We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Staff was nice, place was very clean, if you stay here rent one of the cottages. If your looking for a nice peaceful clean place to stay this is the place. Not a whole lot to do in Belfast, but you are only about an hour away from Arcadia National Forest which I highly recommend you see.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlu55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 320 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2010

This place is older than dirt. Brochure speaks of shuffleboard,etc., etc. Shuffleboard court in no playing condition. Never did see any "nightly campfire"! The beach is very rough and small, full of seawood and debris and not enticing at all. Wooden playswing shown in brochure is old and looks rickety. Lattice on lower part of each cottage is warped and tacky looking. The paved roadways which weave in and out between cottages are so heaved up and warped that you can't go more than 5 mph. and are in desperate need of sealing. Our cottage was mostly squeaky clean and has been recently remodeled in the interior, however the bathroom was in need of much redesign i.e. toilet jammed tight against wall, sink is huge, taking up valuable space, some of wood baseboards near shower rotted and discolored. Bathroom floor was not very clean. Owners need to rethink the window treatments - although pretty and of good quality they were stiff and in the way and left gaps which compromise privacy. The refrigerator was a tiny one like a dorm fridge. The worst thing was the bed. We have an extra firm mattress at home and are used to firm sleeping surfaces, but this bed was like sleeping on the floor - mattress thin and cheap. Exterior of most of the cottages consisted of old, warped clapboard and flower boxes that are warped and horribly neglected. The deck was nice and new but the stairs to it were slanted and could represent a safety hazard. Outside we had a huge bee/wasp population - we did complain and staff sprayed with excellent results. These cottages were probably built in the 40's or 50's. Our cottage had zero shade, although some did have partially covered decks. Best features - our kitchen and bedroom were extremely clean and the towels/washcloths were snow white, soft and fragrant - very thick and thirsty. The location was convenient, right off U.S. 1 - even though a heavily traveled road you never heard any road noise. What noise you DID hear early every morning was the maid's van which has no muffler - very loud awakening every morning. You can do better than this place for the same money.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNboomer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

The cottage we had made our trip to Maine the best it could be. We enjoyed sitting on the deck looking over the ocean enjoying a glass of wine from the local wineries. The Queen size beds were the most comfortable that we have ever slept in at a rental facility. The cottage was newly remodeled and decorated. The large HDTV with Blue ray was a real plus. I highly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank com-trader-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

We had a wonderful night at Colonial Gables. The lady at the desk was very friendly and our check-in was super simple. Our room was cozy and very nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable and everything was spotless. The beach was a very nice plus. We enjoyed our stay very much and hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosemary1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

If you are lokng a place to truly relax, Colonial Gables Inn is it! Imagine enjoying a cup of coffee on the deck of your cottage overlooking mountains and a bay. Add a cool, crisp morning, a rocking chair and a blanket wrapped around you. Time seems to slow down, anxieties dissipate and the mind becomes as calm as the rippling bay waters.
Cottage 37 was as clean and fresh as you could ask for. We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T_boyNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

I had my family stay here for my wedding and I was worried that it may not be as nice as I was hoping for. The price was good so you never know when you see it on the web if they are really telling the truth. I work for a high end small resort in Key Largo Florida called Kona Kai and we work VERY hard to make everything just perfect for our guest. Everything is white glove clean from inside out. I have to say Colonial Gables has beautiful well kept grounds, wonderful, hard working staff at the front desk, great rooms (we stayed in the waterfront 2 bedroom suite and two of the hotel rooms), and a great beach area! We could not have chosen a better place. My mom ended up staying at another place which was NOT nice at all. Dirty and loud.
I am happy with colonial Gables and would send anyone who is looking for an economical, clean, lovely place to stay in Belfast on the water. They even had a great place set by the beach for the kids, swings, slide, ping pong etc...

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manager4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

This location has wonderful curb appeal with the beautiful perennial gardens at the entry. It is right on Route 1 but sits below the road so we did not hear any road noise at all. Our newly renovated cottage [number 18] was very clean. I believe it was renovated in 2007. The floors are hardwood, the ceiling is tongue-in-groove pine, it has an extra large bathroom with a step-in shower. Handles on either side of the shower on the outside, no handles inside. Two queen-size beds with open work [non-upholstered] headboards in the main room, a round dining table with two chairs and a closet. Air conditioned, ceiling fan with light as well as a light on a table between the beds and a small TV above a built-in chest of drawers. Kitchenette had coffee maker, small refrigerator, and a lot of utensils, plates and cups. I think there was also a 2-burner stove. There are about 44 cottages of differing sizes and amenities offered at this location. Speak to Greta when you call and tell her what you need. I found her to be very responsive. She listened and gave us the type of accommodations that we needed. She told me the owner is renovating several cottages each year and from what I could see, they're doing a good job. They were working on a few while we were there. You'll see from my photos what the cottage looks like from the outside and the view to Penobscot Bay below. I have only one complaint, and it's a small one: it would have been nice if the window boxes would have been full of blooming flowers.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melaniemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belfast
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
0.1 mi away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
1.0 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#3 of 8 in Belfast
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Yankee Clipper Motel
Yankee Clipper Motel
#2 of 8 in Belfast
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gull Motel
The Gull Motel
#7 of 8 in Belfast
57 reviews
20.9 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#4 of 10 in Rockport
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village

Address: 7 Eagle Ave, Belfast, ME 04915-7119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
#4 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: $60 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village, located in the mid-coast region, offers guest rooms and cottages in Belfast, Maine. All units have beautiful views of Penobscot Bay and the outer island of Islesboro. we are located on ten acres with easy access into the water for a refreshing swim. There is a children's playground area along with BBQ grills and picnic tables throughout the property. You will especially enjoy the beautiful grounds and lovely gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village Hotel Belfast
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village Belfast, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing