We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Great Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bethel Village Motel
Ranked #6 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was a clean, comfortable and great hotel. You cannot go wrong staying here - it is a great location to anywhere within Bethel as well as the surrounding areas. There are a couple of restaurant's and pubs within walking distance, a small grocery store just 2 buildings up, and easy access to the shops. My husband and I used Bethel as a "base camp" to the see the fall foliage. We were within a 2 hour drive to New Hampshire, we did the drive that took us along Route 17 to Rangeley Lakes, the Artist's Bridge was about 10 minutes away, Step Falls (Wight Brook), and Screw Auger Falls. Bethel Village Motel is a great location for all these locations and so much more.

Room Tip: Chose one of the rooms close to the road to get the additional windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt and Dee De... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 49 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

I was looking for an inexpensive place for my husband and I to stay within Bethel Village. As I was registered for the Maine State Triathlon, I was hoping for somewhere that would allow me to check out later than normal (without an ridiculously elevated fee) so that I could duck in for a shower after the race, before driving home at the end of the weekend. Bethel Village Motel fit the bill perfectly! It is within walking distance of several in-town restaurants, and the owner graciously allowed us to check out as late as 1pm (I think normal checkout is 11) with no added fee. We stayed in an end room on the 2nd floor and found it clean, cute, and nicely arranged. All of the 2nd floor rooms share a building-long deck with comfortable furniture for fresh-air lounging.. We only stayed 1 night, but I could definitely stay longer, and will definitely consider staying there again. We usually stay in B&B's when we travel, for both the friendly atmosphere and delicious food. We knew we'd be at the triathlon race during any breakfast a B&B would offer, which is why we inestigated motels and hotels instead. This worked out perfectly!

Room Tip: 2nd floor was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The hotel is in a great location in the center of town and it has a lot of charm. If you are looking for a resort the Bethel Inn is the place as the Bethel Village Motel is simple and affordable. It does have a nice porch as you can see from the picture. It is perfect for a weekend of skiing at Sunday River which is about 4.7 miles away

Room Tip: I like the room on the second floor by the street. That way it is a easy walk to my car on the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sark4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

An affordable, clean, conveniently located motel 15 min away from Sunday River. Looks lovely inside and out, on the 2nd floor of a clothing retail store that's very pretty. Our room was very clean, so were staircase and hallway despite the snow-sand mix spread everywhere in town after a recent snow storm. Bathroom has been renovated recently, shower worked great. The A/C-heating system below the window was a bit noisy; being not used to a fan kicking in every 10 min at night, I couldn't sleep so turned it off; room was still warm in morning. We stayed there the night before heading uphill to one if the Sunday River resorts that felt like a rip off after this nice, affordable night. Next time we go skiing we'll stay in Bethel, prob at this motel, close from nice restaurants, bakery, grossery store, and drive to the slopes daily. Owners were friendly, made the stay even nicer

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here over the summer whilst on honeymoon. The hosts were very welcoming and friendly and gave us advice on places to eat and directions for our onward journey. It has so much character and charm and is very homely. Would definitely recommend and would stay again.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank wanderer050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I almost hate to review this place because it is my favorite place to stay on vendor trips to Bethel's several art festivals, and someday I will be told she has no vacancy as travelers eventually find the in-town convenience, freshness of the rooms and charm of Ruthies little hotel. For the naysayers on this forum, go stay at the Bethel Inn! If you need every little convenience or a fancy and upsxcale place.... and everything to be super contemporary, go elsewhere. This place is clean and well-tended and very reasonable. Fresh flowers adorn the balcony tables in early July. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hollingworth51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

This isn't the Ritz, if your looking for 5 star, then you will be dissapointed. HOWEVER if your looking for a quaint little country inn type expereince this is it. Me and my wife have stayed here multiple times already and will be staying here again this Christmas eve and then every time we go skiing up at Sunday River throughout the season.

Every-time we've gotten in, it has been late (we drive up from Rhode Island which is a minimum of a 4 hour drive) and every time she has met us with a smile and a warm welcome. Every room is different and has its own charm. Its not modern, but full of charm that you would expect in a get-away to the mountains. We are both young (in our late 20s) and we found it charming and relaxing. We've stayed in some nicer places that are closer to the mountain, but they didn't make us feel nearly as relaxed at the Village motel - it has that "at home feel".

The best part is, the rates are the same - mid-week or weekend, holiday or non-holiday. And with tax is still cheaper than other places around. She usually doesn't book up fast unless there is a snow storm coming.

Every time the sheets/towels/carpet have been clean - never had a dirty room. Imagaine a bed and breakfast, but without the breakfast (or the high cost).

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethel hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
1.2 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#4 of 15 in Bethel
172 reviews
0 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
0.9 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 15 in Bethel
50 reviews
2 mi away
River View Resort
River View Resort
#14 of 15 in Bethel
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bethel Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethel Village Motel

Address: 88 Main St, Bethel, ME 04217-4042
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bethel Village Motel is conveniently located in the beautiful mountain village of Bethel, Maine, with easy access to shopping and dining. Affordable rates. Close to Sunday River Ski Resort, Mt. Abram Ski Area, Sunday River Golf Course, White Mountain National Forest, Androscoggin River, and more year-round 4-season recreational opportunties in Western Maine. Free Mountain Explorer shuttle bus to Sunday River Ski Resort. All rooms are on second floor above our women's boutique, Ruthies. Complimentary Green Mountain Coffee and other hot beverages available from 5:30 am daily. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bethel Village Hotel Bethel
Bethel Village Motel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing