We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 5, 2007

The Oceans Edge was very clean and rooms where huge. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Most rooms have a nice few of the water. Price was very reasonable for just stopping and checking in for one night.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Blind-Willie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
There are newer reviews for Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 456 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2007

Me and a friend stayed at the Ocean's Edge in May 2006 as part of vacation, my birthday trip. The staff, food, and property were EXCELLENT. The staff even sang happy birthday to me :). It's quite a drive (we took the train to Portland and then drove the 2 hours to Belfast) but well worth it. It's only 90 minuted for Acadia and close to Bangor and Augusta. I'd definitely return to this hotel. Way more than I expected for a Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank CarlNova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2007

My favorite place to visit along the coast. All rooms are on the ocean side - with a deck to view the water and sunrise!! Breakfast is always a pleasant event -- love the belgian waffles!! Coffee and cookies in the lobby -- anytime! The rooms are always clean - and roomy. However, Suite Emily is my pick!! Hot tub for 4 in the room!! Overlooking the ocean -- full kitchen! Comfortable couch and chairs - along with TV/ VCR/DVD -- handicapped bathroom. Perfect for a group to join together for a good time!!

The staff is outstanding. Front Desk crew -- so friendly and helpful. Great people to talk with - work with - and get to know.
We will visit as often as possible. The dinner in the dining room is always top notch too!! Any special requests? Just ask. Everyone will help if they can.. Love the pool for us old folks, too!! Stairs to enter -- and entire pool same depth which is good for relaxing and just enjoying the warm water!!

Great job, folks!!! BEV

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Beverlywm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2007

Visiting friends over the holidays, we needed a good place to stay with big rooms (travelling with two small kids, see) and preferably a pool. Ocean's Edge came recommended by the locals. And as TripAdvisor concurred, we booked it.

Our room was spacious, with comfortable beds, ample closet space and a good bathroom. Nothing fancy and a little worse for wear around the edges (like stained carpet, these funny little holes in our blankets and a faint but unmistakable pee-smell in our bathroom) but clean nontheless. And it had a door opening on one of the best views from a hotelroom in years!!

The breakfast was....well.... adequate I guess. I shall refrain from making comments on the quality of the coffee as this seems to be an American problem (being an educated European connaisseur, of course :-)) but it had cereal, bagels and fresh waffles you get to make yourself. It may have lent the place a more relaxed atmosphere, but nevertheless I was amazed to see how many people actually turned up wearing their pyamas.....

One of the best features of the Ocean's Edge is its pool. It's pretty large and about five feet deep which makes it good for kids. Mum and dad preferred the hot tub of course It was good to be in there and look out over the snowy lawn and a very, very cold ocean.

Staff are indeed very friendly, there' s an internet computer you can use, the chocolate chip cookies are yummy and the price is absolutely reasonable. So if your looking for a place to stay in Belfast, you could do a lot worse than the Ocean' s Edge.

And if your there, check out the Thai place across the road!!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HaagseBluf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2006

We stay here when visiting nearby family. We stay for two or three nights at a time, about 8 times over the past three years. The front desk folks are always pleasant, and fresh chocolate chip cookies on check-in. This must be the best view from any Comfort Inn anywhere. Ask for a third floor room. Every room has a small balcony or patio overlooking Penobscot Bay. The rooms are basic, but we've always found them to be clean. The bath has a nightlight, a nice touch. There is noise through the walls and from the hall, but no worse than most hotels. It was most annoying the weekend a large bridal party stayed there. The Bangor paper is delivered to the room on weekdays.

The king suites on the third floor each have a small refrigerator and microwave in the sitting area (with sofa bed) separated from the bed area by the bath. The down side of these is they're at the top of the stairs and over the breakfast area so they're noisier than most rooms.

The continental breakfast is pretty extensive, but very carb heavy. They did add hard boiled eggs to the offerings recently, but fruit seems limited to a bowl of apples and oranges.

There's a pool on the first floor, and the smell of chlorine tends to waft through the first floor hall. Surprisingly crowded on a weekend last January... we were told lots of Maine families come to the coast in the wintertime for an escape. Pets are allowed on the first floor for a small fee. Decent onsite restaurant for dinner, tho we haven't eaten there since the chef left to open his own place this past spring.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank wunderwoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2006

I have stayed at this facility numerous times, and this is the first time that I can say I have not been totally satisfied. As always, I was traveling with a dog, and the Comfort Inn Ocean's Edge is very pet friendly and has a great area to walk a dog, going right down to the water. No problem there. The room was clean, as usual, and the breakfast was great---the usual waffles, eggs, bagels. cereal, muffins, etc. However, I have smoke allergies, so must book a non smoking room. The plaque on the door SAID it was non smoking, but when I went in, I knew someone had been smoking there. It was very strong, as was the sickly sweet chemical smell they had used to try to mask it. Plus, there was a cig. burn on the rug---more evidence. But, it was late, I was tired, and the hotel had many guests, so I just opened up the window, put on the fan, and endured it. I woke up with itchy eyes and a sore throat. If I had been staying for more than one night I would have insisted on a room change, and if having a non smoking room is important to you, be sure to stress that when you check in. Last year my friends had the same thing happen to them that happened to me there.

Aside from this, it was another good stay, and I will return with my dog, who loves it there. I will just be sure my non smoking room IS a non smoking room next time.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Nativemainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2006

My husband and I stayed at this Inn for 13 days, and all I can say is GREAT. We were there from 9/28 until 10/13 and found the property well staffed, very clean, very affordable, a great breakfast every morning and a great place to use as a home base while we traveled 150 miles in any direction. The view from the balconies facing the bay was beautiful. I must say the resturant on premises was vey good and very accodmodating to us for special diet and were eager to please. The beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GayeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belfast
0.4 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
0.7 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#4 of 8 in Belfast
223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
232 reviews
22.1 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
1.1 mi away
Yankee Clipper Motel
Yankee Clipper Motel
#2 of 8 in Belfast
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge

Address: 159 Searsport Ave, Route 1, Belfast, ME 04915-7100 (Formerly Comfort Inn Ocean's Edge)
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#3 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: $120 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room has an ocean view, and includes all the amenities you would expect plus a refrigerator and microwave in every room. 2nd and 3rd floor rooms have a balcony, while 1st floor rooms have immediate pool access and a rear door that opens on to our ten acres leading to the water. The property features an indoor heated mineral pool, hot tub and sauna, game room, guest laundry facilities. Free hot breakfast and free WIFI are included. We are connected to Ocean's Edge Restaurant for fresh seafood, steaks and pasta served in a comfortable, casual atmosphere. Join us on the patio in summer for alfresco dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ocean`s Edge Hotel Belfast
Comfort Inn Belfast
Belfast Comfort Inn
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge Belfast, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing