We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and simple”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice and simple”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

This is a nice and cozy place and if your a cottage is by the ocean the view is beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bermeriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    109
    27
    13
    11
See reviews for
73
147
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband and I and our 2 adult children spent a night here. Our only regret was that we didn't stay longer. We had 2 cottages, both looking out onto the Penobscot Bay. The hostess at the desk had gone down ahead of our arrival and turned the lights on and made sure the temperature was comfortable. The cottages were upgraded and immaculate. I loved the fact that each had a walk-in shower because I have a disability that makes climbing in and out of a tub difficult. The kitchens were equipped with dishes and pot and pans for an extended stay. Loved the little porch on the cottoage - A terrific place to sit and watch boats and sea birds and have your morning coffee. My only complaint was that there was a large bush next to our cottage that apparently housed a number of bird's nests, and the birds got up much earlier than I wanted to. Ahh nature. Our son and daughter got up early and went beach combing. There was a playground for small children and a firepit for evening gatherings. We will definitely go back. Oh yes, all the restaurants nearby close early except for an Italian place nearby that I would not recommend, so eat early.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llassocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We were in cottage #4, had a nice deck and a wonderful sun porch. Spent my time reading on the sun porch looking out at the Atlantic. Fully stocked kitchen was nice. Wish we could have stayed longer but could not, good reason to come back! Office staff was friendly, only person we dealt with.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nurseteresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Cozy cottage, very private, rocky beach, pets allowed. Pretty low-key in May, as Maine is just getting thawed out, really. Peaceful.

On the first night, we spotted two or three ants, and chuckled. Ants. Silly things. Didn't bother us in the least. Made a point of keeping all food items tightly closed or in the fridge. Didn't notice any more the next day. Went out gallivanting, came back and had dinner, went to bed.

We woke up after the second night to a tabletop absolutely *covered* in ants. Gross!

We only stayed the two nights, as our trip was a short one, so I never had a chance to ask for a new cottage, which I surely would have. My concern is that upon checking out, the person at the desk was unsurprised and unconcerned about the ants- had we been staying longer, I wonder if our request to be relocated would have been honored?

Other than the six-legged intruders, we very much enjoyed our stay at Colonial Gables. The bathroom was clean, the room was comfortable and warm, the kitchen utensils and plates were greatly appreciated. There's some great Thai food down the street, and Darby's Restaurant and Pub is a must-visit for sure, just a few miles down the road into downtown Belfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nursenicole329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

For families travelling with kids, that need more space than a motel room, yet want unobstructed oceanfront views, and dont want to pay very much, it simply can not be beat. Is it the Four Seasons? No, but the view is far better than the higher prices places closer to the road, and if you are not coming up to this part of Maine for the view, then why are you here? Cottages are clean. I've stayed here several times, the newer renovated ones are very nice, the ones that are not renovated are old, but clean. Go in with the right attitude and use all the Dough you saved by staying here on an extra lobster dinner or 4 and laugh all the way to the bank.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kevintkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

We arrived at Colonial Gables the Friday before the end of the season. Our renovated cottage (#9) was very nice and quite private. I had called to check my reservation and recommend that if you book online, it's a good idea to call anyway to confirm. We loved the location near the beautiful town of Belfast and close to many other lovely ME sites. After the weather cleared, we enjoyed walking along the beach. It was very cool to walk out quite far during low tide.

Our cottage had a nice, but small, kitchen that was minimally stocked. You may want to bring a few more kitchen utensils, etc. The eating area was small, but we managed quite well. The porch on our cottage had a lovely view of the bay.

If you stay in a cottage, you will get clean towels if you put out the dirty ones each day. But we did not get our towels the day before we left even though we put the dirty ones out before the deadline. Oh, and you need to take out your own trash and recycling. Do not expect much contact with staff if you stay late in the season. They do respect guest privacy and upon checkout I received a pleasant send off. Although it is close to the highway, we heard no road noise. The grounds were well kept and immaculate. It was also nice to take walks around the grounds. I highly recommend Colonial Gables but suggest renting an updated cottage if you can. If you want to have a lot of service and contact with staff, the cottages are not for you. But if you love privacy, spectacular views and quaint cottage housing, this place is for you.

I have numerous photos of our cottage and the grounds, but can't figure out how to download from my cell phone.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoonladyMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

We booked the day before but they couldn’t locate our booking on our arrival! Nevertheless, there was space available.
There were motel rooms available, but we chose detached wooden cottages (see photos). The 1st night was in a run-down but clean and otherwise excellent cottage. It was pre-booked by others for the following night. We decided to stay a 2nd night in another (newer) cottage. Each cottage was a room (including kitchenette) plus bathroom, and both were by the water’s edge.
This was a lovely, peaceful location looking over Penobscot Bay.
Greta on reception sometimes got a bit confused but gave you plenty of chance to make sure you were happy with your choice of room or cottage. She’s worked there for many years.
(One of 8 accommodations reviewed this holiday)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobRobJenJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belfast
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
0.1 mi away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
1.0 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#5 of 8 in Belfast
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
214 reviews
1.4 mi away
Yankee Clipper Motel
Yankee Clipper Motel
#2 of 8 in Belfast
212 reviews
22.3 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village

Property: Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
Address: 7 Eagle Ave, Belfast, ME 04915-7119
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
#4 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village, located in the mid-coast region, offers guest rooms and cottages in Belfast, Maine. All units have beautiful views of Penobscot Bay and the outer island of Islesboro. we are located on ten acres with easy access into the water for a refreshing swim. There is a children's playground area along with BBQ grills and picnic tables throughout the property. You will especially enjoy the beautiful grounds and lovely gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village Hotel Belfast
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village Belfast, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing