We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss the river trail” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunday River Covered Bridge

Ranked #3 of 19 things to do in Bethel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A covered bridge built in 1872 that is said to be one of the most painted and photographed covered bridges in Maine.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't miss the river trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

There is a trail that starts near the bridge which took us to some very pretty views of the river and fall foliage. I got some good pictures there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank drileyTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    31
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Scenic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Short drive from Bethel was a treat with the fall foliage at it's peak. Foilage adjacent to bridge added beauty. Convenient parking is available.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mlunstra2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tx
Level Contributor
113 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

The Sunday River Bridge is nice if you are in area...but I wouldn't make a special trip again...it sits beside a busy 2 lane road...I think a working bridge on an oil top road has a much
more authentic feel...for instance the Babs Bridge...there was also a group of people having a formal meeting on the bridge (on a Sunday).. Which meant you couldn't really look at the bridge from the inside..All in all I would look for a working bridge..

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovetotravel720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
augusta
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Worth seeing, if you are in the area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have visited several times. If you are close anyway, it is a very nice thing to see. I wouldn't travel hours to see it tho!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilabobeila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A beautiful old bridge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I have seen this old covered bridge several times and understand why it's called the "artists bridge" because it would be excellent to paint a picture of this landmark. I can't paint so I take pictures and enjoy showing them to friends.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dedeos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunday River Covered Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Sunday River Covered Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing