We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel with a great view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Maine, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel with a great view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent one night here on our trip up the coast. Our room was beautiful. It had a great view of the ocean and had a balcony with 2 chairs. We could walk down to the water on the beautiful grassy yard in back. It has a restaurant attached and we received a coupon for a complimentary cocktail with dinner. The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. It also had a mini fridge and microwave. My only suggestion would be to have someone monitoring the breakfast area. The eggs and sausage were cold when we got there. It was somewhat busy and the tables where not getting wiped down....sticky from syrup and covered with crumbs. Other than that, which could have been a fluke, we loved our stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry about the breakfast area in the morning. We have a dedicated person who takes care of the breakfast each day. I am sorry that she wasn't on her game that day.
I will forward you comments to her supervisor for follow up.
Thank you again.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    145
    44
    12
    9
See reviews for
108
167
28
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

If you are looking for location, you cannot beat this hotel. Our room had a balcony facing the ocean, and you can walk straight to the ocean's edge through the hotel garden. The room was very comfortable and clean, and provided everything we needed. Breakfast was as expected. The pool area was nice, again with a great view, though only suitable for a couple of people to swim at one time, as it narrows in the middle. It's fine for relaxing in, but more limited for a serious swimmer wanting to do lengths. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel and would visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. From your profile, I can see that you have traveled extensively. I am pleased to see that you found our hotel so favorable. I hope that we can serve you again.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Sackville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The room was clean and comfortable and the balcony was a great place to sit outside and enjoy the lovely view. The rooms have a coffee maker, small fridge, and microwave. The staff at reception were friendly and helpful, happily filling in the small personal items that we had forgotten at home (comb, toothbrush). The complimentary breakfast was very good, with a range from waffles to cereal to yogurt and fresh fruit. There is a juice (orange or cranberry) dispensing machine, along with coffee, hot water for teas and hot chocolate, and cold water, that are available 24 hours. Also in the lobby is a computer for the guests, along with a printer (free of charge). I used the computer and the printer and both worked well. The only problem was that the phones in the rooms were not working during our stay here. I heard several people comment on this and we were all told the same thing, there was a problem and someone would be coming to fix it. (I had the feeling that this was a problem that had been going on for a few days) The phones were not fixed during my stay, however, the front desk did let me use the hotel phone when I needed it. This was OK, but afforded no privacy when I made my calls to my family, as the staff and anyone in the lobby was privy to my conversations. Apart from this inconvenience, we did enjoy our stay and are looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briarwoodrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for putting up with the inconvenience of the phones. As Murphy's law would have it, the phones quit on a Friday night, after the repairman could order parts. As soon as the parts place opened, he had the part FEDEXed and installed it the next day.
I am glad that you otherwise enjoyed your stay, and that the desk staff was able to accommodate your telephone needs to the best of their ability.
We look forward to serving you again.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night. The view is amazing and the hotel is conveniently located. They offer a nice breakfast with more than just juice and Danish. There were cooked eggs, yogurt, fruit and all varieties of cereals. There is a restaurant and pool on site but we did not see them. The hotel is fairly large and they will be renovating the rooms over the next year to make "fireside suites." The aaa price was a great deal! We had a room with 2 queen beds and it came with a refrigerator and microwave! The room was clean but slightly outdated. We had a deck overlooking the bay which was spectacular. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor overlooking the bay, close to the front lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bermuda78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for writing. We have already started adding the fireplaces to ten of our rooms as we prepare to change to Fireside Inn & Suites on January 1, 2014. We'll still have everything you liked including the same great staff, and the same great view. See you soon.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Normally we only stay at the Hilton, but this was a great hotel. Beds were just the right softness, firmness. There was a hot tub in our bedroom. Nice living room & dining kitchen , and very large bathroom, and the patio view the ocean

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norvella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Fortunately, there isn't a Hilton in the area. Thanks for giving us a try, and thanks for writing about it. We look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed one night at the Comfort Inn as we wanted a pool. From the moment we arrived, we were impressed with the level of service and cleanliness. Although we had not made a reservation, the receptionist was able to give us exactly the kind of room we wanted. Later, another receptionist kept making quickly disappearing plates of cookies. The cleaning staff clearly works attentively. All of the rooms have small balconies with views. The pool has minimal chlorine and like the rooms, great views of the bay. As it is only about 4 feet deep, it functions better as a pool for exercising or for children, but served our needs. Breakfast is included, and the selection is good, with some fresh fruit and the usual array of highly sugared options. Our only disappointment was that the overflow room for the breakfast was bleak, with a loud TV on a cartoon channel--so if you stay, time your breakfast to be early or late.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for writing. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that breakfast was crowded when you came down and that we had to open another room for overflow. In the better weather, we also have the option of eating on the deck. I hope that you will have a chance to try it on your next visit.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have been staying at the Comfort Inn, Ocean's Edge for over 15 years and it is a wonderful hotel. The staff is amazing and the view is breath taking. You have to make a point to have a meal or two in their restaurant. They have an amazing chef, Ms. Hightower. The food is fantastic!! The pool is a great asset also.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room, they all face the bay, amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us over the years, and thank you for your review.I appreciate all the compliments about the property, the staff and the restaurant.
Remember when you come back next summer, we will be a Fireside Inn & Suites. It will be the same friendly staff, same great food, and of course, the same fabulous view! Just give us a call directly at 1-800-303-5098.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belfast
0.7 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#4 of 8 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
1.4 mi away
Belfast Bay Inn
Belfast Bay Inn
#1 of 8 in Belfast
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
1.1 mi away
Yankee Clipper Motel
Yankee Clipper Motel
#2 of 8 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge

Property: Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
Address: 159 Searsport Ave, Route 1, Belfast, ME 04915-7100 (Formerly Comfort Inn Ocean's Edge)
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Belfast
#3 Family Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room has an ocean view, and includes all the amenities you would expect plus a refrigerator and microwave in every room. 2nd and 3rd floor rooms have a balcony, while 1st floor rooms have immediate pool access and a rear door that opens on to our ten acres leading to the water. The property features an indoor heated mineral pool, hot tub and sauna, game room, guest laundry facilities. Free hot breakfast and free WIFI are included. We are connected to Ocean's Edge Restaurant for fresh seafood, steaks and pasta served in a comfortable, casual atmosphere. Join us on the patio in summer for alfresco dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ocean`s Edge Hotel Belfast
Comfort Inn Belfast
Belfast Comfort Inn
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge Belfast, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing