We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, updated, nice.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Nice place. Rooms have been updated. Beds are good and there are new tvs and internet access. Bathrooms are all new including plumbing. Some road noise but rooms are generally quiet. The grounds are well kept and quite lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northerntraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 320 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed in a 2-bed cottage in October of 2012. Compared to the cottage/property we had stayed in the night before, this property was a bit run-down. You could tell that the cottages were older. Ours definitely had that lovely 60's flare going on in the room. The kitchen was pretty out of date as well. The redeeming quality of this property was the beach & water...watching the sunset come up in the am was quite lovely. Other than that, I would look for a place that is a little more updated.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank colormecolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I am a little reluctant to write a review so positive and give away our secret. We started coming 2 years ago on a lark because we wanted a "cottage on the beach" in New England for August and everything I could find was either over 4 grand or booked. We took a chance on Colonial Gables and this summer will be our third year. My husband, 2 kids (11 and 8) and our dog love it. Relaxed, and as modern or not as you'd like. You can get an older, dated cottage for less $$, or pay a bit more for updated units with flat screen TVs and DVD players. All have access to Colonial Gables wi-fi -- not super fast but sufficient. Why we come? Its the perfect place to hang out as a family and "disconnect" from all technology for a week. We play board games with the kids and sit on the beach every day. Its kind of like high-end camping on the beach, for people like me who can't pitch a tent. Its not super fancy, but perfect.

Belfast is an adorable ME seaside town, with a few lovely shops, restaurants and NO PRETENSE! Such a relief for a CT transplant who has had pretense up to her ears! This certainly isn't for everybody, but such a great fit for this nurse, her IT husband, and 2 kids who are usually glued to their video games, that we will be coming for years.

Room Tip: Go for the cottages, not the motel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmandaDell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The staff was very helpful,the location perfect and the cottage very comfortable. From the outside the cottage looks very small but the inside layout was well planned. It had a functional small kitchen, a queen bed,a built in TV and cabinet, and room for a table and a couple of chairs. The bathroom was clean larger than other cottages of the same size that I had used in the past. There was a good view of the water but there was not a porch or patio. Some of the cottages are undergoing interior and exterior restorations.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage nearest the beach with a porch. they have studio,one or two bedroom cottages to ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We booked for the motel but were updated free of charge upon arrival to one of the cottages because there was vacancy, so that was an immediate plus in terms of service and value.

The unit was in excellent shape - contemporary upgrades in the spacious kitchenette and bath prevent the cabin-style interior from feeling long in the tooth. All rooms (including motel) have a large, private porch with water views, which is also stellar.

The property is within walking distance of a couple solid restaurants, and really is prettier than the photos on the Colonial Gables website suggest. Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HJTRAVELERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed in the motel portion. Most of the property consists of cozy cottages, some just steps from their private beach. The staff is very nice and helpful.

The main reason to stay here is the beach. It's a Maine-type beach, rocky but with some smoother sandy patches. And each room has a private deck overlooking the sea. It is quite spectacular to wake up in the mornings and see the sunrise over the bay.

But the motel room was vintage 1970s, especially the bathroom. Everything was clean but very dated. The radiator covers were falling off the walls. The shower stall looked like it had been installed by a high school shop class. And the shower worked as badly as it looked. It proved impossible to make the shower give a decent stream of water of a reasonable temperature. The wimpy shower flow was either freezing or boiling. Most of the blame for this was the dual water knobs in the tub. Any decent shower from the past 20 years uses a single water knob. Not here though.

At night the front door admitted a continuous flow of chilly outside air. The front door also admitted outside light at night thru the built-in windows, which the thin shade did little to control. You will hear highway noise from the trucks going by all night on the main drag.

So if you really want to stay by the beach and don't mind the basic room facilities, give CG a try. It's not terrible, just dated.

Room Tip: Try the cottages, avoid the motel part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrolleyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

After reading some reviews I was a little nervous but when we arrived I fell in love! There's a hotel in the front and cottages in back of there that are right on the ocean. We had cottage #37 we called it a small house, Living room w/a flat screen tv a galley kitchen w/stainless steel applianes even a dishwasher. Bedroom had 2 queens bed and bath was good size. To make us fall even more in love a porch w/2 rocking chairs to sit and watch the ocean. We were on a hill and took 2mins to walk down to the beach. It is a rocky beach but thats expected for that part of Maine. The cottage was immaculate plenty of towels blankets kitchen stuff etc. Only complaint no explanation of what to do w/ diry towels as there is no maid service. No maids didnt bother us as it felt like we were renting a small house but if I was to stay longer than the 3nights we had I would of gone to office and ask for clean sheets and towels. For us we loved it and will definitly go back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belfast
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
0.1 mi away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
1 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#3 of 8 in Belfast
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Yankee Clipper Motel
Yankee Clipper Motel
#2 of 8 in Belfast
232 reviews
20.9 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#4 of 10 in Rockport
1,389 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gull Motel
The Gull Motel
#7 of 8 in Belfast
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village

Address: 7 Eagle Ave, Belfast, ME 04915-7119
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
#4 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: $60 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village, located in the mid-coast region, offers guest rooms and cottages in Belfast, Maine. All units have beautiful views of Penobscot Bay and the outer island of Islesboro. we are located on ten acres with easy access into the water for a refreshing swim. There is a children's playground area along with BBQ grills and picnic tables throughout the property. You will especially enjoy the beautiful grounds and lovely gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village Hotel Belfast
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village Belfast, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing