We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ski Getaway”

Sunday River Ski Resort
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Bethel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Large resort complex for downhill skiing.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Ski Getaway”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Friendly people that want to make you smile. Skiing was fantastic, although it can be pricey for a family of 5. Going online and purchasing your lift tickets csn save you some great money.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    93
    27
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful week of skiing!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just returned from a week of skiing at Sunday River. The staff was awesome. Each of the 3 of us split and took a group lesson. The instructors were fantastic. Steve from Freeport was my instructor and the man has the patience of a saint. Wish I lived closer, I would take more lessons! My son ripped his ski jacket while he was taking a class and they allowed him to chose a brand new one from the ski shop. This was without me complaining or asking...they just offered. To me, that is awesome customer service. The food is good we ate at the Foggy Goggle, the cafe, the creperie and Sliders (LOVED Slider's menu). I would agree with some of the other reviewers in that the snowboarders can be real inconsiderate especially on family trails when they come flying by and especially at night when they come out in droves. Also, I would agree with the reviewer...Dreammaker and even Lollapolluza should be marked Intermediate at least at the beginning. That's more challenging terrain and I witnessed beginners on both have difficulty.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Americangirl624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You can't beat the view!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a large group that visited Sunday River during February vacation including kids and adults. The skiing is excellant but the views are top-knotch! We did not find the fellow skiiers/snowboarders to be friendly or courteous at all. The staff and lift attendants were great and the conditions were perfect. If I had to make one recommendation The Dreamaker trail should be marked intermediate and not beginner.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mjoseph88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lots of Variety, Good Trail Maintenance”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

A great place to ski. We enjoyed the variety of trails, going from one end of the resort to the other and back before settling on runs that we preferred. Even on a holiday week, and when lifts were on hold because of wind, we rarely had to wait very long in lift lines. The snow coverage was excellent, and they obviously manage what they have with care. Areas for improvement - the signage is poor, with many intersections unmarked and others with confusing signs. Also, many of the lifts are aging, and although a slow old lift is nice on a sunny warm day, it is unpleasant when it's cold and windy and you need to keep the blood flowing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bromelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice midweek stay - great skiing and nice staff”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had a couple of very nice days of skiing there. The resort is well maintained. The staff friendly. The ski school excellent and the hotel was great. All in all a great trip.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fiddleskiyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunday River Ski Resort also viewed

 

Been to Sunday River Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing