had the kitchen and a murphy bed. One bathroom in each room. The kitchen had all the basic essentials (ie. dish/dishwasher detergent, pots, pans, cutlery, plates, coffeemaker). Keep in mind the pots and pans aren't high end stuff but good enough to get by for the week. The room was clean and beds comfortable. I've been to Whistler, B.C., and you can't compare this to the high end resorts there. The Grand Summit Resort is a good mid-level resort aim towards families. The accomodation prices aren't cheap, but there really aren't a lot of other options in Bethel, especially during spring break. The resort was apparently full to capacity. It was nice to wake up, make some breakfast, grab your skiis from the ski check (who were always friendly), walk out the door, and throw your skis on. Made it so easy! I was amazed how enjoyable the skiing was here. We stayed on the green trails and there was more than enough to keep us occupied. The ski lifts are open till 4 pm. I recommend coming back a little before 4pm, to check in your skis. There was usually a long lineup at 4 pm. Once I heard the ski check was full.
We had almost all our meals in our room. We had stopped for groceries along the way and stocked the fridge. We didn't know how well the kitchen was stocked so we purchased food that was easy to prepare. There was a fridge, stove, oven, dishwasher.
The pool and hot tub area was a treat. Nice to soak in the hot tub after skiing. Kids loved the large warm outdoor pool while surrounded by snow.
The fitness area was surprising. They had more equipment and space than I expected. I didn't bring my workout clothes but will next time. They could use a pull up bar, unless I missed it. Nice sauna as well. Plenty of towels available.
Housekeeping was reasonable. Sometimes, they missed small things such as forgetting to provide shampoo, or dishwasher detergent. They brought it up when requested. The bed wasn't made once when we left the Ipad on the bed. Not sure if there is a policy regarding that. They have free wifi but the signal was weak from our room. Had to go to the lobby to get a good signal.
We didn't eat at the restaurant (Legends) so I can't comment on the food. Most of the entrees were over $20 which seemed pricey.
If you are looking for a reasonable family ski getaway, conveniently located on the mountain, I would recommend this resort. I can happily say, we will be back again!

Room Tip: First floor was great. It was the same level as the gym / pool, ski check in, and where to walk out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainmanfor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have been skiing at Sunday River for more than 20 years and have stayed at least once a year at the Grand Summit over the last 10 years. I have skied nearly every ski resort in New England, so I have a valid basis of comparison. What I love about the hotel:
1) Ski-in and ski-out with very easy access to our favorite trails. They have made a concerted effort to have the ski-in and ski-out accessibility as early and late in the season as possible (terrific snow making). It is very easy to get first tracks when you can ski out the door at 7:55am and be right there when the lifts open at 8. 2) The attached outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi make the entire trip worthwhile. In comparison, we tried Sugarloaf Grand Summit this year, which does not have this amenity, and we missed it dearly. 3) The rooms with a kitchen are perfect. When you are too exhausted from skiing, you can make a quick dinner and relax in the room. Also great for a hot lunch break during the ski day - save a ton of $$ vs. eating in the lodges. 4) In comparison with the Jordan Grand Hotel, the Grand Summit is much closer to everything, and the Jordan lifts are more likely to close due to wind holds. The rooms are not much different, other than granite counters in the bathrooms at the Jordan.
5) Very comfortable beds and plenty of space to spread out.
6) The rooms in the south wing are more recently renovated and more quiet than the main hotel.

We typically request room 375, which is on the 3rd floor at the end of the hall. VERY QUIET and lovely view from the balcony. This wing also has its own parking lot, which is very convenient.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and Sunday River Ski Resort for an excellent ski vacation.

Room Tip: See review above - Room 375 is extremely quiet. It is at the end of the hall in the South wing and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SavvyTraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
18.5 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
3.6 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#9 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Snow Cap Inn
Snow Cap Inn
#12 of 15 in Bethel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#3 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Summit Resort at Sunday River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Summit Resort at Sunday River

Property: Grand Summit Resort at Sunday River
Address: Sunday River Access Road, Bethel, ME 04217
Location: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bethel
Number of rooms: 230
Also Known As:
Grand Summit Resort At Sunday River Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing